We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
846
235
64
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
235
64
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family holiday sunset cruise wild coast umngazi river seafood buffet fish eagles outdoor shower dining room creative corner kids activities sea facing out of this world young children wine list whole family fantastic holiday honeymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with this gem in the Wild Coast. Umngazi is luxurious and certainly a treat. The rooms as clean, spacious and the service great. The food is 5-star quality and so generous!

The spa is probably my best spa experience thus far. Would take quite a lot to beat this one...

Just sad that we couldn't get closer to the beach with my husband being in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank YolandeHeyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Yolanda,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I was happy to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all that was provided by the team. I was sorry to hear your husband had not made it onto the beach due to access, it would have been our absolute pleasure to have assisted in making this possible if you had let us know.

Thank you so much for staying with us and I do hope we get to welcome you back some time again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The rooms and bathrooms are really nice. Outside shower a nice touch. Location superb. I lay in bed in the mornings and watched the whales from my bed. Linen and towels top class. I found the staff slightly arrogant and any suggestions to the chef was quickly dismissed by him. We all picked up a tummy / vomiting bug while there which i think is due to the many dishes heavily exposed to everyone. I suggest a more a la carte set up as this would be more hygienic. A kids (preteen and teen) dining area with more appropriate food for this age group was suggested as the children don't always eat the lovely fancy food that was offered to the adults. Gillys were totally overpriced (R250 for the use of one for an hour) and the use of the water fascilities should be part of the package. Everytime we wanted to use the canoes we were charged. WE asked if we could please charter the umngazi bus to the airfield but they wanted to charge us an exorbitant amount. This is silly as the best way to get their is by airplane as the roads are shocking and dangerous yet they don't seem to encourage it. This holiday cost us the same amount as a week trip all inclusive to mauritius so it really is expensive but always very special to be on the transkei wild coast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bains320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and great to read that you had enjoyed your stay as well as the beauty of the Wild Coast. Your suggestion about an a la carte menu is a relevant one with regards to the tummy bug that some of your party experienced during their stay, we have certainly found that although you feel better after 24hrs it is certainly contagious and therefore anyone affected should certainly not be dishing up for themselves and most definitely be using the handsanitizers provided in the diningroom. With regards to a dining area for preteen and teen dining area, this would be totally impratical as we already provide a dining area for kiddies and to provide another area with another different menu wouldn't be possible and not something that I believe necessary. I will email you with regards to the Gilly charge as this does seem to be correct as the contracted price for an 8 hour day is R130 per day and R45 per hour so I am not sure why this unusual charge came about? The private charter fee of R800 for the bus to take you from the Hotel to the Airfield is less than it would cost you than is provided by a local transfer company. I do agree with you Umngazi is not a cheap destination but certainly a Value for Money one.

We do of course value your support and hope to welcome you back to Umngazi in the not to distant future.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Nestled on the coast of the Eastern Cape, far away from the city buzz is the ultimate family getaway experience! With excellent service, good food, lots of activities, one of SA's best spa's and an all round good vibe, Umngazi is highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, was great to read that Umngazi made sure your holiday was an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed all that was on offer.

We really appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We are regular visitors to umngazi and we never leave disappointed. This home away from home holiday destination is worth a visit. Amazing for families and even couples. It offers a relaxing and indulgent stay with happy faces all round! We loved our time there and will be back again as soon as we can!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank trippingjoyfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review it was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that it keeps you returning year after year!

Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We left for Umngazi with some concern about the 'difficult' road that we had to travel. An amazing reward awaited after a rather slow last 200km, or so, to the hotel. The road was much better than expected - just enjoy a patient and relaxed drive while enjoying the interesting traffic around that commands some patience. Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa offers the wow of a great holiday: a beautiful setting, super relaxed, very comfortable, lots to do, kids that just get lost with new friends and supervised by wonderful staff and great food. Friendly and helpful staff. A bar that does not leave you with that ripped-off feeling. The spa was the ultimate. We have stayed at some of the world's great island hotels - but Umngazi stole our harts. We are hoping for another booking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Andre,

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review, it was wonderful to read how much Umngazi managed to impress as we always strive to do. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you so much for the support and of course taking the time to write this review.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews