We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
867
237
65
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
237
65
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise family holiday wild coast umngazi river seafood buffet fish eagles outdoor shower dining room sea facing kids activities out of this world young children whole family saturday night fantastic holiday honeymoon suite every meal
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We are regular visitors to umngazi and we never leave disappointed. This home away from home holiday destination is worth a visit. Amazing for families and even couples. It offers a relaxing and indulgent stay with happy faces all round! We loved our time there and will be back again as soon as we can!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank trippingjoyfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review it was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that it keeps you returning year after year!

Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We left for Umngazi with some concern about the 'difficult' road that we had to travel. An amazing reward awaited after a rather slow last 200km, or so, to the hotel. The road was much better than expected - just enjoy a patient and relaxed drive while enjoying the interesting traffic around that commands some patience. Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa offers the wow of a great holiday: a beautiful setting, super relaxed, very comfortable, lots to do, kids that just get lost with new friends and supervised by wonderful staff and great food. Friendly and helpful staff. A bar that does not leave you with that ripped-off feeling. The spa was the ultimate. We have stayed at some of the world's great island hotels - but Umngazi stole our harts. We are hoping for another booking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Andre,

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review, it was wonderful to read how much Umngazi managed to impress as we always strive to do. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you so much for the support and of course taking the time to write this review.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Annual family trip never fails to provide chill time and great food and best of all, service staff. The service staff are the real jewels as they make everything seamless
What more can one say, good is always good and excellent never fails ?
Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Caron,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was great to read that the Family had enjoyed their holiday here at Umngazi and that we had delivered on everything you were looking for in your holiday together.

Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Definitely recommended for couples & families, everyone. Lots of activities available. Well organised. Friendly, efficient service. Attention to detail. Make sure you catch the Saturday evening seafood buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Cara,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all that is on offer here at Umngazi.

Thank you so much for the support and I hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I enjoyed a quiet time of it at Mngazi Bungalows. The weather was wet and cost, but it was peaceful. The food was great and service staff very friendly and helpful. The only minus for us was the unavailability of telephone and network and wifi in the room. We left our kids behind and we wanted to always be in touch with them if they need to contact us for anything. The curtains in the rooms are lets in too much of the sun, so we couldn't enjoy a lazy morning sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bubelen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this great review on your stay at Umngazi and that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the cellphone network unfortunately the tower in the area was vandalised and cabling stolen which led to this, it is being addressed though and Vodacom is currently installing a tower within the confines of Umngazi to improve our overall connectivity.

Thank you so much for the support and I hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews