We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
878
238
66
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
238
66
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise family holiday wild coast umngazi river seafood buffet fish eagles outdoor shower dining room kids activities sea facing out of this world our honeymoon whole family every meal saturday night fantastic holiday excellent food
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Definitely recommended for couples & families, everyone. Lots of activities available. Well organised. Friendly, efficient service. Attention to detail. Make sure you catch the Saturday evening seafood buffet.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Cara,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all that is on offer here at Umngazi.

Thank you so much for the support and I hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I enjoyed a quiet time of it at Mngazi Bungalows. The weather was wet and cost, but it was peaceful. The food was great and service staff very friendly and helpful. The only minus for us was the unavailability of telephone and network and wifi in the room. We left our kids behind and we wanted to always be in touch with them if they need to contact us for anything. The curtains in the rooms are lets in too much of the sun, so we couldn't enjoy a lazy morning sleep.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bubelen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this great review on your stay at Umngazi and that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for the cellphone network unfortunately the tower in the area was vandalised and cabling stolen which led to this, it is being addressed though and Vodacom is currently installing a tower within the confines of Umngazi to improve our overall connectivity.

Thank you so much for the support and I hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This has been our second visit to Umngazi only to be again amazed by the friendliness and amazing scenery at the venue! Best food by far and best cocktails in SA !! Unspoiled beaches and lots of activities for kids makes this a great family holiday . Bungalow number 5 has amazing views of the Umngazi River as well as the sea. We already booked for next year!!

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank Kallie3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Kallie,

Thank you so much for this amazing review it was great to read that the Family had enjoyed their stay and enjoyed all that is on offer here at Umngazi.

It was super to read as well that you have booked for next year already, we look forward to welconing you back then, thank you so much for the support.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

It is a great place to stay. It has excellent rooms. The view is spectacular and the sound of the river and the sea nearby is lovely to hear. The food is excellent and the staff who look after you whilst there are all very friendly and hospitable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B8469IWsarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review it was great to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to relax and enjoy the beauty and the hospitality of the Wild Coast.

Thank you so much for the support and hope we get to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The place was the best holiday we've ever had! The food, the staff, the tranquility! The view from our 33A Room! Such beauty and uniqueness! I doubt there is a place that surpasses this one in South Africa. True value for money.

We were just disappointed by the fact that there are no complimentary drinks for lunch and supper, only for breakfast but hey, who cares??

I think the fact that there is a poor cellphone signal made it even better for us as we were on a couples getaway. Got in touch with nature, canoed, had a picnic and just bonded! Next time, we will bring the whole family along! :)

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank YangaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Yanga,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review it really was pleasing to me that you had enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to complimentary drinks we only serve fruit juices at breakfast and then at all other meal times complimentary mineral water, as drinks from the bar are available over this time.

Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews