We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
32
5
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
5
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms are luxury safari tents with comfortable beds and good if slightly small showers.
The location is amazing is unbelievable. A stretch of white sand fringed with palm trees and no one on it. Exactly what everyone’s idea of a desert island beach should be. So far so good.....
The staff are pretty pleasant but other than the managers don’t really speak English. As I don’t speak Portuguese I’m not in a position to complain about this but it can lead to problems.
We were in half board so I can’t comment about other reviewers comments about the price. The food itself was fine but nothing special.
The wine though was a massive let down. The prices were about double those on Bom Bom which was irritating in itself. Then most of the wines weren’t available. When we finally found a wine that was available, it was undrinkable. It was a vinho verde which, as the name suggests, needs to be drunk young. This was from 2011 and was flat and oxidised. The next night we had a red cE30 which appeared to have been boiled.
Whilst the beach was amazing, the staff didn’t come up with any ideas for any excursions. Fortunately, we were exhausted from climbing Parrot Mountain so didn’t mind not doing anything but others could get bored.
It would be really easy to make this a wonderful lodge but as it is at the moment, it isn’t.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ivoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Stopped off for lunch as walking along the north of island- 2 Toasted cheese sandwiches and three drinks +Euros 30!

Incidentally - none of your reviewers have commented on the little village at the West end of the beach where the lodge is - this is Principe reality - the local population live in huts, with the family pigs running around in the rubbish piled up at the edge of the village that joins the beach.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MakairaLodge, Director of Sales at Makaira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Neurosurgeon_10,

First of all, Makaira Lodge team thank you for your review as we are always happy to receive some constructive feedback to be able to better our services and guest satisfaction.

We are sorry to have disappointed you with our service price, however we hope you've enjoyed our beach restaurant and all it's environment.

In regards to our neighbour village, it is indeed Principe reality. However we are very happy for their existence as we benefit from being able to always buy fresh fish from them on a daily basis as well as proudly employ more than half of it's residents (which is a great achievement as you can imagine, everything was taught from scratch, from European cooked dishes, the handling of washing and drying machines, the discipline of having the rooms clean on time and to European standards, the list is long but I am sure, anyone that has visited the island can understand).

We also do activities with the children and distribute gifts that our guests leave for them in a responsible way, they are the future of the island and we do not want them to have a western world mentality as that would spoil the beauty of Africa, we simply hope to help them have a better future (as you may have noticed the local children even when they don't have much are ALWAYS happy).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Warm welcome and beautiful and well equipped tents right on the beach. Fantastic food quiet and really relaxing. Had an amazing turtle watching trip, and Carina the manager, you could really feel her love for the animals and the nature. And we loved Nikita the cat. Very god value for money. They also had a sosial profile, employing half of the lokal village. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 884anitav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I'm almost loathed to write this review.... It is the kind of place you don't really want to share.... you want it to remain like your own private place...
We were picked up by the team and two of us went off on the round the island tour on the little 4 wheel buggy - Principe is as close to something from a bygone era as you will get - it is like something from Jurassic Park....
The Makaira lodge is an oasis.... you are welcomed with a drink and after some basic info i.e. the generator goes out at midnight till 7am you are taken to your accommodation.
The tent lodges are just off the beach (which if you are on the beach you'd hardly know they were there) are beautifully furnished - you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun go down or simply listen to the sea roll in.
The restaurant served exquisite meals in a very relaxed setting, with no feeling that you were being rushed or that anything was too much trouble.
It truly is a place to completely relax and unwind
If like me you are a little afraid of the dark the solar night light is a god send and if also like me you have an over active imagination the patrolling guard brings comfort - although seriously it is SOOOO dark lord only knows who'd be about :-)
I don't think that I can do justice to the beauty of this place in words so I've added some photos but honestly if you want somewhere extraordinary where you can totally switch off and enjoy some of the most beautiful landscape, as much as I am loathed to share it this is the place to go.... enjoy....

Room tip: there isn't a bad one :-)
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Makaira Lodge offers a unique opportunity to reconnect yourself with the beauty of nature. There are few places that are still able to offer the unspoilt beauty and tranquility of this special Lodge. The luxury tents deliver in every way and are located on a pristine stretch of sandy beach and emerald green water on this incredibly beautiful and unspoilt Island of Principe. And it's feels as though it's all yours!
Should you want action, as i did, there is an array of action packed options . I scuba dived, fished, kayak'd, watched whales and swam. Stanley was a great guide, extremely knowledgeable and relaxed. He helped me to catch some memorable fish, the main purpose of my trip.
Stanley and Karina do an outstanding job of managing the Lodge and looking after your every need. They have the place running seemlessly. The food is fresh, simply stylish and delicious. The staff are friendly and courteous.
This was a dream week for me. I feel content, connected and relaxed, and I can't wait to come back again for more.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank Drybzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews