We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got more than the expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bom Bom Principe Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Principe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The place is wonderful with all its beautiful sceneries – perfect for a honeymoon tour (however we were not on honeymoon) but we felt that it must be an ideal for such reason. We got more than what we expected and yes, we mean it, we really got. Wanted to stay for a few more days but unfortunately it was not possible this time. Never mind, we will be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanda339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed in Bom Bom last June 10 for 2 nights.It was my first visit to Principe and I very much enjoyed the pace, the forest, the green and the people of Principe but as far as the hotel I had a truly disapointment.
I must say that my expectations were high, maybe too high!
It seems a Boeing 747-400 without maintenance for some years but still flying.....The service was quite good, the food excelent thanks to the french couple who manages the resort, the beach superbe but.....the mercedes that did my transfer and the city tour,that by the way was quite expensive,was a car that needs to be repaired so old it is,the rooms confort was everything but a 5 star hotel,the bathrooms were old and too kish, and I could find several mosquitos in my room that had no mosquito protection on the bed,the towels were smelling wet all the time, and overall it needs urgents repairs.
We were the only clients on the resort and for the price a night we can have a week somewere else, not value for monney, and never, never a 5 star resort.
Concerning the activities all boats but one long tail were "parked" due to maintenance or for the fact of not having spares, the 4x4 motorcycles were out of order...basically you can swim on the beach....or the pool that 10 yeras ago I assume was excelent but for todays standards a mere pool.
The tours and fishing was too expensive.
Apart from this Principe is beautiful and it is a pitty it has no more quality hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank acrctps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

very nice place, poor local manangement for the quality of the resort, everstanding repair works of the pool, expecially beware of bookings through Africa's Eden, as we did so and turned out to pay much more than our friends who booked for the same period by other means. Beautiful sea (not many fishes for snorkelers) and natural surroundings. Good food and good indian chef. Very limited sport activities

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
9  Thank antodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I went with my partner for a romantic little treat! The suite that we stayed in was absolutely divine and perfect for EVERYTHING THAT WE WANTED TO DO. The food was exquisite and I particularly liked all the lights in the evening. My partner and I would dance and dance, and it seemed like forever, but then we'd go back to our suite and...relax. I have rated the sleep quality poor not on the fault of the resort, but on myself, because I did too many things in one night, every night! This happened because there was just so much to do. The views really took my breath away.

My holiday was excellent and I have gotten much closer to my partner!!! :D

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LOLZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Bom Bom Island Resort is located on the norther shore of Principe island. the accommodation offers a combination of a luxury and comfort. the surrounding is so calm and secluded, really a perfect place for getaway. it has 2 private beaches; 21 exclusive bungallows, which 8 of them are newly refurbished and 5 are still under construction. each of the bungalows is ensuited with bathroom, airconditioning, flat screen TV with satellite connection, safes, inroom tea/coffee station, mini bar fridge, fans and a private patio. the bungalow where i stayed had a view to the ocean. some of the bungalows have view to the beach and to the garden as well.

the staffs are also excellent! they are really helpful and friendly.

there is a restaurant, bar and marina which are all located on a small islet. the guests need to cross a wooden walkway to reach them. they serve international food in the restaurant, and the chef is really trying to please the guests' taste with a great food.

for the activities you can go diving / snorkeling (there is a dive center and jetty in Bom Bom Island), take some excursions such as whalewatching, deep-sea fishing, hiking through untouched primary forests and bird-watching expeditions.

it's worth every peny to stay in the resort. it's breathtaking and unforgettable.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
6  Thank beachtraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Principe hotels
4.7 km away
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santo Antonio
39 reviews
3 km away
Makaira Lodge
Makaira Lodge
#2 of 8 in Santo Antonio
18 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Roca Sundy
Hotel Roca Sundy
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
No photo provided
Sundy Principe
#3 of 8 in Santo Antonio
1 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Rural Praia Abade
Hotel Rural Praia Abade
#6 of 8 in Santo Antonio
9 reviews
6.2 km away
B&B Domus Rio Papagaio-Principe
B&B Domus Rio Papagaio-Principe
#4 of 8 in Santo Antonio
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bom Bom Principe Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bom Bom Principe Island

Address: CP 25, Ilheu Bom Bom, Principe, Sao Tome and Principe
Region: Sao Tome and Principe > Principe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Principe
Price Range: ₹ 30,447 - ₹ 44,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bom Bom Principe Island 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Bom Bom Island Resort lies on the northern slope of the tropical island of Principe - a virtually undiscovered paradise in the Atlantic Ocean, close to Gabon. At Bom Bom Island Resort, your comfort is a priority. Rooms are authentic island-style chalets with simple decor and light spaces. Nineteen chalets enjoy garden views, ocean views or beach-front views. There are also four inter-leading pool chalets. All rooms have en suite bathroom, air conditioning, flat-screen TV with satellite connection, telephone, safe, in-room tea/coffee station, mini bar/ fridge and overhead fan.Visitors to Bom Bom Island Resort have two private beaches at their disposal, as well as the restaurant and bar on Bom Bom Island, dive centre and jetty on Bom Bom Island, swimming pool, pool bar, reception (with internet and email facilities), souvenir shop and foreign exchange service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bom Bom Principe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bom Bom Island Hotel Principe
Bom Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing