We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
585
559
215
66
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
559
215
66
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adirondack wing great room hill overlooking steep hill boathouse restaurant in town boat house new wing hockey tournament breakfast buffet family suite private beach the main street an upgrade front desk staff beautiful hotel beautiful view
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights for work. The hotel is beautiful and has a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains/hills. It is also walking distance from downtown. We stayed also during kids hockey tournament, so that was a little crazy but they made sure that our room was away from the craziness. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 264jodyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan B, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

We are thrilled to read of your high praise about the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid. It is wonderful you enjoyed our hotel and found the view to be gorgeous. We are pleased we were able to accommodate you away from the large hockey tournament during this visit. We do understand there are many different reasons people are traveling and we try our best to accommodate accordingly. Thank you again for the kind words, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best Regards,
Evan Bickford
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We visited Lake Placid for the night. Since there was a lot of hockey players in town, the chalet was the only room available. How awesome to wake up in the morning with a view of the snowy Adirondacks and the ski jumping area. The chalet had three beds, one upstairs. Nice, cozy place. It is showing it's age, but it was a really neat experience.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shawneemtsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan B, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Lake Placid. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and found the chalet to be quite cozy. It is great to read we were able to accommodate you to away from the hockey players in our main hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future, thank you!
Best Regards,
Evan Bickford
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The elevated position of this hotel makes it a great place to view the fall foliage. As we weren't there at the right time of year for swimming in the lake it didn't seem worth paying the premium to be on the lake. I'm glad we didn't as the view was great from our lake view room. The balcony was small and just had a bench, but at that time of year we weren't sitting outside for long! The kids enjoyed the pool which was deep and a good size. We ate in the restaurant and would have gone to the one on the lake but it seemed to have the same menu which was a shame. The evening meal was good and the breakfast wasn't amazing, but it was fine. The rooms are a bit dark and the bathrooms need some upgrading. The town was quite lively in the evening and I can imagine that the Crown plaza would have been much quieter at night than those on the lake. As mentioned in other reviews its a steep walk up to the hotel which some people may struggle with, but it didn't bother us.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank catec210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan B, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent trip to Lake Placid. We are thrilled you were able to catch some of the fall foliage and also enjoy our large indoor pool. It is great to read you had time to take in our hotels wonderful view. We hope to see you back again soon, thank you!
Best Regards,
Evan Bickford
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel. I love the location and the view offered from the great room. This time I ate in the restaurant and it was FANTASTIC food and drinks. I am already planning my next trip.
The rooms are great, if you don't have a lake view then you get an amazing mountain view behind the hotel.
Warning the hotel is at the top of 100 + foot? hill. If you are not fit you will have to drive down to the main street. The stairs and the climb are not for the faint of heart. The reward is the great view of the town.
It's a great hotel and good value for the money.

Room tip: all rooms have either a mountain or a lake view
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingCanadian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan B, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide our hotel with some feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled this was not your first stay with us, thank you for the loyalty. It is great to read you love our location and find the restaurant to be top notch for food and drinks. Thank you again for the kind words and also invaluable information to future guests about our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Best Regards,
Evan Bickford
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

My trip to Lake Placid was for business but in Lake Placid, even a business trip is a bit of a vacation. The drive up to the hotel from town is picture perfect especially in the fall. The staff are very welcoming. I had a concern about the first room they assigned to me due to there not being a desk in the room (note: these rooms do not have a desk) and the staff were extremely accommodating. Cameron at the front desk came upstairs to show me to a room that did have a table so I could work. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. There's an indoor pool. This hotel is lovely. I have stayed in other hotels in Lake Placid and I will definitely be back for another stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Room tip: There is a section of the hotel that has rooms that have been remodeled and refurnished. I would ask for one of those.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan B, Guest Services Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent trip to Lake Placid. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit so much and wish to stay with us again. Cameron will be notified of your kind words and i am sure will be very appreciative. Be sure to call us directly at (518) 523-2556 to help book your next visit and guarantee you a room with a desk. Our suites are the only rooms that contain tables that also could double as a desk so this would have to be the room type you book. Thank you!
Best Regards,
Evan Bickford
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews