We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at the Mirror Lake Inn Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewed 15 January 2018

As part of a birthday celebration, my two daughters and I spent a recent Friday afternoon at the Mirror Lake Inn Spa. It was a wonderful experience. We arrived early and had time to use the whirlpool, sauna, steam room and indoor pool. Each of us had a 50 minute massage and I can't imagine feeling more relaxed by the end of this massage. We were not rushed at all. It was a most wonderful way to relax and for me to enjoy some time with my two grown daughters. The indoor atmosphere while arriving at the Spa was beautiful - Christmas decorations still decorated the lobbies. This was a first class experience.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight - just went to the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGardener19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest at The Spa. We’re glad that you and your daughters enjoyed the birthday celebration and had a wonderful, relaxing, first class experience. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your return.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

From the decor to the staff, it was an amazing four nights. We had not been to this Inn for about 10 years. Just no time to get up to lake placid. The Inn has just gotten better.
The room we stayed in was top notch. Beautiful view, wonderful bed and spacious.

We ate at all three restaurants on the premise, and we enjoyed all of them. The Cottage is our favorite as the cheese platter is excellent, and the Warm brussel sprout salad was fabulous. Shout out for a great job by Elaine, our waitress at the Cottage. Friendly, new when to bring out the food and was very attentive.

Room Tip: order Warm Brussel Spout salad as a vegetable side dish in the Cottage. Room 841 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ralphd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest. We’re so happy that you were able to return after 10 years and feel that the Inn has only gotten better since your last visit. We’re glad that you enjoyed your guest room, dining in our three restaurants and service by our staff. We look forward to your next return.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Was there over New Years. The atmosphere is wonderful and warm. All of the staff are pleasant and helpful. The property well done, the rooms inviting and spacious. The restaurant can hold its own against anyone. Have the New Year’s Eve dinner, it is a treat. Overall a wonderful experience. Will be returning.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your New Year’s celebration, dinner, the property and your guest room and service by our staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stayed here at the end of August 2016. I was truly amazed at how traveling just a few hours in my home state, brought us to a place that we were in awe of. As my husband and I started getting closer to Lake Placid. we were so moved by the beauty of the majestic mountains. I think as we get older, we appreciate the beautiful landscape of our great country more and more. My husband had me snapping photos on the highway. Don’t worry, I was not the one driving.


We made our way through the shop lined streets of town to The Mirror Lake Inn. Family owned since the 1930’s, this resort has been owned and operated by Ed and Lisa Weibrecht since 1976. Their son Andrew’s Olympic medals hang behind the front desk.

The Inn overlooks Mirror Lake and every room has a lake view. There are always freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the lobby along with coffee and tea.

The staff at the Mirror Lake Inn were so nice. The staff was there to assist us with anything we needed and were always around to greet us with a smile. We were so impressed with the warm welcome, luxurious accommodations and world-class dining we experienced during our stay.

Our room was comfortable with a nice sitting area overlooking the lake. Waiting in our room for us was a nice fruit, cheese and cookie plate and 4 Saratoga sparkling waters.

We had dinner at the Taste Bistro our first night and it was fabulous. The menu is full of comfort foods infused with French, German and Italian elements. We started with their signature Fried Brussels Sprouts served with fresh lemon and sea salt. Our boys had the Kilcoyne Farms Burger which is of a half-pound of local beef served on a house-made kaiser roll with house smoked bacon, caramelized sweet onion, lettuce, tomato and NY sharp cheddar cheese.

I had the marinated and Seared Tenderloin Beef Tips served with mashed potatoes, farm vegetables and balsamic onions. My husband had the Kilcoyne Farms Pot Roast made from pasture-raised local beef, caramelized root vegetables, and local potatoes. The atmosphere, food and service was astounding. The boys had Shirley Temples and my husband and I had fresh lemonade. We even shared some chocolate cheesecake with fresh berries for dessert.

The boys wanted to swim in the indoor pool so we made our way down to the pool inside them main Inn on the lower level. It was nice and warm and had a very large whirlpool tub and large pool with a waterfall and bridge feature. There were nice chairs and lounges around to relax on as well as loads of soft fluffy towels for drying off.

They were pretty exhausted after swimming and we made our way up to our room where they promptly fell asleep. In the morning we had the Adirondack Breakfast Buffet at The View restaurant and it was so good. A very nice assortment of eggs or omelets cooked to order, french toast, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurt and so much more.

After breakfast we had to go to Plattsburgh to get a battery charger for my camera. I have never left a charger home and this was a first. I could have kicked myself but we had to make the drive since there was nothing available any closer. When we returned we went down to the lake and the boys swam and then collected rocks that we are going to put in a jar as a memento.

That evening, we had a dinner reservation at The View restaurant, a 17 time winner of the Wine Spectator’s Dining Guide Award.

We ordered appetizers, I had the Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail that consisted of wild caught white shrimp, Marie Rose sauce, fresh horseradish, chardonnay vinegar, gelée and mustard greens.

My husband had the Wheat & Greens Salad with Freekah green wheat, artisan greens, local fresh chevre and walnuts, shaved vegetables and raspberry-dijon vinaigrette. They were also doing tastings between courses.

One of our little guys had the Italian Boboli Crust Topped Pizza with house marinara, mozzarella, Parmesan cheese and topped with pepperoni. Our other little guy had the 7 oz. Black Angus Strip Steak char-grilled and served with french fries and bordelaise sauce.


My husband and I had the Prime Beef Filet grilled and finished with Maldon sea salt, potato pavé, baby vegetables, glazed cipollini onions, tarragon butter and pinot noir reduction. The filet was exceptional, my husband said it was the best he has every had and I have to agree.

We both had Cappuccino and Cheesecake for dessert and the kids had Ice Cream.
After dinner we all went swimming in the indoor pool.

We had the breakfast buffet in the morning again at The View and enjoyed it just as much! Afterward Seth Dow, an account manager for Mirror Lake Inn took me on an informative tour of the Inn and all the different rooms available for guests.

He was a very personable and knowledgeable, young man who provided me with a tremendous amount of information about the inn as well as the area. I was surprised to learn that the inn actually burnt nearly to the ground in the 1980’s and the only things that were saved were the murals that were cut out of the wall and the grandfather clock. You would never know though because it was rebuilt to look exactly as it originally had when it was first built.

The entire inn is full of wonder, from the stuffed bear and other animals that are situated around the library to the memorabilia, books, games and more that fill the shelves and tables. The lovely traditional Tea Time is at four o’clock and is served in the inn but can be enjoyed on the rocking chairs on the porch overlooking the lake or in one of the parlors or library.

We went down to the lake, swam and then took a family paddle boat ride. Mirror Lake is lovely, if you are not used to the temperature of lakes in New York State you might be shocked but even though it is colder in Lake Placid than on our lake the water was only a tad colder. I appreciated that as on the lake I live on, they do not allow gasoline powered watercraft. This makes the lakes so much cleaner and nicer to swim and play in. There is a sandy beach area for kids to play, lots of lounges, fluffy towels and paddle boats and kayaks you can take out.

The grounds of the inn are gorgeous with lush landscaping, beautiful flower gardens and great views. There have a huge, outdoor checkers set and plenty of relaxing Adirondack chairs to sit and take in the breathtaking views of the lake and mountains.

The charming town is foot steps away and filled with nice shops, restaurants and a movie theater. A very popular attraction is Whiteface Mountain. We had a blast and a great workout climbing to the top of Whiteface which is 4,867 feet above sea level. We took the elevator that is inside the mountain down. If you go to Lake Placid do not miss the opportunity to climb this spectacular mountain.

The Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid is a beautiful resort and destination any season of the year! If you love to ski, you will want to visit in the winter. The Olympic Ski Jumps need to be seen and they are training on them even in the summer. In the fall the turning of the leaves draws visitors as well. Anytime you go, you are bound to be as impressed as we were.

There is a spa downstairs for full pampering as well as a gift shop where I picked up a Mirror Lake mug to reflect on our time spent there whenever I enjoy my coffee or tea. Our days at The Mirror Lake Inn were truly a grand experience that we cannot wait to repeat very soon. Next time we want to go with all of our kids to make some great memories!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest and wow! We’re very excited that you enjoyed your guest room and your entire experience here in August. We appreciate all your kind comments about the food and dining in our restaurants, enjoying the pools, private beach, non-motorized boating on Mirror Lake, The Spa and all of the grounds. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the area with its many activities. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your return.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I recently stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn on New Year's Eve. My experience overall was truly amazing, just as it always is every single time that I stay there! The decor of the room itself was beautiful, along with the views surrounding it. The bed was extremely comforting and I truly enjoyed the jetted whirl pool tub. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackenziecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLI, Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest over New Year’s Eve. We’re happy that you had an amazing experience and feel it always is every time you stay here. We’re also glad you enjoyed your guest room and views. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Christopher Jarvis
Director of Rooms
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 32 in Lake Placid
446 reviews
2.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.7 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: ₹ 16,461 - ₹ 36,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing