We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner brought a fresh look to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 13 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This used to be the St. Moritz, and it needed lots of help. When I stayed there a decade ago the elevator was stuck between floors and the door to my room fell off. The new owner spruced up the place and changed the name to The Pines. Fresh wallpaper brightens the rooms. The restaurant serves BBQ, burgers and other sandwiches. About a quarter mile from the "downtown" area, so it is a very decent choice for those wanting to avoid the crowded dining areas and hunting for parking downtown. Plenty of parking at The Pines. Friendly staff. The major problem is accessibility as there are 12 steps up to the registration level, and the elevator doesn't operate. So, be physically fit to get your bags up the steps to your room. (I feel sorry for those on the top floor) Other than accessibility, I think it is a good economy lodging facility for those who do not require being in the heart of Lake Placid. I would rate them higher if they got the elevator operational.

Room Tip: With no elevator, request the lowest room available. In summer, it is away from the chaos of central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Van A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Friends booked this place due to the fact everything else was so booked up the weekend we decided to go. Although there is nothing fancy about this place we enjoyed the vintage feel for a night. The place was clean and beds were comfortable. Staff was helpful. We really enjoyed eating on the large porch at the Redneck Bistro on location. Food and service was excellent. No frills for sure, but setting was fun.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayKeagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S, Owner at The Pines Inn of Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thanks!! Our family was very happy to have you visit us and that is just the feel we are going for!! Come back to see us for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Stayed at this hotel for one night. The front desk assistant that was on during my check-in was very friendly! My room was ready and I had pre-paid online through Hotwire. Didn't require a credit card or anything further. Easiest check-in EVER!!! This is a very old hotel, builtin 1907 and everything is original! Our room key was an actual key!! This hotel is not modern or up to date but it is quaint. Loved looking at the old, original features. The room was small but comfortable. There is a nice BBQ restaurant that is attached. I'm disappointed that we didn't have time to visit. Several locals told us it was one of the best places to eat!! Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast and we had to leave before lunch was served. There is no breakfast option at this hotel but hey do have coffee available in the lobby in the mornings! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We visited over the 4th of July weekend and found this Inn via Trip Advisor. The other reviews were spot on. Jill, the owner is charming and very willing to share suggestions. It is a historic inn with the typical quirks that are pretty common for the age of the building, although they have WiFi we weren't able to connect from our room. We were on 4th floor and they helped with our suitcases going up. The room was quiet with a lovely view of pine trees and mountains in the background. The room was clean and bed comfortable. My only suggestion is to have hair dryers in the rooms that aren't close to the front desk.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank traveler195200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

very pleasant ambiance, well appointed, comfortable.
hot tub awesome! gym a plus, decent looking and popular restaurant on premises.
staff very accommodating. close to the 'strip' and lake.
not wild about memory foam mattresses...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#30 of 32 in Lake Placid
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Town House Lodge
Town House Lodge
#11 of 32 in Lake Placid
103 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Inn of Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Address: 2302 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3378
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range: ₹ 5,509 - ₹ 11,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pines Inn of Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World charm in the heart of the Adirondacks. A historic inn from the turn of the century. Step inside and into a more relaxing era. The Seggers, invite you into their home and by providing personalized customer service they ensure a unique experience. The location is a perfect mix of peaceful respite and ease of accessibility to all the town's main attractions. Free Wi-Fi; new custom spa; lovely sitting room; Old World veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Pines Inn of Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Inn Of Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing