We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Christmas/Engagement weekend at The Pines Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Ranked #9 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas/Engagement weekend at The Pines Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

It was our first time in Lake Placid and after an expensive holiday (engagement!) weekend, we went with the lower end of the price scale and weren't disappointed. Very friendly service and clean rooms, no complaints. Everything is within walking distance and if we didn't feel like going out, we were able to enjoy the hot tub and a game of pool. Highly recommended for a fun weekend in Lake Placid!

Room Tip: If you don't like trekking up flights of stairs with your suitcase and gear, request a lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reino43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    30
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We recently spent a night (out of season) at this hotel. We booked late, so did not have many choices. Our room had a mattress that was totally the cheapest , oldest and worst mattress I have ever seen. It buckled in the middle and the sides were crushed. At 12:30 (the end of my rest for the night) our upstairs boarders came home. The amount of noise was shocking. We listened to every word of their conversation. The hotel advertised a workout room and jacuzzi. Neither was opened until after 9AM. The fireplace was closed off for the night at 7:30 PM when we returned from dinner. There was no food available on site although there was a dining room bar etc...all closed for the season. Sadly the prices should have reflected some if not all of these disappointments but did not. Had we booked earlier, could have actually enjoyed the hotel part of our trip with very little increase in price. Oh, did I mention, no heat in room. Space heaters. Just to add.....sheets smelled of bleach (good thing) and hotel attentant was nice. Makes me want to buy a hotel just to give services equal to home.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good location. Rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable.Easy to walk to centre of town. Service is very friendly. Nice common area with fireplace downstairs or large terrace outside to chat with friends. They serve coffee there in the morning. The corridors need a bit of updating.Plenty of parking. Didn't go to the pub or the gym/whirlpool.It's a fair price for what you get ( 129$ on Booking.com for a queen room )

Room Tip: no elevators so if you have any mobility issue ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPF12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This place has a lot more character than other places in Lake Placid that charge twice as much. Antique furniture in the room and fancy wallpaper give the place a retro 1930s feel, and the mattresses are super comfortable. They also have a very nice common room to hang out in, as well as a sauna (handy for relaxing after a long day of hiking).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I visit the Adirondack 3 or 4 times a year and usually stay in Lake Placid along Main Street. The Pines Inn is just around the corner on 86, less than a 5 minute walk from the shops and its a great value with a lot of character. Its family run, the common areas are nice, and the place frankly just feels like an inn in the Adirondacks should feel to me - more homey than a hotel but with more privacy than a B&B. It'll be more go-to place in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#23 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.5 km away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.2 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Inn of Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Property: The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Address: 2302 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3378
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,869 - ₹ 11,192
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Inn of Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World charm in the heart of the Adirondacks. A historic inn from the turn of the century. Step inside and into a more relaxing era. The Seggers, invite you into their home and by providing personalized customer service they ensure a unique experience. The location is a perfect mix of peaceful respite and ease of accessibility to all the town's main attractions. Free Wi-Fi; new custom spa; lovely sitting room; Old World veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Pines Inn of Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Inn Of Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing