We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
839
439
112
37
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
439
112
37
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdancing bearhigh peakswaterfront collectionwaterfront roommirror lakemain buildingrain showerpaddle boatsin townglass of champagnebathroom dooroutdoor poolwalk in showernice bathroomhotel restaurantfree kayaksfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We had a lovely stay at the High Peaks resort. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and modern with some nice design touches. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect. Often I find that hotel pillows are too high and bouncy and I end up with a stiff neck in the morning. One minor annoyance was the positioning of the closet door and bathroom door since you could not get into the closet if the bathroom door was open. The couch was a bit too oversized for our room as well and this fact made it a harder for a person to get to the wall-side of the king-sized bed. If you were a person of size this would be an issue. The lobby/common area is large and has numerous couches, chairs, tables, etc. as well as a working fireplace. Hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is situated within walking distance of most activities that you would want to do in Lake Placid and a multitude of restaurants are nearby including the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Sarah O,

Thank you for sharing your experience, kind words, and feedback from your recent visit.

We are always considering our next guest experience project and you brought up some great examples of how we can improve the convenience of our guest rooms. We'll certainly keep them in mind as we evaluate our next steps!

We hope you'll join us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Went to Lake Placid for the first time with my boyfriend over the holidays in December 2017 and staying here was the best decision ever! The hotel has rustic décor with a fireplace, big sofas and chairs, chessboards, and interesting books in the lobby. The rooms are big and clean and bathrooms very nice too. We loved the cozy, ski-lodge vibe.

Also have to note the amazing location right on Main Street and steps away from Mirror Lake, making it super easy to walk everywhere and get brunch or dinner on the town as well as visit all the cute shops and walk around the lake. We also came during a week when there was a "polar vortex" and it was exceptionally cold, so having a hotel close to everything was clutch.

And finally, the customer service was FANTASTIC. We got complimentary champagne on arrival, and they checked in with us every day via text asking how our stay was and if there was anything that they could do. They have free coffee in the morning and hot chocolate or apple cider in the lobby with chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Once we called down to the lobby for a wine bottle opener and they showed up with one in literally 30 seconds. Cannot recommend this place highly enough, and it is also great value for the price!!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Amy W,

In a community like Lake Placid, with such a wonderful sense of hospitality, every day of the winter comes with its own warmth of spirit. I find this is especially true during the holiday season. We are so pleased you were able to get away for the holidays!

Thank you for sharing such kind words and for choosing High Peaks Resort. We hope you'll join us again, soon!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Resort is actually comprised of three separate buildings, meaning if you are there for a corporate or family event, make sure everyone is in the building where the rooms are. Traipsing through the cold and snow to and from the evening celebration was a test of my Vermont character that I can get at home. Room was a bit dated but clean and comfy. Food service tries hard but I’ve yet to be impressed by food in Lake Placid in general.

Room Tip: Remote locations may be great in spring/summer/fall but if winter, be in the main lodge
Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank docrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear docrock2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience. While we are pleased that your stay was a good one overall, we would like to see your next be exceptional from start to finish.

We are constantly evaluating how we can do things better and if you would have a moment to speak with me directly regarding your visit, I would welcome the opportunity. I can be reached at 518-523-4411 and look forward to your call.

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Spent Christmas holidays at the High Peaks Resort. Conveniently located in downtown Lake Placid. Had a great room no the 5th fl (521) that gives you a great view of the lake. Beds were nice. Dancing Bears is the restaurant in the hotel with great comfort food and friendly service. We also like to go to Players across the street. Cross the street to the Lake House and they offer free pool and foosball with hot chocolate as well.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalicoGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear CalicoGeorge,

Thank you for your kind words! Our team had such a wonderful time hosting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we did.

We hope you'll join us again for Christmas 2018!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Stayed here from December 29-January 1st. Hotel Staff was excellent and very helpful. The location great with amazing restaurants and shopping right down the street. The dancing bears restaurant had a wonderful NYE party. I will definitely recommended this hotel and the beautiful town of Lake Placid as a must see!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear tvsnyc,

Thank you for ringing in the new year with us! it was such a wonderful evening and we're thrilled you were able to join us!

We hope you'll join us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews