We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront rooms are wonderful!”
Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This past weekend we stayed at the High Peaks Resort Waterfront Rooms for one night (way too short!) and had the best time! We travel to Lake Placid often and have tried many different hotels - some small, some bigger chains, some on the lake, some a bit out of town. Staying in one of the waterfront rooms at High Peaks was by far our favorite experience so far. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was huge and clean, the fireplace was cozy, and the view was indescribable. The room we stayed in sat right over the water and had a perfect unobstructed view of the entire lake. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Emily H,

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It was wonderful to hear such excellent feedback from someone so familiar with our village and we're delighted to know our Waterfront Collection has earned a repeat experience. If you think the view was indescribable in the winter, just wait until you see it in the summer!

We're looking forward to your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

We had a lovely stay at the High Peaks resort. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was well lit and modern with some nice design touches. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect. Often I find that hotel pillows are too high and bouncy and I end up with a stiff neck in the morning. One minor annoyance was the positioning of the closet door and bathroom door since you could not get into the closet if the bathroom door was open. The couch was a bit too oversized for our room as well and this fact made it a harder for a person to get to the wall-side of the king-sized bed. If you were a person of size this would be an issue. The lobby/common area is large and has numerous couches, chairs, tables, etc. as well as a working fireplace. Hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is situated within walking distance of most activities that you would want to do in Lake Placid and a multitude of restaurants are nearby including the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sarah O,

Thank you for sharing your experience, kind words, and feedback from your recent visit.

We are always considering our next guest experience project and you brought up some great examples of how we can improve the convenience of our guest rooms. We'll certainly keep them in mind as we evaluate our next steps!

We hope you'll join us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Went to Lake Placid for the first time with my boyfriend over the holidays in December 2017 and staying here was the best decision ever! The hotel has rustic décor with a fireplace, big sofas and chairs, chessboards, and interesting books in the lobby. The rooms are big and clean and bathrooms very nice too. We loved the cozy, ski-lodge vibe.

Also have to note the amazing location right on Main Street and steps away from Mirror Lake, making it super easy to walk everywhere and get brunch or dinner on the town as well as visit all the cute shops and walk around the lake. We also came during a week when there was a "polar vortex" and it was exceptionally cold, so having a hotel close to everything was clutch.

And finally, the customer service was FANTASTIC. We got complimentary champagne on arrival, and they checked in with us every day via text asking how our stay was and if there was anything that they could do. They have free coffee in the morning and hot chocolate or apple cider in the lobby with chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Once we called down to the lobby for a wine bottle opener and they showed up with one in literally 30 seconds. Cannot recommend this place highly enough, and it is also great value for the price!!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Amy W,

In a community like Lake Placid, with such a wonderful sense of hospitality, every day of the winter comes with its own warmth of spirit. I find this is especially true during the holiday season. We are so pleased you were able to get away for the holidays!

Thank you for sharing such kind words and for choosing High Peaks Resort. We hope you'll join us again, soon!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Resort is actually comprised of three separate buildings, meaning if you are there for a corporate or family event, make sure everyone is in the building where the rooms are. Traipsing through the cold and snow to and from the evening celebration was a test of my Vermont character that I can get at home. Room was a bit dated but clean and comfy. Food service tries hard but I’ve yet to be impressed by food in Lake Placid in general.

Room Tip: Remote locations may be great in spring/summer/fall but if winter, be in the main lodge
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank docrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear docrock2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience. While we are pleased that your stay was a good one overall, we would like to see your next be exceptional from start to finish.

We are constantly evaluating how we can do things better and if you would have a moment to speak with me directly regarding your visit, I would welcome the opportunity. I can be reached at 518-523-4411 and look forward to your call.

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Spent Christmas holidays at the High Peaks Resort. Conveniently located in downtown Lake Placid. Had a great room no the 5th fl (521) that gives you a great view of the lake. Beds were nice. Dancing Bears is the restaurant in the hotel with great comfort food and friendly service. We also like to go to Players across the street. Cross the street to the Lake House and they offer free pool and foosball with hot chocolate as well.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalicoGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at High Peaks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear CalicoGeorge,

Thank you for your kind words! Our team had such a wonderful time hosting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we did.

We hope you'll join us again for Christmas 2018!

Warm Regards,
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
1.6 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: ₹ 8,808 - ₹ 21,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing