We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Perfect Coda to Our Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bois Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Bois Rouge
Ranked #1 of 21 Cilaos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Coda to Our Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked a room at Le Bois Rouge for the final two nights of our three-week trip to Paris, La Reunion and Mauritius. Prior reviews had been excellent but I was unprepared for how lovely the place would be. M. Mainton gave us a guided tour of a the property upon arrival -- he has thought of every possible need for the guests: from umbrella (for the sudden cloudbursts) to cocktails waiting in the little fridge (first night only). The location is good -- walking distance to the Thermes (hot springs); breakfast was ample (including an optional egg, very nice for the morning one prepares for an energetic hike). The shower was spacious, hot and strong water pressure. Plenty of places to stow your belongings. A clothes-drying rack in the closet for airing out sweaty stuff after the hike.... Wifi. And a glorious view of the sky, mountain and stars from our private balcony. Private entrance. Just perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle room upstairs. The walls are a little thin and conversation etc. transmits b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueP360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    45
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
127
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

What a wonderful stay! if I knew this place was going to be so charming I would have stayed here for longer than only one night. The owner was so nice and helpful, I even was given a red rose. The rooms are huge and beautiful with lots of details, there is a huge DVD collection from which guests can pick any movie (mostly French movies). Guests can also choose where to have breakfast: in the room, in the stunning living room or in the terrace, we picked the living room because they made a fire and it just felt so cozy! I am looking forward to my next trip to Reunion and will definitely stay Le Bois Rouge again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Cute small hotel with only 5 or 6 rooms. What made this place special: a very warm service of the owners. Nice breakfast on the terrasse with mountain view.... very clean rooms, DVD player (DVDs for free at the reception) + TV in the room. Good place to stay for some nights! In walking distance to the small "city".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upaeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

After a hair raising 400 turns to reach Cilaos we arrived at the quaint Le Bois Rouge. Speaking very little French oursleves, and with the owner speaking even less English that we spoke French, we managed to check-in and were shown to our room with beautiful views over the town.

The rooms are adequate and clean and there are DVD's available to borrow at reception (in English)

The following morning we awoke to a clear sky and stunning views of the surrounding mountains and were served breakfast on the terrace.

A tip - ensure you have enough cash on checkout as credit cards are not accepted.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilaos
0.6 km away
Le Vieux Cep
Le Vieux Cep
#2 of 5 in Cilaos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel des Neiges
Hotel des Neiges
#1 of 5 in Cilaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.9 km away
Otroiza
Otroiza
#3 of 5 in Cilaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Cilaos
Hotel Le Cilaos
#4 of 5 in Cilaos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
25.7 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
27.0 km away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#2 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bois Rouge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bois Rouge

Property: Le Bois Rouge
Address: 2, route des sources, Cilaos 97413, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre > Cilaos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cilaos
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,615 - ₹ 13,669
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing