We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply charming and relaxing in a paradise environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mourouk Ebony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply charming and relaxing in a paradise environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Mourouk Ebony Hotel is the ideal gate away for a very peaceful and mind tranquility environment. Situated in an Island where life seems to stand still, couples can enjoy a very relaxing vacation. I was fascinated by the view from the hotel, the spectacular long beach and the friendliness of the people around in the hotel. The restaurants provide a selective range of fresh sea food and local meat for my indulgence. A must for serenity seeker.
Yash

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    79
    33
    14
    22
See reviews for
51
80
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My wife and myself needed a break and wanted to go somewhere nice,peaceful and romantic. We found it is Rodrigues, more so at Mourouk Ebony.It was a dream come true.The only hitch we had, was that 4 days was not enough.The setting of Mourouk itself is excellent. The place is very clean and the garden well kept. The staff are TOO pleasant and (myself a chef) found the food very authentic. Financial-wise, compared to the many other places and hotels we have been, Mourouk is to us so far the best. It was money well spent.
We have promised ourselves to be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lereduit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Dirty Rooms, bathrooms
Bad customer service
Avoid the food in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Mourouk Ebony Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2010
Google Translation
Cet avis nous laisse absolument perplexe, d'autant plus qu à la fin de leur sejour tous nos clients ont l'amabilité de remplir une fiche intiitulée "Commentaires Clients" or nous n'avons jamais relevé ce type de commentaire. D'autre part nous disposons d'un service "relations clients"qui a pour fonction de rendre le sejour de chaqun de nos clients le plus agréable possible aucune réclamation de ce type n'a été relevé par notre service des relations à la clientèle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rodrigues Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Suffolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Had two nights here, B&B and evening meal. Very relaxing. Staff excellent. Chalet rooms comfortable although noisy "neighbours" could be a problem. Breakfasts a bit boring and first night dinner fairly basic, but second nights buffet dinner and entertainment made up for this. I say entertainment.......if you can cope with a sort of Irish/Scot diddly-diddly beat and colourful dancers. Rodriguen sega I believe.
Recommend hiring a 4x2 with a driver for a day to really get the feel of this island, very good value. Rodrigues so much different to Mauritius where we were based.
One complaint though. This is the only hotel I have ever been to that makes a charge for the normally free sachets of coffee or tea found in your room. We only discovered this at dinner on the second night (after we had had about 8 cups of the stuff) when asked to sign a minibar bill for the first 4. The charge in fairness was written on the minibar tariff albeit in "small print". But I would have no cause to look at the tariff if I had no intention of using the minibar refridgerator. Felt cheated.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkSceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Ocean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We are still in awe of the scenery everytime we come from Port sud Est to Mourouk, indeed it is one of the best spots in Rodrigues. Mourouk Ebony is a well settled hotel, something over 10 years. Thsi time, we checked there after a disappointing experience at another hotel and we did regret not checking in earlier.

This hotel is charming, small, basic and secluded. It's ideal for people who just want to watch the world go by and relax the 'rodriguan' way. The room in itself caters for the strict minimum , a bed and a shower. It does have aircon but it's not working fully, we have noticed it at the last visit also but anyway they had the ceiling fan. The view from the bungalow is breathtaking and the sunset amazing. We can't get enough of this view. The surroundings are also worth walks with the sea that is still untouched by people, there is an interesting varieties of shells that can be seen at low tides. And you can witness fishermen coming in from their trips early morning. The food is good, good local produce, refined menu, quite surprising considering that Mourouk is a small hotel in size.The chilli is still as good!!

Indeed will recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a hotel with character.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoveryRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodrigues Island
5.8 km away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.0 km away
Le Ravenal
Le Ravenal
#3 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
615.3 km away
Domaine des Alizees Club & Spa by Evaco Holiday Resorts
6.8 km away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.2 km away
Auberge St Francois
Auberge St Francois
#4 of 39 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourouk Ebony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourouk Ebony Hotel

Property: Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Address: Port Sud-Est, Anse Mourouk, Mauritius R3423
Region: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,508 - ₹ 14,660
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mourouk Ebony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your business travel and vacation leisure, when your journey takes you to Rodrigues Island and you are looking for a comfortable island accommodation. Let us welcome you at the Mourouk Ebony Hotel. We are just some minutes away from the Airport and also from the capital city Port-Mathurin. Mourouk Ebony Hotel is nestled in a colorful and lush tropical garden, facing the blue and turquoise lagoon and offering beautiful views over the deeper blue beach and the Ocean. At Mourouk Ebony Hotel, we offers an excellent vacation, private honeymoon and family atmosphere coupled with our water sports activities such as kite surfing, diving, wind surfing and deep-sea fishing as our villas are situated just steps from the beach as we guarantee a tranquil environment. We also provide a mini club for kids right on the white sandy beach and guests with a full range of water sports as well as a dive Center. Our exclusive hotel overlooks the beach coupled with other hotel amenities to guarantees a tranquil environment. We offer Car Hire for Outings across the island and on desert islets that can be viewed from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mourouk Ebony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourouk Ebony Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing