We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible do not go there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pointe Venus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pointe Venus Hotel
Indian Ocean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible do not go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

I am a regular visitor to Rodrigues but never got a chance to go to Pointe Venus. Since there is so much advertisement about it being a 4 star hotel we decided to try it!!An absolute error.We booked for a couple and a baby and expected the baby cot to be in the room since obviously after travelling you would want to settle the baby but there was none. We asked the lady that brought us to our room and saw none arriving, we had to ask someone else again!!As for dinner it was a nightmare, all the 2 baby chairs were broken and we had to keep our baby on our lap and eat in turn, speaking of holidays, it became a nightmare. And it continued during the night, this hotel has loud music till 11.30 pm. Oh Yes no kidding how on earth are we supposed to sleep with a baby and they put it off after several phone calls from us. And it happened all over again the next night. Fed up we checked out and moved to another hotel.Nothing to regret swince the view from our balcony was marred by two giant electric pylons. Nothing exotic about this view, it's stressing more than exotic. As for the swimming pool, it was all dirty, murky with the paint coming off. Considering that this hotel has no beachfront and that the swimming pool is an absolute sham there is not much to do except those 3 poor channels (don't be fooled by the website that says satellite channels...),


One advice :DO NOT GO THERE!!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DiscoveryRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    7
    10
    10
See reviews for
19
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

I have now stayed at Pointe Venus on three seperate occasions (2005, 2008, and during May and June this year). I have stayed at many hotels around the main island of Mauritius. I cannot understand why the service standards at Pointe Venus are so appalling. The location is (so long as you are looking for town rather than beach) excellent, taking advantage of a historic location, an elevated position and a fine view of the lagoon, the reef beyond and a good part of the town below. Indeed sitting on the balcony of the room was a very enjoyable (although did have to ask the constantly strimming gardener to take his noisy machine elsewhere on a couple of occasions) part of the trip taking in the scenery during the day or the quiet relaxation of the night.

It is the way the services of the hotel are presented that seems to let it down badly.

The restaurant is in a fine location, with an overhanging roof to provide shade and shelter, but otherwise open to prove cool air on the hottest of days. The roof has been colonised by small birds and very large bees! The birds take advantage of the crumbs and scraps left on tables (and you might not even have finished your meal!) as their main source of food. No attempt is made by staff to shoo them away and no attempt is made to clear tables once meals are finished. So the scraps remain and the birds take over tables and parts of the restaurant.

Indeed the attitude of the staff is very worrying. It is as though they have been brought in to backfill for the proper staff. They demonstrate no particular standard nor suggest that they have been trained. Some days tables have condiments and other days they do not so you have to ask for them. Some days there are napkins on the tables and other days not. Coffee and tea at breakfast is a hot water flask next to some jars of instant coffee and boxes of tea bags. They will make real coffee for you but each time you have to ask, and yet in a 4* they should know their job is to offer coffee or tea to their guests. The menu was very limited and quite apalling - it could be undercooked and cold. Returned food took another 20 minutes to be re-heated. Two of us experienced severe gastro-enteritis while there and spent three days confined to bed to recover.

In other Mauritian hotels the restaurant staff are very attentive, ask what you want, tell you what is available, and do their best to assist. At Pointe Venus the restaurant staff do very little. They do their best to assist but appear to have been given no direction at all on how to welcome guests, how to seat them, when to offer them a menu, how to ensure their table is laid for their menu choice, how to present the food. Most times we got the distinct impression that we had surprised them by turning up at all! We found our own table. Some time later a photocopied menu would be handed to us. Our choices were then conveyed to the staff as they had little interest in finding out what we wanted (and that would not be difficult given that there were generally only 2 or 3 choices per course anyway). Most of the time the staff seemed to lean on the waiters station gossiping with each other or when bothered by guests requests disappear into the kitchen area for very long periods.

The beds were hard wooden boxes with mattresses that had lost their stuffing, their 'spring' had gone, and that was uncomfortable and caused bad backs.

The worst part was the smell in the rooms. It seems as though the foul drainage connects direct to a sewer and the dirt around the pipe connections is not attended to. Some basic cleaning with disinfectant would prove effective as an interim measure.

Overall hygiene appears not to be high on the agenda. The coiled up dead worm on the bottom of the swimming pool I saw on my first day was still there when I left several days later. The pool also has a black tide mark around the wall evidencing that, although the leaves and wind-blown debris might be scooped off every so often, the pool itself is not cleaned in any meaningful way.

All of the above may seem as though I am intent on doing a 'hatchet job' on Pointe Venus. Far from it. I like its location and feel that once it gets back to some basic standards of hygiene, service, and catering it could be the 4* hotel it seeks to be. A friend in Mauritius suggested that the problem is that this hotel is run by a tour company (Mauritours) and that they have no experience of or skills in managing hotels. That needs to change for, in the meantime, they are letting down the whole of Rodrigues, a beautiful paradise of an island with wonderful friendly people. They both deserve a lot more from the Pointe Venus Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VikingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rodrigues Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

On our trip second to rodrigues we stayed at Pointe Venus Hotel. Since my husband was on a business trip we chose Pointe Venus because of its proximity to Port Mathurin. The hotel is well decorated but not well kept. The swimming pool is dirty and the towels are disgusting.The staff though extremely friendly need a good training. They do not check the mini bar and we often had to wait a long time before getting the food we've ordered. The first time I've ordered a club sandwich the food was cold. I hated the food and did not like the spa at all. Next time we go to rodrigues we ll stay at the cotton bay hotel.

Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank principessa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Had business in Port Mathurin, so this hotel seemed logical for its location (not a good location if you are going for holidays - go to the hotels on the east coast). I don't know where they managed to get a 4-star rating, but I would not give them a single star.

The people of Rodrigues are the most friendly I have ever come across, yet the staff at the hotel were the most impolite and grumpy I've ever met! The room was mediocre and EVERYTHING is charged for, at rates found in high-class hotels in Europe. The mattresses were shod, so went home with a sore back.

Dinner was fairly good, except on the Saturday when it seemed they served dried out leftovers. This, along with the rest of the meals, were horrible.

If you must go to Port Mathurin, much rather stay in one of the other smaller hotels or guest houses, and rather go to restaurants in town for meals with the wonderful locals.

While all the flights were full to Rodrigues, this hotel typically had a 20 % occupancy rate. Totally overpriced for what you get.

DON'T GO THERE - YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moegaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

A special THANK YOU NOTE to you and all your team for the services and facilities supplied for our recent stay in your hotel.

Tha facilities were excellent but most importantly the attention from your staff.

The stay has been magnificent, employees have been wonderful and we felt welcomed like it was our own home.

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT (TYPICAL).

WE WILL BE BACK (MY SON AND ME)

  • Liked — everything was pefect
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rodrigues Island hotels
7.2 km away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.0 km away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Le Ravenal
Le Ravenal
#3 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.8 km away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.4 km away
Auberge St Francois
Auberge St Francois
#4 of 39 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Venus Hotel

Property: Pointe Venus Hotel
Address: Mont Venus, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Venus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Hotel Pointe Venus
Pointe Venus Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing