We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary hotel but well located for Lalibela sights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aman Hotel

Aman Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aman Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
North London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ordinary hotel but well located for Lalibela sights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel was generally OK, with clean rooms and good showers (as long as you remembered to turn the water heater on!). Bathroom door tended to clash with the sink in the small bathroom. Hotel was well placed for the Lalibela sights and for the bank next door. There were also some restaurants within easy walking distance. Sadly tourism has somewhat spoilt the town, or more particularly some of the locals who have become greedy and very demanding tip wise - shame because most Ethiopians are really nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Unfortunately and contrary to the other reviews cited hereby, our experience at Aman Hotel was not a good one at all.

We visited Lalibela during the famous Timkat Festival. Mr. Cheru at Aman Hotel charged us the excessive amount of $150/NIGHT (!!!), obligatorily for the first 3 nights, while the last night he accepted after lots and lots of bargains to be paid $50 (he said this was his normal price, I dont believe even that now!). In the beginning, he was even demanding to be paid for 5 nights, irrespectively, as he said, of whether we would stay for 5 nights or less. And of course he demanded to be prepaid the whole amount via transfer, before we get there, otherwise he refused to book us.

Eventually, when we booked this over the phone, we agreed to pre-pay $150/night for the first 3 days and $50 for the last 4th night, as we didn't really have any other option as everything else was more or less booked in Lalibela for the Timkat, and we thought that this hotel would be at least a really 'good' one...

Eventually when we arrived there we realized that we had been massively ripped-off by Mr. Cheru and we were extremely disappointed for this. The hotel is a very very basic and poor one, even though it is located in the actual center of the town and in close proximity to everything… and of course the real value of the rooms is rated at around $20-30/night. When we complained to Cheru about the rip-off, he actually said that ALL hotels in Lalibela were charging the same, and that ALL his clients during these days were paying the same price.

Well... apparently NOT!

A group of Japanese tourists staying there confirmed to me that they came through a Tour Operator and that they must have paid Aman Hotel at around $15-20/night, as this was part of a package/trip that noway would have cost them that much, during the same Timkat days that we were there!

We also discovered that his claim about all other hotels charging exactly the same was a false one... One of the other nicest hotels that we discovered there, Seven Olives, confirmed that their price during the Timkat was at $100/night, while their normal price would be $42/night.... much cheaper than Aman Hotel, while they are a much much nicer place to stay, with a nice design, a great restaurant, and set in a beautiful forest with rare birds flying, a heaven of peace after all the walking hours around busy Lalibela, situated right off the main road, 1 walking-minute from Lalibela's central square.

The rooms at Aman are basic inside, not bad, but also nowhere near the $50/night or even more so the $150/night mark! The WC/Shower is also very basic, but respectable.

What was really NOT nice is that the mattresses and blankets at Aman Hotel have fleas.... My friend caught fleas from the first night we slept in the room, with his whole body developing from the first morning there a huge rush, endless itching and big spots, while this continued for many days onwards as it is difficult to get rid of fleas.

The blankets were dirty, anyone could see that, obviously passed on from one client to the other without washing, and this was very evident –I even told this to Cheru the moment we arrived there, before even the fleas incident errupts, and he didn’t care at all really. The mattresses looked OK, but again after what happened to us, I cannot confirm anymore whether they are actually safe and clean or not.

I told Cheru, the owner, about this incident when it happened, as we were trying to find a Pharmacy there, and I even asked him if anyone else had the same problem before. He tried to convince me that he had never seen that happening again, but now I don't believe that he never had similar flea incidents before. For sure he knows that his blankets and/or mattresses have fleas.

We visited the small clinic in Lalibela but the Doctor (Dermatologist) was one of Cheru's relatives, and of course she refused to accept that my friend had fleas from the blankets or the mattress. On the contrary, her verdict was that he got an allergy (although his face and neck were totally clear!), she stated that Cheru’s rooms are very very clean, and prescribed him some useless pills.

Eventually, upon our return to Addis, we visited the hospital and the Doctor there confirmed that it was fleas caught from the blanket/mattress in Lalibela, as the incident erupts immediately after sleeping and getting fleas, and he confirmed that this is a very common incident in many hotels in Lalibela (which I also verified through other readers' reviews), as hygienic conditions are very poor, without proper cleaning, washing, etc., in many hotels there. When I sent an sms to Cheru to informed him about all that, he just never replied back -not even once, to at least APOLOGIZE for what happened at his hotel for $150/night! This proves how much indifferent and ignorant this guy is when it comes down to both clients and service!

Beyond that really bad incident that can become a real nightmare, Cheru was just not willing, even from the very very beginning that we arrived in Lalibela, to help with anything. All he talked about and all he cared about was ‘money’, spitting out the word at every chance he would get. Beyond the ‘money’ thing, he had no clue whatsoever about how to give service or help, unless we fiercely fought him over each thing. He only offered for us to be picked up at the Airport because I asked him 2 times in advance, and initially he even mentioned costs to us for this. Eventually, he arranged for us to be picked up at no cost by a mini-van with other tourists. Beyond that, he was never willing to organize or assist with anything else: neither to arrange a taxi to take us where we needed to go unless really pushed to do this (his typical answer would be: this is not my job, find one yourselves), nor to drop us at the airport the day of our departure, for which he demanded money again (but ended up doing it at no cost after we strictly complained), nor to include his basic breakfast in the excessive room rate he had charged us, etc....

Only after fierce arguments over these things, did he accept to do them. He wanted to even charge us for the basic breakfast offered at his hotel, which prior to our arrival he was confirming over the phone that it would be included in the $150/night price… a small tiny drop of butter, next to a drop of honey or marmalade, bread and a pot of tea, which, although very tasty, it really messed up my stomach every time I had it, as I think the water used was just not good, not boiled, and therefore not purified enough... etc.

We haven't really paid that much anywhere in the world for a night’s stay, even more so for such a basic poor accommodation, although we are avid travelers, having been in more than 40 countries across the world.

Our experience at Aman Hotel was one of those really frustrating ones, going from one bad thing to the next, continuously for the whole 4 days we spent there, enriched by continuous fighting with Cheru to sort out each and every thing, as he just had a totally negative attitude, and we constantly had to claim our basic normal rights, that any other customer would demand. I would not recommend this hotel.

Besides this, Lalibela is an amazing place to visit! Spiritual and blessed! Enjoy Lalibela and check out Seven Olives Hotel, which we found out to be the dream-place we would have wanted to stay at, had we known in advance!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ouri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lalibela hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

While somewhat still under construction, the Aman Hotel is in the centre of town and easily within walking distance of Lalibela's prime sites. The owner and manager takes personal interest in guests' comfort and assists with arrangement of guides and tours. While construction in the hotel building appears to be ongoing, it didn't detract from our stay too much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsoneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I took a group of friends to visit Lalabela. Cheru Abebe met us at the airport and took us to the town, facilitated our visiting the historic churches, drove us to see some other beautiful vistas .and generally made our time there totally relaxing and enjoyable. He and his staff was available for us, helpful, courteous and always pleasant. In fact. we finished our visiting late in the evening and wondered where we could have dinner.( this was before they had the restaurant) Someone walked us to a lovely place. and then an hour later without asking, he came back to walk us home to the Aman Hotel. How thoughtful!. The hotel was comfortable with pleasant views and again the whole staff was delightful. I highly recommend this hotel and Cherru Abebe's services.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hboxwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 km away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 km away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 17 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
0.0 km away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 8 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 km away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aman Hotel

Property: Aman Hotel
Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,607 - ₹ 3,744
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Aman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing