We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
7
18
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
18
14
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Hotel was clean and food, when it finally arrived was pretty good. And rooms had AC if that is important. The service was terrible, really poor internet, bathroom smelled and NO HOT WATER. GOOD GRIEF. I might understand if hotel was full but it was a ghost town. Made us check out at 11:00 as rooms were supposedly booked for that night again despite no on being there. Way way over priced for what was delivered. Zero personality. - reminded me of the old Soviet hotels. But it did overlook Lake Tana.

Room tip: Choose another hotel. Or bus stop.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I'm glad that out of all the accommodation places, I got to stay at this one. Neat and tidy place with a good amount of natural light. Food is decent. Breakfast is served free and the rest of the meals are affordable. I highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akriti001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Nice location central to the town and a ten minute walk to the lake. Clean rooms and some beds with mosquito nets, clean bathrooms with good pressure and hot water in the showers. Helpful and friendly staff.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bomo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Visited Bahir Dar in March of 2017. Blue Niel Hotel is one of the two great hotels I satyed in while in the city. The hotel is in the center of the city; I would say within a waling distance from restaurants, shops and even the lake. The staff at the hotel are extremely professional, amicable, polite and helpful. The rooms are large and very clean. Washrooms and common areas are neat. There is hot water 24/7. Wifi reception is great unless you are at a certain part of the building. Food is great. Since the hotel is located at the center of the city, you might experience some noise at nights. However, this can be avoided if you pick a room at the opposite side of the street. I stayed about a week at Blue Nile. I had a single bed room for which I paid 400 Birr (about 17 USD). I definitely recommend Blue Niel to anyone who would love to spend sometimes in Bahir Dar.

Room tip: Don't pick a room facing the street.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndir2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

No problems with the place, good room, not hypermodern but clean and tidy en-suite rooms. Had come from a homestay so this was a rather easier option. Not on the waterfront but well located in walking distance of bus station, countless restaurants, and day-today live in Bahar Dar. If you're travelling on a budget this is a good option.

Room tip: Best views from higher rooms (obs)
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews