We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crystal Hotel(Asmara)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
2
18
23
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
18
23
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I had much higher expectations of this place, reputably ranked best in Massawa. I was very unimpressed with the lack of service mindedness of the personell first when checking in and then when being shown my room. Which incidentally was without a working A/C... Well, there is nothing we can do about this she said - suit yourself. It might be fixed later. Eventually after having to complain loudly was given another room. The restaurant then. 4 waitresses located at the restaurant/bar area and me coming in being the only guest to be served. Did I get attention. No, they were busy playing games and texting on their mobile phones. Again the service was appalling as was what was on offer on the menu. The pool had water, but I would not let my pet go into it. Filthy dirty... Do I need to say anything more... Wake up, there is internet today and people quickly share information. Stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here in Massawa. The first impression of the hotel is very positive. The rooms do not come close to living up to the expectations first set when you walk in. One of the really good things was the restaurant and how they prepared their fresh fish. Yummy.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TimJMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Hotel is situated near the old town. Location is the only good thing about this hotel. The rooms are not too clean. The most of the staff members are not too friendly and efficient. The breakfast is poor. There is not internet access. But, you can not avoid it because there is no better hotel in Massawa.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The impressive Italian-Turkish-Arabian facade of the buildings hardly prepares one for the unpredictable mix of pleasures and frustrations this establishment will provide for its guests. On the one hand, my room was large and airy and had effective air-conditioning; on the other, no more (cold) water came out of my shower than would have been supplied by a couple of eye-droppers. The reception desk corralled a row of rather grim-faced bossy ladies who seemed nothing but irritated to have to deal with guests. The Wi-Fi here, as in Asmara, was weak and patchy.
There were cheerful staff in the circular, open-air bar by the Red Sea, serving good, cheap coffee, food and a wide range of drinks in the company of the resident cockerel, strutting his stuff, stamping his feet and crowing aggressively from time to time. As an official conference group on tour, we did not eat in the restaurant, but were served excellent, even sumptuous breakfasts and lunches in the circular, second-floor restaurant opposite the bar.
We took boats from the hotel quayside to the nearest little island, swam, walked and returned, scorched and happy after floating in the sparkling, salty waters of the Red Sea. Unfortunately, it was not possible to wash off the salt other than by standing in front of one's washbasin and making the best of an old flannel.
The owner of the hotel was pointed out to us on a number of occasions. When I passed him in the bar, I thought I would mention a couple of things that a fussy foreigner might like to see improved - the provision of water for the shower and a decent signal for the Wi-Fi. 'We have a thousand problems,' he said. No pandering to silly tourists here.
Visiting Massawa was a stunning experience in every respect (architecture, revolutionary history, the Red Sea, the utterly amazing drive from Asmara) and I would stay in the Grand Hotel Dahlak again if there were nowhere better, but I do feel that foreign tourists, booking and paying for their own holidays (as I was not) might be a bit shocked by what they found and by the rather serious dissonance between the confident language of the hotel's website and the unsolvable problem of a barely dribbling shower.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Accommodation is limited in Massawa but I still expected a room with a cleaner, more functional bathroom. The window has not been cleaned in ages, there was no hot water and the beds are awkwardly placed with no view. Staff in the reception and restaurant are pleasant but not particularly efficient. The pool was lovely and big but needed a cleaning and the restaurant menu (for lunch anyway) is very limited.

Room Tip: There are seldom single rooms available so one has to share. Make sure the bathroom has been properly cleaned before you use the room
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudeshan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews