We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location on the lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Sint-Katelijne-Waver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best location on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We are a family of five and we have stayed at the Surfside on 4 seperate occasions. Every time, we have left feeling content and looking forward to going back. We stayed in the new suites and were very happy. The interior design is beautiful and the rooms were practical and clean. Each room has its own tv and the kids could sleep in their own room while we could stay up a bit longer without messing up their routine. The rooms are also equipped with a small kitchenette which is useful when travelling with a baby. The best feature of the rooms has to be its views... priceless! The prices are comparable to the surrounding hotels and you definetely get quality for your money. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The new rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    119
    59
    33
    41
See reviews for
198
69
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My partner and I booked a lakeside view, upon arrival we were greeted by Erin in reception who was very cheerful and extremely helpful . As we had booked a 'fall 3 night package deal' she took her time to explain all the things that were included in our stay. We got our keys and went to the room, I was happy with the room itself, but the view was spoilt by a conifer tree blocking quiet a bit of the lake view . I went back to the reception and pointed this out to Erin , she was very good and managed to get us transferred to another room that was perfect . Overall we would recommend Surfside on the Lake for a family break, I can not comment on much else as it was late in the season and very quiet, most things shut down , but all looked clean and well kept .

Room Tip: The new block of rooms has the best view, and being newer are cleaner and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank massey-man2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and two girls stayed at the Surfside Oct.14-16. I paid a base rate of $159.00 per night. Since one of the girls is over 13 years old, they dinged me an extra $10.00 per night. I was aware of this before checking in, so I wasn't overly annoyed. But the room has three queen sized beds and they still base their rates on 2 adults. Why? WiFi is an extra $5.00. This was a bit annoying. Not too many hotels dare to charge for this amenity that's became an actual necessity for so many people. The main bedroom was pretty large and easily fit 2 of the beds. The second bedroom was pretty small. The bathroom was very small. The kitchen had a microwave, a small refrigerator, toaster, and coffee maker(but no coffee). There were a few bowls and utensils, but no paper towels to clean them with. The balcony is not large, as stated on their website. It is actually quite small. But the view is out of this world! It almost makes up for the other deficiencies of this place.No way would I stay here in the summer and pay the outrageous high season rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I'm not going to lie to you. The surfside is not the equivalent of let's say, the w in Chicago. But it's in lake George village, the capital of cheesy, late 60's resort-ness.

That being clarified, it's not bad! We got quite the steal on a "two bedroom suite" with a lake view. Our family of three found it to be quite comfortable. We had a lake view, three queen beds and an adjoining bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It appeared clean on arrival. I will note, the windows and slider were brand spanking new (I won't mention the lack of handle on the inside of the screen sliding door. Or. Maybe I will.) the acs worked, we had two flat screens, was fine.

To be noted, there was a dorm sized fridge (fine for our 4 day stay), a microwave we didn't use, and some plates (5), mugs (4), bowls (4), and A pint glass and A rocks glass. Silverware numbered 4 each. Bring coffee and filters (#2), those are not provided. I inquired at the front desk about those coffee packets you throw in, not available. She was kind enough to extend three filters. Glad I brought coffee, and that there was a price chopper in the neighborhood.

Knowing that we were walking into lake George village, and all that that brings, we were happy. Housekeepings not the best, but then again, we knew.

Since it was September/October, we never even ventured to the pool or the beach. The pool should've been closed a few weeks prior, was green. The beach? It had been raining all weekend so I will not pass judgment.

In conclusion, I would say that the surfside is fine. Again. Its not the ritz. But you are in lake George village. What did you expect?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nappykink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I had room number 409 which is on the 2nd floor. It was neither a poolside nor lake side and room was very small but i guess we compromised on the price which was 150$ per night. we were there for 2 days. beds were clean, pillow was dirty but could be one odd case. On entering the room, we could smell wet clothes and upon calling people came and sprayed some perfume which was ok. We were told that room has microwave but it was not there but upon asking we got it very soon. refrigerator is also small. we had trouble with our next door neighbor kids who used to make hell lot of noise and each day we had to call office and complain but it used to stop after complaining. In all, small issues were there but it was very well handelled by the management. It has 1 pool which is good enough. They have ample parking (free).They have their own lake side beach (small) which is good and boat rentals are available from the hotel backyard. Location wise this is fantastic, its in the village so no need to take your car out. everything is within 1 mile. This area has a major mobile connectivity problem nothing to do with hotel.

Room Tip: lake view is good. poolside would be noisy. other rooms are just rooms and very close to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirtimandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.1 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#13 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 km away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#20 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.1 km away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#5 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Address: 400 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,997 - ₹ 18,383
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel in the heart of Lake George village. With a wide variety of rooms from a single bed to Suites overlooking the lake. The property is lakefront and has 233 feet of beach, a private heated pool, and numerous decks to relax on. We offer a wireless internet service around the entire property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfside On The Lake Hotel Lake George
Surfside On The Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing