We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Crusheen Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We travel frequently for business and as such are not really used to "Family" hotels. We spent a week here with my son in the off season and I have to say it was a pleasant surprise. The staff were super friendly from housekeeping to the manager and the accomodations were spotless. We had a suite with 2 Queens and another room which gave us plenty enough space not to feel we were on top of each other and to allow my 6 year old space to play with his cars etc.
The restaurant was nice, staff friendly and food good (even though the portions were a bit too big for me) the Kids menu is a little limited but only in the same way kids menus everywhere are.
The pool and hot tub were clean and pleasant and the provision of a playground, shuffleboard etc was great. There were some activities in the Kids room (bear in mind it was off season) which were great ...crafts,scavenger hunt, Wii and movie night. The idea of movie night with the kids allowed to vote for the movie they watch at the front desk is brilliant.
I would not like to stay there in high season but that is purely a personal preference nothing against the hotel there would just be way too many people for me !!
Only 2 slight downs were the fact that it took 3 days for them to sort out the wifi after we told them it wasn't working on our floor and a 20 minute wait for a table in the restaurant one night...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 802AngelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our Resort and our staff.
I am sorry to hear about your WII Fi issue. Not sure what that could have been, but we will investigate it further.
We hope to see you again.

Michael Spilman/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    270
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
483
207
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I went to Lake George, off season, for a little R & R. I read the reviews regarding noise and made sure to mention "Quiet area of hotel, please" We were given a room at the end of the hall away from families, second floor.(I forgot this was vacation week for schools so there were plenty of families around!) The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable! A refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot was included. We ate at their Friday night seafood buffet at the attached TR's Restaurant, which was reasonably priced and was very good! The fitness center was small, we did not use the pool but it appeared clean. I must say that this is an excellent hotel to book if you have children! They have a kids room, with planned activities, outdoor playscape, a movie night, small arcade. We have 4 children (grown) and a grandson, and would recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. They were very accommodating to us as a couple, but I am glad we did not pick this hotel during the height of tourist season as the hotel would NOT have been quiet enough for us. Highly recommend if you have a family! This hotel is very central to all the attractions in the area. We had a good time and were glad we chose this hotel - off season.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, but the noise from the parking lot was still loud so I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you very much for your note from your April stay. We appreciate the time that you took and enjoyed your comments. We are without question a family Resort. However, we do our best to accomodate everyone. Hope to see you again.

Michael Spilman/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in a double queen suite during off-season. It was not terribly crowded. The room had uncomfortable old couches and old carpeting. The beds were comfortable. They had soft and firm pillows to choose from, neither of which were comfortable. We stayed two nights and the sheets were not changed. There was a balcony overlooking the pool and facing the lake which was really a great view. There was a mini fridge and microwave. 2 flat tvs with a wide selection of TV including pay per view movies and such. The bathroom was large and poorly ventilated. The shampoo and such were bath and body works. Pool towels were provided. Wifi was fast and free.

The gym was limited to one precor, 2 treadmills, and some barbells to 25#. The pool was average, and crowded with children. There was a children's activity room, which was staffed. This was the first time we have ever seen a staffed children's activity room! The laundry was front load and there were 2 machines with 2 dryers on our floor.

The restaurant was very good. Kids eat free for breakfast and dinner. There is no free breakfast as in other hotels. Service was quick and the menu prices were very reasonable. We ate most of our meals here because we liked it, which is unusual for a hotel restaurant. They have this interesting program where you can order room service breakfast the night before and they will deliver it within a 15 minute window.

The grounds include a small playground, basketball, shuffleboard, a putting green, oversized chess, and a pool. There was also a fire pit.

As this is a kid friendly place, be advised that kids do run around screeching at odd hours of the night (are there any bedtimes during vacation??). Also, there is a strange configuration to the hotel where if you stay in 359, you will be a couple of football field lengths away from the one elevator. I am not exaggerating, it is a long long walk back to the front desk. It is nice as far as being isolated from the pool and restaurant and noise, though.

I see the potential in the summer for this place to be really packed and crowded. However, compared to the other places we saw in town, which were mostly motel-like accomodations, this is downright fancy. I think they could use some more comfy couches in their rooms and some better pillows, but overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: 359 is the farthest away from the lobby. The second floor seemsed the noisiest and most crowded. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuiteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us. We appreciated your kind words, and your constructive thoughts. I will share them with our team.
Hope to see you again.

Michael Spilman/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a funeral for a family member, and Mike Spilman (manager) took the task of getting our family set up in his beautiful hotel and made us ALL feel like we were part of HIS family! Great staff (front desk, waitress. bartender's, house keeping) all very professional and extremely friendly towards all in our party. Great food, very, very clean rooms and the indoor pool and hot tub were great! Can't say enough about every aspect of this Holiday Inn Resort!! We will be back! Tks again Mike and team for being there for our family in this time of need. Drew And Lori Ogden

Room Tip: The rooms we had were large, clean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cohibacigar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We were very sorry about the circumstances, but we enjoyed having you and your family with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Michael Spilman/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport richey fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Excellent staff, Great Manager, beautiful suites, nice bar area, a pleasure to stay there.The hotel is really nice, check in took 2 minutes and the rooms are spacious and clean with microwave and fridge. In house restaurant was great also.The indoor pool was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a note regarding your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Michael Spilman/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.7 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.0 km away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#17 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,582 - ₹ 20,784
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing