We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Bad.........Considering the Competition.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Still Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Still Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Bad.........Considering the Competition.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lake George is a spectacular, 32 mile long lake surrounded by mountains (Thomas Jefferson raved about its beauty.) Unfortunately, it is also surrounded by some of the cheesiest, low-class motels and cottages that you could imagine.

Most of these "resorts," were built during the Eisenhowower administration and apparently haven't changed their sheets or towels since. Cobwebs, worn out mattresses and peeling paint are the norm. The Still Bay is one of the nicer places to stay, but that isn't saying much. The rooms are very clean, but are very cramped, dark motel rooms with no view of the lake. The grounds are nice and well-kept, but the beach is puny and most of it is taken up by a large dock.

If you are going to stay in Lake George, I would highly recommend that you rent a house instead, or stay at the Sagamore, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

It's a small piece of heaven at this resort.Naturally beautiful an the owners are so special. We enjoy the beauty of the Adirondack setting on the lovely grounds with the boat house and lake view. Every year we visit Still Bay it is still amazing how many special memories we take home of nature's beauty and the wonderful times we have with family and the owners of the resort who we consider just as special though the years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I have been staying at Still Bay for 20 years. I would not think of staying anywhere else.
I recognize many of the people there as long term repeat customers.

It has a traditional lakefront Adirondack setting and style, yet is conveniently located a short distance from Lake George village and a wide variety of other attractions. It is extremely relaxing and scenic. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The large, noncrowded sandy beach is great. The boathouse and free docking (if you have a boat) are a rare amentity. The pictures on their web site are current and accurately depict the facilities.

The management (always on-site) and staff are friendley and always available to satisfy every question and need. Ron, Eileen and Bob are just like family !

The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Each room has a small fridge for beverages and some food. The extensive buffet breakfast is a real feast. It is especially convenient to have breakfast right where you stay, without having to travel offsite.

In summary,Still Bay is relaxing, scenic ,comfortable and convenient. Don't waste any more time looking. You will be very pleased at Still Bay !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Wonderful location. Fantastic open property. People there were absolutely marvelous. Eileen's cooking and baking was over the top... Thank you.
Bill McKenna

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We've come here every year for almost 10 years...there are so many special aspects of this resort...warm and welcoming staff, magnificent views, private, sandy beach with comfortable lounge chairs, meticulously clean rooms but most especially we love the delicious, elegantly served breakfasts with so many homebaked dishes too varied to mention served in what we refer to as the "mansion on the hill" or on the patio overlooking the lake....my personal breakfast favorite is the strawberry bread pudding...or maybe the scones...or maybe the egg crepes with sausage but take your pick, there are so many things to choose from.....lots of great restaurants to have dinner nearby...we try at least one or two new ones every trip...no brochure could do this place justice....our kids are all grown now but we love watching the children playing on the beach, building a sand castle, enjoying the paddle boats or just barbequing with their families. We look forward to our trip every year and each visit has been so special.

Room Tip: Every room is clean and spacious but we prefer to have a porch too if it is available...nice to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.3 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
6.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#13 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.4 km away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#18 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.0 km away
The Inn at Erlowest
The Inn at Erlowest
#1 of 25 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Property: Still Bay Resort
Address: 3458 Lake Shore Drive, Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,732 - ₹ 21,264
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Still Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Still Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing