We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Review of Motel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Montreal
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I've stayed @ the Montel Montreal many weekends the past few years. I can't say enough about the owner Rob, his wife, and there staff. Rob bends over backwards to make everthing perfict. The rooms are all being refinished the beds are very comfortable and the pool is outstanding, Rob also is great at telling you where to go to have fun and get a great meal. He made me a reservation at Mario's accross the street and the meal was 5 stars. Just a wonderful vacation I strongly recommend the Hotel Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask Rob anything he is full service and knows the Lake George area very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Mike,

It is always a pleasure to host you and the guys. My wife and I enjoyed the 2012 season immensely and repeat guests such as yourself were a big part of that enjoyment. It looks as though spring has finally come to Lake George, so get out the golf clubs and get your tee time at Cronin's. We will be here for you after the 19th hole. Thank you for all of your help and support in 2012 and I can't wait to get the 2013 season going. See you soon!

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our first visit to this motel and the service was excellent from the moment we called to make our reservation. Rob the owner goes out of his way to make sure envy thing is right and if it is not he does all he can to make it better. We arrived at noon on a Wednesday and was very surprised when Rob told us we could check in. He informed us of sites to see and places to eat. He told us about discount tickets he could sell us to save us money at the rodeo and the mini ha ha and what he did not have discount tickets for, he had coupons (mini golf, pizza, other attractions). We had 2 rooms that faced the pool, 1 was newly renovated, beautiful bathroom, nice furniture and newer mattresses. Unfortunately, my room had an old bathroom, old lumpy mattresses and old furniture. The room was clean and anything we asked for came in minutes. The pool is great, very clean and lots of tables, chairs and lounges. We were able to eat at the pool. The pool was always busy but never crowded. The grounds are kept well but needs more plants and flowers on the grounds. They have bbqs to use and picnic tables. Great place to visit, would definitely come back simply because of Rob and his lovely family. FYI, location great and everything is walkable.

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingDavid613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the delayed response but the winter "offseason" got away from me. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found value in the services we offer. We try very hard to save money for our guests. We completed the bathroom renovations on all of the poolside rooms (and non-poolside rooms in building #1) and added new mattresses to many of those rooms so, if you return in 2013, you will see (and feel) the improvements. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we hope that you had a safe and sound winter and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My son and I spent 5 days here the second week of August and were extremely satisfied with our stay. We had a poolside room, which had been renovated and it was very clean with daily maid service. The fridge and microwave came in very handy as eating out gets tiring. I noticed that there were also outdoor grills available for use. When we opened our door we had an awesome view of the mountains, the lake was at the bottom of our street, about a one minute walk. The location was excellent, walking distance into the village, much easier than driving. The pool was also very clean and there were lots of lounge chairs available. One of the things that really stood out to me was the hospitality and genuine kindness of the owners. They were accommodating, friendly and always willing to help. My son and I will be returning here for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

It was great having you and your son stay with us last year and thank you for writing such a great review. Joseph (my son) had a great time playing in the office with your son and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you had a great holiday season and the 2013 is off to a fine start. See you in the summer!!!

All the best,

Rob Gregor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is the 2nd time that my family and I have stayed at Motel Montreal. Both times we've found the owners and staff to be more than exceptionally accommodating. Anything we needed, they brought to us right away. They even anticipated our needs and made suggestions on places to visit during our stay. Pool is always clean and love the location to both the lake and the village. We'll be back!!

Marra Family - Massachusetts

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have installed blow dryers, but you can request one from the office and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It was a pleasure having you and your family at the Motel Montreal during each of the last two years and we hope to see the team again in 2013! I hope that you and your family had a great holiday season and that the new year is off to a great start!

All the best,

Rob Gregor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We paid $159 (181.26 with tax)/night for a Friday night in August. There is an outdoor pool in the middle of the parking lot, which I never saw anybody use. Our room had two beds and a desk and that furniture literally took up the entire room. The furnishings were old and shabby. The mattresses were HORRIBLE. The bathroom was also very outdated, but I will say that the shower was a good temperature with decent water pressure and that goes a long way! The one redeeming thing about this place is that it's in a great location. Lake George is amazing and it is within a short walking distance of the lake and a long walk/very short drive from the great "downtown" area. I would go back to Lake George in a heartbeat, but I would definitely stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kls118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the Motel Montreal. We are very glad that you found our water temperature and pressure to your liking and that the hotel's location fit your needs perfectly.

It is unfortunate that the rooms were less than you expected. It is worth noting, however, that you were able to secure a room in Lake George Village for one night during a weekend in August at out hotel. You may have sacrificed some square footage to secure that room but most of the newer hotels with larger rooms (e.g. Hampton, Wingate, etc) will not take one night stays during August weekends and will charge you upwards of $249 per night plus tax and require two nights. Ultimately, you spent upwards of $180 with us whereas you would have spent upwards of $330 with them. The take-away being that, although you sacrifice some square footage and modernity, a stay at the Motel Montreal equals savings of approximately $150 without sacrificing cleanliness and location. These are important points to consider.

We are constantly renovating and improving the hotel (10 more rooms this off-season plus some updates to the pool) and we hope that you will give us a second look.

All the best,

Rob Gregor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.2 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
0.7 km away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#11 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
0.1 km away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#42 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#15 of 89 in Lake George
530 reviews
4.9 km away
Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
2.2 km away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#23 of 89 in Lake George
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Montreal

Address: 3 Lake Ave, Lake George, NY 12845-1005
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lake George
#5 Business Hotel in Lake George
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: ₹ 5,447 - ₹ 11,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Montreal is located in the heart of Lake George Village within walking distance of shopping/ restaurants and/ Lake George. The Motel Montreal offers clean/ comfortable lodging at affordable prices/ a 20 by 50 foot swimming pool/ a picnic area with barbecue grills/ free parking/ wireless high-speed internet/ discount tickets to Six Flags Great Escape/ Water Slide World and other Lake George attractions and the beauty and scenic splendor of the Adirondacks. All guestrooms include a refrigerator, microwave, free WiFi and coffeemaker. Bringing the whole family? Ask about our two-bedroom condo which sleeps up to seven! Stay with us and discover how relaxing and fun a Lake George vacation can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Montreal Hotel Lake George
Montreal Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing