We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation-We will be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation-We will be back!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We spent this past week at Dunham's Resort and had a great experience. We were meeting friends and decided on Lake George as a central location. Our room was clean and the beds were sooo....... comfortable. I asked and was told they are Temurpedic. We dined in the restaurant/bar and the food was very good with a good selection of pasta, chicken, beef and fish dishes.
The resort has an indoor pool which we enjoyed after our day of sight seeing. We also used the available grills and had a BBQ and finished off the night with a bonfire with other guests. A special thanks to all of the staff who made our stay enjoyable especially, Kaitlyn, Jack and Liz.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLouBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Matthew Taormino, GM of Dunham's Bay Resort. Can't thank you enough for the kind words. It's so nice to hear when our guests make full use of all the resort has to offer. The restaurant, pool, grills, and fire pit are options that help us really be all things to all guests. Thanks for letting the others know that our personal staff really made your stay complete. The mattresses are actually Sealy Posturepedic. Glad you found them comfortable. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful experience at Dunham's Bay Resort with others.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    49
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
80
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Simply not worth the price. The staff was personable yet uninformed at times. Two bedroom porch suites were sparse, oddly laid-out and the kitchen was barely usable with the items supplied, (pots, pans, utensils, no oven...). Ours did have a minimal lake view if you turned all of the plastic/rubber porch chairs completely sideways. Large crack in one bathroom mirror, one bedroom tv on the fritz & the maids turned on AC - and left it on - while a laptop was resting on the unit. Beds were hard. Pool hours were reduced on the first day of our visit. A large event tent, complete with bare tables & stacked chairs, was constructed in the central area of the resort when we arrived & stayed there for our entire stay.

If you are looking to experience Lake George on your visit to Lake George - this lake access is a joke. No fishing and a mini beach guarded by one very mean keeper.

Basically - we found ourselves wanting to leave the resort and seek vacation-like things to do. Not our plan when we booked an, "all inclusive resort" vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromCT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Matthew Taormino, GM of Dunham's Bay Resort. So sorry to hear your visit was not what you expected. Noting some of your concerns; the kitchens, unlike most cabins in the area, do come with an ample supply of kitchen items. If any guest feels the need for additional items we always make them available upon request. We are aware of the cracked mirror and it is on order. We apologize in regards to the TV. A simple call to the front desk notifying us of the issue would have had it resolved in minutes. We do not recall the issue of reduced hours for the pool any time this past week. The Spa/Jacuzzi was being repaired one day during your visit. The stack of twenty chars was set for an in house conference that was being conducted during your stay. The tent with ping pong table underneath and uncovered tables and chairs are available for all guests to enjoy during inclement weather. We do not advertise, nor do we consider ourselves, an all inclusive resort (meals and planned activities are not part of our itinerary.) We have a great play area complete with horseshoes, bocce ball, shuffle board, as well as a tennis/basketball area for all to enjoy. We offer a full service restaurant serving all three meals. As always, we welcome feedback, and consider any concerns to be a high priority.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were there this weekend also and had a wonderful visit. For us besides the Lake itself, the star of this resort is the staff. Hope the owner is aware how lucky he is to have his property run by such wonderful, and helpful people. Ashley at the front desk greeted us all with a big smile and Lynn, you look like you enjoy your job, it shows!!! The rooms are a little tired, but we were told they were working on that. We had a few rooms, some had already been done, but all were clean. We will go back, we will have our drink with Jack, the terrific bartender as we promised. Go here, drive around this beautiful lake or better yet, try to get on the lake by boat, its just beautiful. Thanks for a great time, The Sisters!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Matthew Taormino, GM of Dunham's Bay Resort extending a thank you for the kind words. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed all the resort has to offer. The staff is a crucial part of any resort and I believe, like you commented, ours is top notch. Hope you make it back soon to have that drink with Jack. Thanks again.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I booked a three night stay for my family and we were looking forward for all the "resort" had to offer. We arrived and found out that the pool would be closed for two hours due to a wedding. We went to our room which was filthy and had a horrible musty smell. We rented a two bedroom cabin and only had one tv in the living room area. It does not look like the cabin has been updated since 1970. We could not stand being in the room so we decided to venture out for a bit. We then learned that the "private beach" is not really a private beach at all. The "resort" does not own the beach and there are strict rules you must follow to use the beach. The beach is very small and the sand is covered in goose droppings. The wedding prevented us from using the pool, firepit, playground, etc. for the entire night because the tent and guests pretty much took up all the grounds. We ventured out to the village and returned around 9:45 pm to put the kids to bed (ages 1 and 5) and found that the wedding still going on. There were drunk people outside our cabin and the dj was playing extremely loud music. I went to the front desk after 10:00 because I felt it was a bit ridiculous. The manager was very rude initially but then changed her tune and offered us a free brunch for the following morning for the inconvenience. The music died down within 15 minutes of my complaint, not sure if it was a coincidence or not.

They do not maintain this place at all! My one year old refuses to keep shoes on so he was barefoot in the room most of the time. The bottom of his feet were covered in dirt from the floor. I honestly don't know how I lasted at this dump for three nights.

I don't know of anywhere else to stay in the area but can say that you should not stay here! It is way overpriced for what you get! Don't be fooled by the website like I was!

The only positives are that the staff was nice and that the brunch was good. If you are in the area it may be worth attending the brunch but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hleigh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
As new General Manager of what I consider one if the most beautiful properties in Lake George I am sorry to hear about your experience. First, let me address your wedding problem. With the popularity of Dunham's Bay Resort as a wedding destination and us hosting close to 35 weddings this year, it is a rare weekend without one. However, at the same time we always try to make sure it does not affect our transient guests to the point of disrupting their stay. We always make sure, from the time of booking through our guests stay, that we are informative and open about how we move weddings and people through the property.

Moving on to your room concerns: The sets of rooms you stayed in are affectionately know as the Jack and Jill's and will be undergoing a renovation process this fall/winter. The cleanliness of all rooms is a high priority for myself and if this issue was brought to my attention at your time of stay I would have reacted to it immediately ensuring that any problems would have been remedied immediately.

As for the beach, it is a private beach where upon we have beach rights and only our guests and those who dock their boats there are allowed to use it making it a very nice place to visit and enjoy swimming in Lake George.

As a past Food & Beverage Manager and foodie first I am gland that you enjoyed our brunch. As a fellow Long Islander I am understanding and sympathetic to your quest to come to Lake George and spend some of your vacation time with us. I hope someday soon you do get to return and enjoy all we at Dunham's Bay Resort and the Lake George area have to offer.

Regards,

Matt Taormino, HGC, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Hotel is 5 miles from downtown. Didn't need car once we got there. Shuttle driver (Andrew?) was very polite and helpful and quick to respond to our request for rides. Highly recommend this hotel because of their customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loukraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunhamsbay, Front Desk at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Glad you enjoyed our shuttle service, we had a wonderful 4th of July weekend and we hope you'll come visit us again soon! Also, thank you for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.6 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
5.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 89 in Lake George
129 reviews
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
6.5 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#16 of 89 in Lake George
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Property: Dunham's Bay Resort
Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,247 - ₹ 20,617
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing