We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management is a liar”
Review of Depe Dene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Depe Dene Resort
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
raritan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Management is a liar”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

They messed up our room. Gave us a room which was listed under another families name. The cottage we booked they said they were sorry but there is not more left. Someone made a mistake making the reservation in the system. The cottage we received was smelling and disgusting. The front desk rep said that iif we don't like our rooms we can get our refund. We booked elsewhere in that case and told them that we would like to get our refund. Then they started lying that they don't have that policy. Now we were stuck with double booking. Manager basically told the ladies to stay quiet and not say anything. We were on vacation and this is what we have to deal with. Why tell the customer that they will get their refund and then turn around charge them anyway. They gave our rooms to someone else and made their money for the nite and still charged us for it.

What nonsense? I would recommend the CrestHavenLodge which is much more prettier than Depe Dene Resort. They rates are pretty much the same.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReeseArcher, General Manager at Depe Dene Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Mr Nish P;
I distinctly remember your party because of the display they exibited in our lobby in front of children. Only when there was the threat of calling the authorities did you leave, this was the third such incident your party put on that weekend.

The fact of the matter is that you signed and accepted another guest’s cottage with a similar last name rather than paying attention to what you were signing and correcting the receptionist. We extended you the courtesy of complimentary early check in at one PM rather than three Pm because it was a beautiful day and we wanted to enhance your vacation in any means necessary. You then put all your baggage in the cottage and went out for lunch and accommodation shopping apparently. During this 5 hour span, in which you tied up our cottage on a sold out weekend, we had numerous opportunities to rent it. If you were unsatisfied with your cottage and told us when you arrived we could have re rented the unit, refunded you and everyone would have been happy. I tried to reason with your party and said I would give you a full refund if we rented that unit that night, yet you resisted any attempt to resolve this matter.

We would like to offer visitors to the area a place to store their belongings while they spend some leisure time eating lunch and bargain shopping for a room at our competitors, but unfortunately our entire season is about 90 days long so it is essential we seize every opportunity to rent our cottages.

This also is why we don’t offer refunds, when you commit to staying at our resort, we commit to providing a resort for you to stay at. In order to fulfill our end of the deal we need to generate revenue by room sales on these few precious dates of the season, therefore we cannot offer refunds when a guest has had a change of heart and wants to stay elsewhere.

As a bit of travel advice for the next time your family vacations; “Walk In” rates are typically half off the regular price,so good luck staying at the Cresthaven for the same price as the Depe Dene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    16
    11
    41
See reviews for
82
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Adirondack's are meant to be rustic. Not your 5 star luxury, hot tub in room, room service type of hotel. It is more like a camp feel. This resort will give you and your family the best of the beautiful Adirondack's. The resort has one of the most expansive lakefront beaches. There are multiple docks for fishing and parking boats. The property is huge allowing for an easy, comfortable weeks getaway. Nothing can beat this place for children- very young to teenagers. There are two playgrounds. For teenagers there are plenty places to escape and have a great private time while staying on property. For activities, it will take a week to get to all: Kayaking (free), tennis (old court),Basketball,shuffleboard,ping-pong,badminton, to name just a few. There is a beautiful, large outdoor pool with a hot tub. There are planned activities including a night time entertainment and S'mores making. The cabins are rustic but let you know you are in the mountains. My family treasures our yearly visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsue90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The most gracious staff take care of this camp like resort. There are activities for everyone from a fabulous pool,beautiful sandy beachfront with paddle boats and canoes, basketball, tennis, ping pong etc We were most impressed with the service, ask and they provide. The hills are not for the faint of heart but it's a great excuse to get some exercise in. I would certainly recommend a stay at Depe Dene

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redhead546123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

our stay didnt start off very well, we had a problem with our room that a act of nature couldnt advoid. the staff at depe denne was very helpful in the matter at hand (corey) one of the staff did his best in helping me and my family .the managment relocated us in a diffrent unit and made the rest of our stay very enjoyable. i thank them very much in helping us and would recommend to anyone in the area to stay here. once again thank you to all the staff that help us and making our vacation excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommie20NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have to say that before booking the trip, I read Trip Advisor and was skeptical about booking one of the one BR beach suites. Since my two sisters & I booked our stay pretty late, it was one of the only lakefront options available, so I took the chance. My sisters and I arrive on Thursday July 14th and I was pleasantly surprised! The beach suite was actually about 20 steps from the beach and when we opened the door it was TOTALLY clean from top to bottom. The bathroom looked recently renovated (I work in the Design & Construction business for hospitality, so I know a thing or two), the appliances looked a little old, but they all worked! There was a decent couch, a tube TV that worked, and an outdoor table/chairs. From the porch you could see Lake George and it was a very scenic view! The pool was clean, the beach was cute and there were plenty of chairs available if you did not end up at the beach after 1pm! There were grills throughout the grounds, plenty of parking, and the air conditioner cooled off the bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/living room areas. The shower had warm/hot water, enough for 3, 30 minute showers in a row! I will be back again next year, this time I will rent a family cabin earlier and take my whole family along, including the puppies, for a good time! I highly recommend this resort! I second others when they say if you are looking for a five star, full service hotel, Depe Dene is not for you. For those who want a good resort with rustic accomidations that are an authentic Lake George experience, this resort is for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shusenior2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.4 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#17 of 88 in Lake George
140 reviews
3.3 km away
Boulders Resort
Boulders Resort
#44 of 88 in Lake George
78 reviews
0.8 km away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#47 of 88 in Lake George
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
2.0 km away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#21 of 88 in Lake George
152 reviews
2.2 km away
Sun Castle Resort
Sun Castle Resort
#24 of 88 in Lake George
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depe Dene Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depe Dene Resort

Property: Depe Dene Resort
Address: 3494 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6707
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,633 - ₹ 28,688
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depe Dene Resort is an 1800's Scottish Estate situtated on 11 acres. There are 87 different cottages, townhouses, and rooms/suites along the shores of beautiful Lake George with an array of options to meet your group or family’s budget and needs. Our Resorts boasts a 270 degree view of Lake George as well as the largest, privately owned beach on Lake George with paddle boats, kayaks and row boats. The Original Estate House, built in 1860 is available, featuring 11 bedrooms, 7 1/2 baths, three Jacuzzis, a solarium as well as numerous observation decks overlooking the lake. We offer arts & craft classes for children and give parents a worry free chance to relax. New this year: Yoga classes, private Kung Fu and Self Defense class by the lake are available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Depe Dene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depe Dene Hotel Lake George
Depe Dene Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing