We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place - but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place - but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Being an avid Hampton Inn customer, I am generally pleased with the hotel. Nice rooms and staff, as expected Now the "BUT" - One would think the staff would know better than to place a valued frequent traveler on the TRAIN side of the building. Yes - train, running behind the hotel with horn blaring and all! Constantly! Sleeping here was a challenge!

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room on the front side of the building - AWAY from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekinidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    210
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
279
216
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Every good thing written about this property is totally true. The staff, location, breakfast, cookies, pool, excercise room, hot tea, comfy bed, clean bathrooms...everything is as advertised. The place was packed w/ skiers when I stayed there and it was a bit noisy and you could hear the train, but I always pack earplugs so no worries here!

Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is away from train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HogFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 2 days at the end of Feb 2012. We were greeted by smiling and friendly faces. The staff is excellent. We were visiting Hunter Mountain and decided to stay here vs to the smaller but closer hotels. This hotel is in a great location, everything is around you, walmart, Olive garden, taco bell, mcdonalds, movie theater, cvs etc all within walking distance.

The room was spotless. The kids loved the fact that they had hot chocolate and cookies available all the time. (Cookies ran out when a Chinese family took all at once!) My wife used the gym and although it was small, it was enough for a short stay. The pool was very warm and clean. Plenty of towels available and 2 inflatable balls that the kids played with. Very nice setup.

Keep in mind Hunter Mountain is about 45 min away but I would rather stay here and make the drive than stay at one of the closer hotels. This hotel also offered a pretty nice breakfast. The breakfast staff were so friendly. Normally the breakfast staff at other hotels are miserable but here they were very nice.

I rated the overall hotel etc 4 out of 5 stars. The deserve the 5 stars but 2 things lowered the score.
1. The internet went out. I tried everything to connect and was unable to. I can understand if it goes out for an hour or so but it went out the entire afternoon and night! Unfortunately we had to cut the trip one day short because of this. I took a last minute vacation with the kids so I had to finish a few hours work while they were asleep but after I could not connect, we had to leave the next morning. We were there for 2 days and did a lot.

2. Powdered eggs. I can't stand powdered eggs and they use it there. I wish they used real eggs but everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonynyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stay here every year while skiing in the Catskills and although it is a drive to any mountain, it is definitely worth it! The rooms look new and clean, the staff is very helpful, the breakfast was bountiful, and this time we got the enjoy the manager's cocktail party! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed over President's weekend. I was looking for a clean place to sleep after skiing. We were blown away by the hospitality and cleanliness. The bathrooms were spotless. The fireplace in the lobby inviting. The complementary breakfast buffet was excellent. My daughter loved the pool. The location provides easy access to restaurants, convenience stores and even a movie theatre. The daily trek to Windham was much longer than I expected but coming back to this hotel made the commute worth it.

Room Tip: There is a nearby train (Amtrak?) which runs somewhere behind the hotel. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlm211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 km away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
11.9 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
13.3 km away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Property: Hampton Inn Kingston
Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,523 - ₹ 13,296
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing