We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
52
57
54
52
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
57
54
52
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hudson valley beautiful lobby minnewaska state park labor day weekend attendees catskill
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Remember that smell when you walked into your grandparents house as a child? That musty scent we could only attribute to mothballs? I think. I've never actually smelled a mothball individually but it seems to be the odor most popular when describing Nanny & Grandpa's abodes.

Then you're in for a treat. This place has it emanating through its entire existence. Even when you step outside, the weeping willows give off a faint smell.

The lobby resembles the sales floor of Bob's Discount Furniture, scattered living room setups which I can only imagine are for when Tom Jones comes to town or better yet, Antiques Roadshow.

The rooms are adorned with a lovely array of 1980's style steakhouse wood, green leather chairs, ornery lamps and yes, even a maroon carpet to tie it all together. My favorite was the bedspread, black and gold...an obvious nod to Georgia Tech or the New Orleans Saints.

If you're not a planner like I am and wait till the afternoon of to book a hotel in upstate New York on Labor Day weekend, then this is the place!

Two stars from this chap as over-gaudiness can lead to cool points, especially for those millennial hipsters in Williamsburg. This place is so un-cool it should be filled to the brim with fedoras, skinny jeans and conquistador mustaches looking to make it their homes permanently.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Berry_Waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

The hotel is outdated but the staff was great. I stayed for a while on a work trip, literally the only guest in the building. Really creepy. Wouldn't stay again just because of that, but i did loooove my room when they put me in the suites.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rnice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

outside: beautiful grounds, with a nice outdoor pool, nice playground for the kids, breath-taking views (only 1 side of the building). inside: lobby, old grandma style sofa's and furniture pieces, decent and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jklein2534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I must say.. Once upon a time, there must be very popular, and tons of guests at this place Hudson Valley Resort and Spa. I felt that some kind of the history from the gigantic HOTEL building, BUT not enough Oldness. Stayed 1 over night for one week ago. No restaurant open at night or hardly day time. Only Breakfast. Come with free breakfast, Coffee or Tea horrible. Hotel room - it was okay for One night. things that you need were there in the room. Its like one of those MOTEL type of hotel here. Ice machine was NOT working. You hardly meet Anybody while you are walking through this Hotel Building. Very Spooky. Its like reminding me of sense of the movie "Shining" Outdoor and Indoor Swimming Pool - it was okay, it was clean. Gym - old machine with rust and some of them not working properly. Game Room- Arcade Classics Machine were there, had a fun. I just felt sorry - how they can keep running like this.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LuluMiuMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Went to this place for a few years until we just couldn't deal with it.
The place hasn't been upgraded in years!
Lobby furniture and carpeting is as old as the hills!
Indoor pool is disgusting!
Miniature golf is run down and shoddy.
Needs a larger and cleaner playground.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RonniS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews