We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
52
57
54
52
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
57
54
52
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hudson valley beautiful lobby minnewaska state park labor day weekend attendees catskill
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I must say.. Once upon a time, there must be very popular, and tons of guests at this place Hudson Valley Resort and Spa. I felt that some kind of the history from the gigantic HOTEL building, BUT not enough Oldness. Stayed 1 over night for one week ago. No restaurant open at night or hardly day time. Only Breakfast. Come with free breakfast, Coffee or Tea horrible. Hotel room - it was okay for One night. things that you need were there in the room. Its like one of those MOTEL type of hotel here. Ice machine was NOT working. You hardly meet Anybody while you are walking through this Hotel Building. Very Spooky. Its like reminding me of sense of the movie "Shining" Outdoor and Indoor Swimming Pool - it was okay, it was clean. Gym - old machine with rust and some of them not working properly. Game Room- Arcade Classics Machine were there, had a fun. I just felt sorry - how they can keep running like this.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LuluMiuMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Went to this place for a few years until we just couldn't deal with it.
The place hasn't been upgraded in years!
Lobby furniture and carpeting is as old as the hills!
Indoor pool is disgusting!
Miniature golf is run down and shoddy.
Needs a larger and cleaner playground.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RonniS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We booked this hotel based on a video on their web site. Upon arriving and seeing 3 cars in a parking lot that holds hundreds should have told me something. At check in we were met by Jodi who could not have been nicer. asked about the restaurants and were told there were none. [website states 2]. Indoor pool was closed and had been for awhile. We went to our room and had a wonderful view of the mountains. That is the only good thing I can say about room. Wallpaper peeling, stains on carpet, flies and other bugs on window sill and in bathroom. the golf course and the miniature golf both were overgrown with weeds and had not been available possibly for years. You can see that at one time this was the place to stay. The grounds were at one time beautiful and could be made to be beautiful again. DON'T BELIEVE THEIR WEBSITE VIDEO. They should be made to take it down. I am very sorry to write this negative review.
Thanks
Don

Room Tip: Higher floor at end of hallway will offer best view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Valley Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the details of your visit to our property. We apologize if your experience did not live up to your personal expectations and we regret if we failed to live up to our own standards of excellence during your stay.

The Hudson Valley Resort is a historic property. The Catskills region was once a popular vacation destination, and a great number of grand resorts were built to accommodate the millions of travelers who came each year to enjoy the peaceful natural setting and majestic mountain scenery.

But times have changed, and in recent years tourism to the region has declined significantly. We've watched the river of travelers which once flowed to the Catskills slow to a trickle, and many of the grand old resorts have been forced to shutter their doors.

We’re proud to carry on the great Catskills tradition, however, and we work hard to ensure that each of our guests has an exceptional experience. As one of the few golden era Catskill resorts remaining in operation, we’re faced with the tremendous challenge of maintaining an enormous property built to accommodate many times more guests than the number of travelers we see today.

We still accommodate tens of thousands of visitors each year, of course, and the overwhelming majority of our guests truly enjoy their time with us. We love being able to provide our loyal guests with an enjoyable stay for a great value, and we are proud to be here to serve them.

Despite what you suggest in your review, I can assure you that our resort is continually maintained and improved. Do a few minor problems escape our careful eye from time to time? Undoubtedly. With more than 270 guestrooms and 40,000 square feet of public areas we encourage our guests to report any deficiencies they may encounter during their stay so that our maintenance team can quickly remedy the situation.

We work hard to constantly improve our property and to provide an exceptional experience. It is regretful that you did not allow us the opportunity to address your concerns while you were with us so that we could help make the most of your stay.

We have reviewed the video you mentioned in your review and we cannot agree that it misrepresents our property. While it does show images of our golf course- which is currently closed for the season- the other images are accurate, recent, and reflect the resort at it's best.

We do deeply regret any misunderstanding about the lack of restaurants on our property- despite what you state in your review we do not advertise the availability of any dining options on our website and we would be very interested to learn where you got the impression that meals would be available.

We also sincerely apologize that our indoor pool was unavailable during your recent visit due to circumstance beyond our control. However, this temporary closure is clearly stated on our website and was discussed with you when you booked your stay so we do regret if you arrived expecting it to be open.

We're sorry that there was a misunderstanding regarding the availability of our miniature golf course; while you state that it has not been available for years this is simply inaccurate. Guests are welcome to enjoy the course at their leisure, and balls and putters are available upon request.

We would have welcomed the opportunity to assign you to another room if you had expressed your concerns with us during your visit; while we appreciate you reporting this information in your review, there is very little we can do to remedy your dissatisfaction after the fact.

While your experience with our property may not have met your personal expectations, we do hope that you will choose to return. We would welcome the opportunity to show you just how enjoyable and affordable a visit to the Hudson Valley Resort can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

It was like visiting your 90 year old aunt. The furnishings are tired , clean and full of nostalgia. The staff was terrific. We had a tower room with great view. The full breakfast only on weekend was excellent. Kudos to The 2 cooks who did the omelettes . Pool closed. But jacuzzi in spa was clean and works. Convenient to Mohonk Preserve and great farm stands. Hotel provides list of area restaurants. 22 min. from New Paltz on 45/55. 10 min from Ellenville

Stayed: October 2017
5  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Valley Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the details of your visit to our property. It was a pleasure having you visit and we're thrilled that you found our property convenient. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My wife and I stayed here on a Sunday and Monday trip. The hotel is a great central location for touring around the Catskill Mountains. We traveled up to Hudson and Coxsackie and went down to the Liberty area. We enjoyed a lovely room on the top floor of the Tower with a spotless, comfortable bed, a clean bathroom, and a spectacular mountain view from our window. One morning the hotel provided a tasty breakfast bar with. delicious ."made to order omelets" in the View Room. I used the Jacuzzi, the sauna, and steam room twice to relax, but didn't get time to use the fitness center. The indoor pool was closed for renovation. The front-desk staff is excellent. We recommend tourists give this resort a try; it is an older hotel trying hard to offer good services at a reasonable price. We are looking forward to the planned renovations to this hotel, and we look forward to another Catskill Mountain trip to this resort hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Swimmered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Valley Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the details of your visit to our property; we loved having you visit! We're glad that you found our central location convenient to your local destinations and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews