We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful!

WAnt to go back and spend time there besides just looking from the bridge. We didn't have time to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
love2quilt2
,
Lucedale, Mississippi
Amazing scenery and a pleasant raft ride

Enjoyed the hiking and the scenery. The raft was ride a nice pleasant break. We took the package... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
runwiz
,
MD
Read all 963 reviews
  
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
546
290
78
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
546
290
78
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adventure trail inner sanctum classic tour grand canyon afraid of heights walking trails ropes course rainbow falls gift shop beautiful scenery yellow trail lantern tour visitor center boat ride lake george rafting rapids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The scenery was absolutely beautiful. We did the classic tour which was great for my tween girls. They enjoyed taking pictures of all the water falls and also of Elephant Rock. The one downside was the long wait for the raft to take us down the River. That was nice but it was a short ride. Definitely wear water shoes as you will get wet. I would not recommend going tubing here. The water did not look clean and there were no currents so a lot of the tubers got stuck. Overall, my family and I had a great day and fun experience. I would recommend doing this activity if you are in Lake George, although it is over an hour away.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank honesttraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Having fond memories of hiking and rafting the chasm (from about 10 years prior) we took the family (an hour drive) It was awful. We waited 45 minutes to get tickets (it was not even a weekend) and had to bail on including the raft ride, when we found out that once we were done hiking to the raft area, it was going to be another 75 minute wait! That’s for a 1 mile raft ride. At least we did not pay for the rafting. (We knew to ask for hike only tickets - they were not advertised). Other people paid for the rafting (or thought there was no other option) and decided not to wait. They were understaffed, overpriced, and allowing larger crowds than they could handle. I know this is a Covid world, but so many places are using timed reservations to help with these issues. This was just plain unacceptable.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Wdarminio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Ausable Chasm has stunning scenery, but you could see that in many other places for free across New York State.

Overall, woefully understaffed. Some of the workers were only 14 years old, clearly inexperienced. We waited an hour for river rafting, and they loaded only two boats in that time frame. We left at that point, knowing it would be another 1-2 hours. Based on our previous rafting experience, we knew it wouldn't be worth it.

Ausable Chasm isn't cheap. Waste of your time and money.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We were visiting Lake George and decided to go further north for a lovely 1.5 drive to the Ausable Chasm. I’ve never been there and it was a great adventure! We took the classic tour and added the River Walk. The RiverWalk includes two cable bridges over the river, walk along the river and along pathways on the side of the Chasm.

I am not the world’s most adventurous person and I really enjoyed it! At the end of the Riverwalk, we waited 45 minutes for a rafting experience. It was a truly cool experience floating through the walls of the chasm and down some minor rapids. The water level, however, was quite low and our raft and others we observed got stuck in the rapids. We were able get dislodged but it was a scary few moments. We opted to walk back through the well marked trails with another couple we met rafting. The walk back is approximately 2.5 miles. All in all, it was a great day!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank michelegreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Photos do not do this place justice, go see it in person. We did the rafting float tour, our guide, RJ was awesome. He seemed to really know his stuff. My husband and teens did the Adventure trail and enjoyed it. We stayed at the campground for a couple of nights, which was convenient for going back and forth to the chasm. The campground was clean and beautiful. Wish we had bikes with us for the camper trails. We did not have phone service in most of the area, but it was a nice change to unplug for a bit.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank melis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews