We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana deep in the wilderness...”
Review of Johns Brook Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Johns Brook Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed at JBL for the third straight summer (fifth time overall), and thoroughly enjoyed it... as always! The location is fantastic, with access to multiple hiking trails of all levels and a lovely brook steps from the lodge. The staff are always welcoming and professional, despite (or maybe because of) their youth. And the meals are remarkably good for 5km into the woods (the salmon we were served after our Haystack climb was incredibly delicious, not only because we had just spent 11 hours hiking, but because it was beautifully flavoured and cooked medium!) You may be sleeping on bunk beds, possibly in the company of strangers, but this is a very special place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This hut is great for the hikers. There is a lot of trails from there, the lodge is clean and have basic facilites. Of course this is a mountain hut so you there are some rules like quite hours at 10pm etc. But it's standard for hikers who wants to get up early and git the trail. The only minus are the toilets. There are only 2 for 28 people so sometimes it's getting busy. Also you can get there passing through the big room so whoever wants to use it and sleeps in the small room has to go through the big room very often waking up others. I love the porch!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank id M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Bobby, Meredith and the team there were simply amazing. Sweet, professional, helpful ... and great cooks.

Our group of 12 from Ottawa-Gatineau could not have asked for more.

Amazing location, right on the Phelps trail (no. 1), saving us 3.5 miles x 2 = 7 miles off our Marcy hike.

Cannot beive the gluten free options were not just "ok", but better than the regular meals. Hard to find that in even a high-end restaurant!

What elae can I say? The crew was amazing. How can we not go back?

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jean-Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Please note that JBL is NOT a hotel. It is a 3.5 mile walk with 700 feet of elevation gain along a trail to a cabin in the woods. But this is no ordinary cabin -- as during the summer seasons, you will have three meals a day cooked for you and you will have access to some of the best trails and high peaks that New York has to offer!

Again - the JBL is NOT a hotel. You will receive a bunk among others who have received bunks. But then, all you are doing here is sleeping, because the chances are that you will be hiking during the days -- Gothics, Haystack/Basin/Saddleback, Marcy, or any of the other high peaks in this area.

Having running water and lights makes this a luxury cabin in the woods, and the staff are phenomenal! While I was there, I was on the porch, relaxing after a day of hiking the peaks, and one of the young ladies who works at the lodge came strolling up with a pack on larger than two or three of my packs! She flipped it off, hung it up on the scale, and marked the weight down at 72 pounds! And she was proud of the fact that she had made the trek from the Garden in a personal best time of just over an hour. Holy crap!!! Yes, everything that is cooked is humped in by the staff, which makes the food even THAT much better.

The ADK (Adirondak Mountain Club) has done a fantastic job with it high level of service in such a remote area.

Room Tip: Best Views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

My two daughters and I recently spent 3 days/2 nights at the Johns Brook Lodge. It is about a 3.5 mile hike from the Garden parking area in Keene Valley, NY. We used it as a base camp during our hike to Mt. Marcy. The lodge is very nice and clean. The cost of your stay includes a hot breakfast and dinner and a bag lunch. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of all the trails and peaks in the area. The food that was cooked up and served by Bobby was great. The main room of the lodge is spacious and comfortable.They have books about the Adirondaks, board games, maps of the area and a small store. For guests they have freee coffee, tea, hot chocolate and lemonade. The lodge has two bathrooms, each one has a pit toilet and two sinks. There are no showers, but we took a dip to rinse off in the chilly Johns Brook on the return from our hikes. We stayed in one of the family bunk rooms and found it very comfortable for the three of us. The lodge also has a great porch with lots of chairs. A great place to sit and just enjoy the scenery. If you plan on hiking in the Adirondacks and climbing their peaks, the Johns Brook Lodge is the place you need to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Johns Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johns Brook Lodge

Address: Interbrook Road, 3.5 Miles From Garden Parking Lot, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Keene Valley
Price Range: ₹ 2,115 - ₹ 4,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Adirondack High Peaks, Johns Brook Lodge (JBL) is the only backcountry lodge in the Adirondacks. JBL is accessible by a 3.5 mile foot trail from the Garden parking area in Keene Valley, NY. JBL sleeps 28, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and is open from May through October. Proceeds from JBL help support the Adirondack Mountain Club's mission of protecting and promoting responsible recreation on New York State wild lands and waters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing