We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Of Johnson City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were with a group of (HOG) riders and had arrived around 10 pm, it had been a long day and we all just wanted some dinner and a cold drink. After checking in we went to a nearby restaurant and got back to our room around midnight. A quick shower and a good night sleep was all we wanted but after getting into bed I noticed my wife had sunk into a deep depression on the one side. I called down to the front desk to let them know we had an issue but it was just too late to attempt to switch rooms (not that it was offered).

The sheets were pilled up and the comforter smelled like some unpleasant things had happened on it. We both tried to sleep on the one side but the bottom line was it wasn't a good night. The next morning I spoke to the lady at the front desk but there was little she could do and since it was a holiday weekend no one else was around. I quietly voiced my issues and waited for several days for a response from the manager which never came.

I finally emailed BW head office hoping they would get involved. I then got an email from the hotel, it was appologetic but basically said they didn't see anything wrong and wanted me to come back for another night? Yeah right, if the food is bad at a restaurant do you go back for another taste just to see if it still tastes bad??

I was hoping they would have at least offered me some kind of a token for the bad night we had but nothing, not even from the head office. I guess they don't realise that the customer is always right and even if they're not you make them feel like they are don't tell them they are liars. Too bad for them since we just finished planning a ride to New Orleans and there isn't one BW in the stops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneNHez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Room was exactly what it should be for the price... clean and quiet. Mike at the front desk was super professional and polite. Location is excellent with shopping, restaurants, etc. all around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cndnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at this Best Western for two nights. The first night a party spilled over from the function room to the hallways and lobby. The hotel had no control of these guests although a police detail was present. Guests where drinking alcohol in all the common areas, being loud, and banging on guest room doors.This went on for over three hours before the hotel had the detail police officer break up the party at around 3:30am. We requested a refund for the night but where told we would have to wait until the morning and speak to a manager. Although I had left a message that night for the General Manager to call me in the morning I never received a call. I was told by the front desk manager that we would be credited for the night. I have since contacted Best Western corporate and requested a refund for our entire two night stay.
This hotel is average at best and there are many other choices in the area.

Room Tip: Red Roof Inn is close by and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Can a hotel really be 'pet friendly' as this one advertises itself, then stick guests and their dog into smokey stinky rooms? We arrived the evening of January 2 after booking in advance. We turned down the first two rooms they offered as the smell of stale smoke was totally unacceptable. We were just about to leave and find something else when we were offered a non smoking room on the fourth floor. When we opened the door, we realize we had been misled---this one stunk too. As we were very tired after a long day's driving, we decided to stick it out. I am sorry we didn't make more fuss as everything we owned stunk of cigarettes when we checked out the next morning. The dog actually left smelling bad too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternJC, Manager at Best Western Plus Of Johnson City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

In response to "This hotel is not for the dogs" and as a represenative of the Best Western of Johnson City I want to kindly say that offering pet friendly accomodations is a tricky situation. We value all of our guests from the dog lovers to the allergy stricken. As it happens to be the policy at the Best Western of Johnson City we offer pet friendly rooms and also offer allergy free rooms (meaning from pet allergies and smoke allergies). So, the rooms are alloted in a manner where the designated non-smoking rooms remain allergy free and we do not allow pets in these rooms. The pet rooms are then available only in designated smoking rooms. I understand that this situation does not appeal to all pet owners and perhaps we can designate a selection of non-smoking rooms as pet friendly. Our goal is to ensure our guests a satisfying experience and therefore we would be happy to offer a nonsmoking pet friendly room upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Since my last review we made our pilgrimage to visit my wife's parents and I think the lovely manager at this hotel (Coleen) must have read my previous review as we were pleasantly surprised to see their new breakfast room. Originally this was a converted ground floor bedroom and much too small, but they have now knocked together two rooms and done a great makeover of decor and servery to also offer better hot fayre (eggs, bacon and sausage) as well as french toast. Seating available is now 3 or 4 times more than original and I think the coffee tastes even better - especially with the hazlenut creamer! The bedlinen is of better quality (although it has always been good) and the new shower curtain with rail that curves away from you makes a good improvement to the problem of a wet curtain sticking when moving around. Well done BWJC!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engraver124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnson City
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Binghamton Johnson City
3.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Binghamton
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Of Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Of Johnson City

Address: 569 Harry L Dr, Johnson City, NY 13790-1470 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS of Johnson City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range: ₹ 5,429 - ₹ 7,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Of Johnson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS of Johnson City where guests will find friendly customer service, comfortable accommodations and convenient access to key attractions in south central New York. Located in the Tri Cities area, this Johnson City hotel features spacious, well-appointed guest rooms each equipped with pillow top beds, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full hot breakfast and be able to enjoy a drink with friends in the evening at the onsite cocktail lounge. Guests have access to the adjacent health club featuring state-of-the-art fitness equipment and an indoor swimming pool. This Tri Cities area hotel also features business services and meeting/banquet facilities. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Of Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Johnson City Hotel Johnson City
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing