We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Have Been Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could Have Been Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed one night. Did not realize upon booking that our room would be located in an outdoor hallway in a very noisy location. Hotel website pictures online are misleading. If booking here try to stay in the tower where the more updated rooms are located. This was very overpriced for what we paid for. Room did not even have a fridge. Very uncomfortable pillows with paper thin walls. Only plus was the indoor pool and hotel is located in a great location, within walking distance to downtown Ithaca commons.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    135
    123
    87
    70
See reviews for
150
112
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have stayed in several hotels in Ithaca although this was our first stay at the Holiday Inn. I had read earlier reviews on this site and was hoping to report a good experience, but I cannot. Our room was in the main building - right across from the ice machine. Bedding was inside out, ill fitting and thin, with the sheet directly on the uncovered mattress. I was told that none of the hotels in Ithaca use mattress pads. We requested a room change and were given a room in the Tower. This was much better - complete with mattress pads - and bedding that actually fit the bed. Quieter and cleaner. If you want a downtown location and Holiday Inn is your only choice, insist on a room in the tower.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We got this hotel using Hotwire's mystery hotel service, so it was about $160/night. I had read the reviews, so wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. Even though we were in the main building, the room looked clean and was tastefully decorated. Awesome front desk people and we found people in Ithaca were generally nice and friendly. I was impressed with how nice everyone was and we're from the south. That being said, we had a few nitpicks. It would have been nice if the coffee condiment packs had two packets of sugar instead of just one. Though only a small number of hotels have this, it would have been nice if there were a pullout clothes line over the tub, especially to hang dry bathing suits. The wi-fi quit working on our last morning and the tech line was busy the three times I called. Other than these, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begrateful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

On a recent trip through the Upper State, NY, we were forced to park the bike and wait out torrential rain and flooding. We chose Ithaca and stayed at the downtown Holiday Inn. The property is in a great location, just off the Ithaca Commons where you can find excellent restaurants, interesting shops, the public library, a theatre and other attractions. Both Cornell University and Ithaca College are nearby. The hotel is characterized by two wings - a new, completely refurbished multi-floor wing and the "old wing". Upon checking in, the front desk offered us a room in the new wing, but my wife said we would prefer to be closer to our bike in the back parking lot. Her request assured a place in the old wing (not my preference but I have been taught not to question her judgement in these matters). I mention old versus new wings because there is definitely a difference in quality. The old wing is on the first floor and clearly shows its' age. It was clean but the hallway carpert was a bit worn and there was a slight musty odor (of course, this could have been due, in part, to all of the rain). By contrast, I took a look at the new wing and was very impressed. If you have a choice, request the new wing and you won't be disappointed. My only gripe with the room was, of all things, the pillows. Like other Holiday Inns, they put pillows on the beds marked "hard" and "soft" to give each person their choice. However, we found these pillows to be so thick that it was a bit tough to get comfortable. We both worked at pounding our pillows to get them a bit flatter. Still, all in all, this is a nice property in a great location and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CycleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011


I was in town for a friend's wedding and missed out on their reserved block of rooms. The holiday inn was a fine alternative located square in downtown Ithaca. Clean rooms and helpful staff helped. Only downside was the price was higher than I am used to for a holiday inn, especially in a small place like Ithaca.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.2 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.6 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Property: The Hotel Ithaca
Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,294 - ₹ 21,927
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing