We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ahh....nice....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ahh....nice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I visited the spa with a friend on a rainy Sunday. We did not stay at the resort as my friend is a local. The spa has a separate entrance, which is easy to find. Upon entry, there are a set of stairs and it's very quiet and still, which sets you in the mood for a relaxing time until you try to find the right door. I opened a door that I believe was for facials by mistake (glad no one was being served at the time!). After figuring out the right entrance, we were greeted well, our appointments were confirmed, we were provided robes and slippers, and information to prepare for our services.

The ladies changing area contained a restroom, lockers and changing bench, sauna/steam closet and showers. There were small touches that were quite important. The lockers allowed clients to choose their own codes. There was fresh ice and water available as well as scented soaps and lotions (their specialty brands).

When we emerged, a selection of people were lined along the walls, which made us feel a bit special. Sort of like "...all of you...for us...? How flattering." We identified ourselves and the massage therapists identified themselves and led us to our rooms. I received a Swedish massage, which was good. The lotion used was out of this world relaxing and smelled heavenly! I have had many massages over the years and the routine is the same, but the people at the La Tourelle spa were really nice and solicitous.

After the message, we went into one of two post-service relaxation rooms - one has a fireplace and the other a waterfall effect. I chose the fireplace room. The room was cozy on a rainy day. A selection of teas and hot water was available as were magazines. The contoured loungers were a nice touch with blankets at the end to cover your feet.

Overall, someone paid a lot of attention to details, which makes this a great option for spa services.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    125
    30
    25
    9
See reviews for
93
223
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited this resort for a night with another couple at the beginning of July. Both of our husbands went to school in Ithaca, so we are very familiar with the area. The rooms at the Inn exceeded my expectations and featured fireplaces, air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, refrigerators, well appointed bathrooms stocked with samples, and a small balcony (ours faced the parking lot but our friends' faced the lovely backyard and pond). The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on, and I didn't even miss my own pillow. The lobby has coffee and a little bar set up - which apparently they offer wine at certain times. We didn't have breakfast on site, but we did have dinner at their steakhouse which was delicious with lovely service. The workout room is quite small and the machines are a bit outdated (the treadmill had a mind of its own)...but we toured the spa and it was quite charming and would be a great destination with a bunch of girlfriends. While not as new/grand as Mirbeau...I think this is a lovely alternative for a getaway at a much more reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancergirlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had to book a trip last minute and needed a place to stay in Ithaca on a very busy summer Saturday. La Tourelle was more expensive than I had wanted to pay, but now that I'm no longer a starving college student it was nice to stay there for a night. The room was quiet and a decent size (Toulouse room). It seemed like a wedding was taking place while we were there so I was afraid we'd have party noise, but it was very peaceful. We loved listening to the frogs at night. I didn't think we'd need the fireplace in July, but we turned it on to get the chill off from the AC and it was pleasant. The bathroom amenities were fine (all the usuals, plus tooth paste and mouth wash), and the bathroom was a nice size.

I really liked the short story they left, written by the owner of the hotel. Nice touch!

Best of all was there was a note in the hotel guidebook that if we wanted to hike from the hotel down to lower Buttermilk, they'd come pick us up. The hike down was a bit longer than anticipated, but the ride back was greatly appreciated!

Only negative: the Wi-fi wasn't great - it kept dropping out, especially when near the window.

Room Tip: Toulouse was a nice room, but the balcony is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

This place is a real treat. A great setting, short walk to the Upper Buttermilk Falls, beautifully landscapped with gazebos and a cool outdoor chessboard. Simply Red Bistro is great for both breakfast and lunch. The best part of La Tourelle though is the staff. We interacted with at least 8 different staff and to a person they were warm, accommodating, pleasant folks. Everyone of them thanked us for choosing their hotel...a unique experience these days. We'll definitely return!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg3802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Grounds are beautiful with ponds and hiking trails. This funky small hotel has friendly owners and staff. Decor is tired but rooms and views are veery good. Stay here for a warm non-corporate atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuraigolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
9.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
5.3 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
4.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa

Property: La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Address: 1150 Danby Rd, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850-9406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#8 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,624 - ₹ 18,452
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca
La Tourelle Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing