We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in a nice town”
Review of Inn on Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Columbia
Ranked #3 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Inn in October (IC's homecoming) in the Villa Madeline on Aurora. The room was super comfortable with a big en suite bathroom. Breakfast included muffins, fruit, yogurt, and scones in a ribboned box with a cheerful "Good mornin!" on the label. The house was very convenient to the Commons and the rest of downtown (10 minute walk?) and a very short drive up the hill to Ithaca College. Kenn had great suggestions for dinner and exploring. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient.

One tip: Columbia Street had no street sign. Pay attention to the street names before and after to find it.

Room Tip: The Blue room at Villa Madeline faces Aurora St. Steady traffic and lots of afterhours foot traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofumidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

By far one of the nicest places to stay in Ithaca. We have stayed with Ken and Madeline several times we discovered their beautiful B&B when our daughter attended Ithaca College. We just a lovely weekend at one of their properties. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is fresh and lovely. Within walking distance of downtown. A short drive to any of the attractions in the greater Ithaca area. I could not recommend them more highly.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank mserdikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this BNB on our trip to Upstate NY. This inn is in a great location. Me and my husband actually considered the breakfasts we had here as some of the best food we had on this trip. We were given options to choose from. All the fruits and juices were fresh and local. Our room and bathroom were a great size. The inn is serious about conserving energy so all of their light switches are on timers - some might find this a bit annoying. The house itself is very lovely. The inn keepers are knowledgeable about the area attraction and restaurants. Their recommendations were always spot on. I would def. recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebrisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have stayed with Kenn and Madeline Young at several of the inn's locations and have always been comfortable and well attended. This particular trip was a family vacation to attend my daughter's graduation. Booking was accomodated with efficiency and attention to the ease and delight of our stay: restaurant suggestions and even an offer to make reservations, directions and details of some of the beautiful hikes around Ithaca. The Inn on Columbia and the warm reception of the innkeepers make this a destination to repeat over and over.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naysayer1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were looking for a place to stay, with doggy, to help break up our drive home from Vermont and Ithaca seemed to fit the bill. The Inn on Columbia advertised on their web site as "Dog-Friendly", so we gave them a call and were booked into The Cottage, one of their satellite properties for one night. We arrived a little early and found our hosts very friendly and accommodating and indeed, dog-friendly. We were given check-in instructions, maps of the area, and even dog-friendly restaurant recommendations. Altogether, a very fine welcome.

"Pluses" of this property include proximity to shops and restaurants, great bath, very comfortable bed, a degree of privacy, adequate kitchen, and some interesting architectural features. The continental breakfast was what was advertised, so no surprises there. We agree with another contributor that the bathroom mirror situation is less than optimal and we found the trendy track lighting to be pretty non-functional, giving everything in the cottage a rather dingy cast. My partner also tripped on the sofa platform and hurt his ankle, but we found the sofa quite comfortable to curl up on. While we didn't mind taking out our own trash and cleaning up after ourselves in the kitchen, we weren't as keen on the crumbs in the toaster oven or stained tacky dining table; maybe it's a special piece (?), but I thought it was kind of gross. Our stay took place during a very hot period and while the cottage's air conditioner helped, but it wasn't what I'd call superb cooling.
The only other drawback is the cottage is located on a very busy and noisy street and even with windows closed, sleeping was difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KASCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.4 km away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.5 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
513 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
0.4 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5734
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: ₹ 12,677 - ₹ 13,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn on Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing