We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
76
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews get away comfortable stay beach area fire pit enjoy your stay floating dock within walking distance minute drive julie wilsons cabin adirondacks kentucky mountains kayaking sidewalk camp
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My husband and I love the ADK so it was an easy decision to take our mini-moon there. We picked Nelson's Cottages for their high ratings and it did not disappoint. The cottage was very clean, tidy and quaint; perfect for a little getaway after our wedding. The cottage did not come with a toaster but we managed okay. The cottages are located next to the Fourth Lake boat launch so I imagine in the peak of summer it can be quite noisy but for fall it was peaceful. I would suggest bringing a memory foam type mattress to put on the bed because it was very hard for me. I would recommend Nelson's Cottages in the future; Ken, Linda and Julie were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The cottage was neat, clean, close to mountain trails, hiking, Inlet, Old Forge & everything that the Adironadacks offers. Fortunately we were told to bring our own toaster since the camp has none, but we were informed in all of the literature that the camp has Wifi, which is not true. This is a good place for a bare bones vacation! If you would like a place that gets Wifi, has a television, phone reception or a toaster this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papajoe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie N, Owner at Nelson's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We are always sad and disappointed to hear that guests may not have enjoyed their time at Nelson's Cottages. We are sorry if that is how you feel. With regards to the internet, the only place we have any information listed is on our website. Our website states:

"We also offer free internet access on the property. It may or may not be available in your cottage, depending on the location of your cottage."

That information has been on the website for several years now. No where in our brochure or informational letters do we state that we offer internet access in the cottages. On our "Welcome to Nelson's" board at the office it states "Wifi works best closest to the office."

In addition we have struggled all summer with our internet provider and had them out to the property various times to work on increasing and improving speed and access. We have purchased wifi extenders, cell phone boosters and other equipment in order to improve the internet and cellphone services at Nelson's Cottages. We are in the process of switching to a different provider, purchasing additional wifi extenders that attach to the roofs and Ethernet cable which we will hard wire to cabins to further improve the experience. We understand internet access is important in this day and age and are always working to improve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We were in the area for the Raquette Lake Navigation dinner cruise ( highly recommended) and needed a place to stay for one night. The Nelson cottage was just fine. Our cottage was probably the smallest but cozy and comfortable. Julie was was very friendly and accommodating. Only downside, no wifi at our cottage; maybe that's an upside.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Nelsons is amazing place if you love liad back, nice people with beautiful scenery! I brought my now fiance to the Adirondacks and proposed to her right down the street and this is where we stayed all weekend. It was a clean, properly maintained property in which the owners make you feel like family. We actually stayed in the smallest cottage on the lot but considering we love the outdoors and they provide kayaks we had an amazing time. If you like to spend more time inside there is bigger cottages to accomodate you. The owners were even nice enough to buy us a bottle of wine for our engagement dinner. Thank you Ken and Linda and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Amazing lake views and access
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ccwojcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The place is very laid back and relaxing. We were able to get a cottage for one night during Labor Day weekend which is not easy to do in that area. The bedroom was small, the bathroom even smaller - the toilet rocked and the sink was slanted forward, the shower was small and in the morning after getting wet and soaping up, the water came out in a trickle for about 10 minutes. Please place is old. The beach is small, but everyone is friendly, if we stayed for more than one night I would have stayed in one of the larger cottages

Room Tip: we stayed in Tennessee - plus was that it was close to the office so we could get wifi - the farther away you are no wifi
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews