We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charm, wonderful experience.”
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Charm, wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Wife and I had a marvelous experience. Chuck (the innkeeper) goes to great pains to make sure your experience is what you expect and more. He takes great pride, as he should, in the grounds he immaculately maintains, and the comfort and style of the rooms in this 1904 restored home.
I grew up in Hunter and returned for a 45th high school reunion! This was so memorable in that I remember this home long before it was a B and B and even knew, quite well, the family that summered here!
Oh yes, we had omelets specially prepared by Chuck that were just out of this world.
A must stay..........

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We are glad your return to your home in Hunter was a good one. You must miss the gorgeous scenery and laid back lifestyle you had when you lived here. You and your wife were a great addition to my weekend. I am an honorary member of the class of 1957, having hosted them in 2007 when they celebrated their 50th. Many returned this year and came to visit and tour the garden and house to see any changes. Thanks for the compliments and we hope you will visit many times more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    27
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
108
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I lucked out getting a room at the Fairlawn Inn for Mountain Jam. Before we even got to Hunter, NY, Chuck, the Inn Keeper had already provided us with abundance of information about restaurants and attractions in the area. The inn is decorated immaculately and we found our room to be very comfortable and attractive! Each morning, Chuck cooked breakfast to order from a small menu which featured daily, seasonal specials. The breakfast was soo good, especially the scones that we made sure we were at the table on time every morning. Chuck also put out snacks for the taking as well as fresh baked goods nightly when we returned from the mountain. I was also very impressed with Chuck's efforts to run a green inn. Make sure to check out Chuck's antique store across the street, we bought a hope chest, and he helped us with tools to break it down to make it fit in the car. Overall, we couldn't have asked for more from the Fairlawn Inn, and have already decided to go back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaUlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We are glad there was room at the inn to share in your honeymoon. We have a great Mountain Jam weekend every year and are glad you re-booked for next year. Thanks for the patronage, the compliments and see you again in June of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I recently returned from my 6th annual Mountain Jam weekend at the Fairlawn Inn and each year never fails to exceed my expectations. The interior and exterior decor is inviting and relaxing, the innkeeper, Chuck is welcoming and accommodating, the food is outstanding and plentiful, and the room (Opal) is spotless and has great amenities including a large claw foot bathtub (my favorite). It is no wonder that this is the weekend I look forward to most each year and that Mountain Jam guests book their rooms for next year as they turn in their room keys.

Another plus for me is the 3 leaf eco rating that the Inn has. Chuck works very hard to keep his carbon footprint light and is working on his 4th leaf. Staying at the Fairlawn is like returning home every year. Chuck goes out of his way to make sure every guest is well taken care of. It is especially nice to come back at the end of the day's events to find a fire in the pit (it gets chilly on the mountain in the spring evenings) on the patio and fresh baked goodies in the dining room.

My only regret is that I can't spend more time at the Fairlawn Inn. It is truly a hidden paradise in the Catskill Mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstateNY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I just spent 3 nights with friends at the Fairlawn Inn. The grounds are beautifully cared for with a myriad of hanging planters, gardens, and landscaping. The outdoor patio, with an open fire pit on those chilly evenings, is set amongst the gardens and provides a peaceful outdoor respite.

The breakfasts are created by the owner, Chuck, who is a wonderful chef. He takes much pride in his home and the comfort and pleasure the Fairlawn Inn can provide to his guests.

The Fairlawn Inn is unique in its presentation and provided much comfort and convenience to our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. Choosing a room might depend if you want to have an outdoor entrance/exit fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beautiful setting in the Catskills. Chuck the Innkeeper couldn't be a better host. He goes out of his way to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. The inn is clean, and the grounds are impeccably landscaped. This was our fifth year there, and we plan on staying next year, and the year after that etc...and the breakfasts and snacks are to die for :) Thank you Chuck for another great year at the Fairlawn Inn....already looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: The Spring Valley room, very comfortable, great shower! Outside access, private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
1.7 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
20.9 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
9.9 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
17.7 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.1 km away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,334 - ₹ 13,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing