We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairlawn Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Inn(Hunter)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Vosilla(Tannersville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Xenia Resort(Hunter)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Vienna(Windham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
163
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgazebo roomfire pitomelethunter mountainpool tablegourmet breakfastpancakesfrench toastfresh fruitclaw foot tubbeautiful antiquesold victorianthe main houseother guestsmy boyfriendgreat conversation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I lucked out getting a room at the Fairlawn Inn for Mountain Jam. Before we even got to Hunter, NY, Chuck, the Inn Keeper had already provided us with abundance of information about restaurants and attractions in the area. The inn is decorated immaculately and we found our room to be very comfortable and attractive! Each morning, Chuck cooked breakfast to order from a small menu which featured daily, seasonal specials. The breakfast was soo good, especially the scones that we made sure we were at the table on time every morning. Chuck also put out snacks for the taking as well as fresh baked goods nightly when we returned from the mountain. I was also very impressed with Chuck's efforts to run a green inn. Make sure to check out Chuck's antique store across the street, we bought a hope chest, and he helped us with tools to break it down to make it fit in the car. Overall, we couldn't have asked for more from the Fairlawn Inn, and have already decided to go back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaUlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

We are glad there was room at the inn to share in your honeymoon. We have a great Mountain Jam weekend every year and are glad you re-booked for next year. Thanks for the patronage, the compliments and see you again in June of 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I recently returned from my 6th annual Mountain Jam weekend at the Fairlawn Inn and each year never fails to exceed my expectations. The interior and exterior decor is inviting and relaxing, the innkeeper, Chuck is welcoming and accommodating, the food is outstanding and plentiful, and the room (Opal) is spotless and has great amenities including a large claw foot bathtub (my favorite). It is no wonder that this is the weekend I look forward to most each year and that Mountain Jam guests book their rooms for next year as they turn in their room keys.

Another plus for me is the 3 leaf eco rating that the Inn has. Chuck works very hard to keep his carbon footprint light and is working on his 4th leaf. Staying at the Fairlawn is like returning home every year. Chuck goes out of his way to make sure every guest is well taken care of. It is especially nice to come back at the end of the day's events to find a fire in the pit (it gets chilly on the mountain in the spring evenings) on the patio and fresh baked goodies in the dining room.

My only regret is that I can't spend more time at the Fairlawn Inn. It is truly a hidden paradise in the Catskill Mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are larger
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I just spent 3 nights with friends at the Fairlawn Inn. The grounds are beautifully cared for with a myriad of hanging planters, gardens, and landscaping. The outdoor patio, with an open fire pit on those chilly evenings, is set amongst the gardens and provides a peaceful outdoor respite.

The breakfasts are created by the owner, Chuck, who is a wonderful chef. He takes much pride in his home and the comfort and pleasure the Fairlawn Inn can provide to his guests.

The Fairlawn Inn is unique in its presentation and provided much comfort and convenience to our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. Choosing a room might depend if you want to have an outdoor entrance/exit from your room or be inside the house. Also, you might consider a preference for a downstairs accommodation rather than on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beautiful setting in the Catskills. Chuck the Innkeeper couldn't be a better host. He goes out of his way to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. The inn is clean, and the grounds are impeccably landscaped. This was our fifth year there, and we plan on staying next year, and the year after that etc...and the breakfasts and snacks are to die for :) Thank you Chuck for another great year at the Fairlawn Inn....already looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: The Spring Valley room, very comfortable, great shower! Outside access, private bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at the Fairlawn Inn! Chuck the innkeeper was there to greet us when we arrived and we felt right at home as he showed us around. The grounds of the Inn are beautifully landscaped, and there are plenty of hanging baskets and plants on the porch, so we thoroughly enjoyed the views when we relaxed on the porch and the patio.

The inn is tastefully decorated inside with all the modern amenities you could ask for. You could tell that Chuck puts a lot of effort in making the inn a beautiful place inside and out. We stayed in the Willow room and the queen size bed was extremely comfortable (unlike many of the other B&Bs we've encountered with tiny uncomfortable beds!).

The breakfast was the best we've had at a B&B--fresh fruit, homemade muffins, and one of several made-to-order choices that included organic giant eggs, omelets, pancakes, and more. While we ate, Chuck shared some stories about the history of the inn, and by the time we were ready to leave we felt like family!

We definitely will return to the Fairlawn Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews