We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a B&B”
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Location is great, very clean. Chuck is great. He even clean my car after snow storm. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Chuck!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Jamie J,
Thanks for the compliments on your stay and we look forward to your return and hope it is often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fairlawn in this past January, and we had a wonderful visit. The Bed and Breakfast is very charming, and our room was bright, cozy, and inviting. It was so nice waking up and seeing a view of Hunter Mountain. Chuck was a gracious innkeeper, and we enjoyed his recommendations of dining options, as well as upcoming events in the area. The location of this property could not be better if you are skiing at Hunter Mountain!

Lastly, breakfast was delicious. I really enjoyed that there was a choice for each meal. Most Bed and Breakfasts provide one option to all of the guests, so I enjoyed being able to select from several yummy choices.

Overall, it was an excellent weekend getaway, and my husband and I will definitely return the next time we visit Hunter Mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fairlawn Inn based on the high reviews and ratings on various web sites, even though the prices were a little bit more expensive than other area accommodations. As such, our expectations were high. This is the second Bed and Breakfast we've ever stayed at, our first being in the Poconos last year. That was a very positive experience which made us want to try another one.

The Fairlawn Inn met our expectations. There were a few spider webs in the room, specifically from the ceiling light fixture to the wall, but nothing of major concern (in fact at the last Bed and Breakfast we stayed at I found a large spider crawling on my pillow, so that's nothing new). My only complaint was that upon checking in after a day of skiing, we were looking forward to being able to take a nice hot shower. I assume other guests had the same idea because neither of us had hot water during our showers. So if you book the room with the two person jacuzzi, I'm not sure if you'll actually have enough hot water to fill it.

As for privacy, we could hear the guests in the adjacent rooms, so don't plan on having too much privacy if that is a concern. However, they were quiet and we were able to go to sleep early, since we were really tired. We utilized the built-in DVD player on the small 21"ish LCD TV in our room for a Netflix movie we brought. However, we were too tired to make it all the way through.

The added touched of a soft drink stocked mini-fridge behind the dry bar downstairs and snacks was a nice touch. Breakfast was good, as well. Chuck was a gracious inn keeper and runs his Bed and Breakfast efficiently. If you're planning to visit Hunter Mountain for skiing or summer-time activities, this location is excellent. From our seat at breakfast we could see the slopes across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the dining room so you don't have to walk outside in the cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millertime83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

We appreciate that we met this guests expectation but we try to exceed expectations with each guest when they visit. We did not exceed their expectation on this visit but appreciate their feedback and will continue to try. Sorry about the cobwebs, we inspect each room prior to check in and unfortunately this time we missed that.

About the hot water issue, only on very rare occasions is there not enough hot water. Sometimes guests returning from skiing all use their showers or baths simultaneously and it cannot keep up. Had this guest called, I could have indicated if they waited a few minutes to give the hot water heater time to catch up he would have had all the hot water he needed. We have 80 gallons of 180 degree water in holding tanks but as indicated on rare occasions we do run out when many guests choose to shower at the same time.

About noise, it is an older home and though it has been insulated the type of construction is such that you will hear noises coming from adjacent rooms. Conversations no, but minor noises yes, that is the nature of the beast in an historic home. Normally common courtesies by guests are followed and we get very little complaints about noise.

The Flat Screen (19") TV with expanded cable has a built in DVD player and is an adequate size in my estimation and were just recently updated. Some bed and breakfasts do not have TV's in rooms but we do offer them in all rooms. We have a video library with many choices also. We offer a 32" Flat Screen TV with DVD player in the common area room if guests would like to use that in lieu of the one in their room. Again, we appreciate this and every guests feedback, it is through this feedback that we can strive for a better experience for each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just returned from a 3-day weekend at the Fairlawn Inn. As you can tell from the title we had a fabulous time. My husband and I were greeted at the door by Chuck, the friendly and gregarious owner of the inn. As it was my birthday get-away, my sister had called ahead and arranged for cheese plate and bottle of Presecco be put in out room. When we got upstairs we found a delightful assortment of cheeses, fruit, crackers and sweets. Our room, the Gazebo, was beautiful. We sipped our Presseco while lounging on the fainting couch. From the front 3 windows we had a very pretty view of Hunter Mountain. We stayed there 3 nights and all three nights we slept soundly. The breakfasts, whipped up by Chuck, were fantastic. There were 3 options each time, plus fruit and pastries.

We had gone up to Hunter to cross-country ski but as the snow wasn't the best, Chuck suggested several small hikes we could take. If you are a downhill skier the entrance to Hunter is quite close to the inn--definitely walkable in 5 or so minutes if you aren't lugging gear.

If you are planning a trip to the Catskills and are looking for a beautiful, Victorian inn to stay at, the Fairlawn is a great choice. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

This couple was great to have at the Inn. They were a pleasure to have around, had many conversations and we always like it when guests enjoy the common area rooms. We hope they will return often, next for TAP NY I think. Thanks for the great review - we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Fairlawn Inn for one night so we could ski at Hunter Mountain. Chuck the Innkeeper is a wonderful person. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Rasberry Room which was just charming, extremely comfortable and perfect for three people. I was impressed with the direction the Inn has taken to go green. Chuck recommended places in the area to eat and his recommendation was perfect. My family travels frequently during the year and over the years have stayed at numerous hotels, B&B's and Inns. This Inn is right up there with the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for your kind words about the inn and the innkeeper. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
10.6 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
1.7 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#4 of 6 in Hunter
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
5.8 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
439 reviews
6.7 km away
Mountain Brook
Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range: ₹ 10,360 - ₹ 11,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing