We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Houghton Creek
Ranked #1 of 1 Houghton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was my second stay at the Inn and found it as pleasant as the last time. It is small and homey like a Bed and Breakfast but with the quiet and privacy of a hotel. For the price, I would like to have had a light breakfast offered. Fresh brewed coffee and bagels or muffins and maybe some fruit. Nothing elaborat but something more than the in room, coffee by the cup. I walked up the hill to the Houghton College student center to get some good coffee and a little something to eat but I would have rather stayed in the nicely appointed, peaceful lobby!

Room Tip: #29 is a nice corner room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 451mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was a totally uninterrupted, restful overnight. I could not hear any noises from either the hallway or the main lobby. My blower remained on the entire night (instead of turning on and off continuously as I have experienced in other major chain hotels) and the room temperature was comfortable. Also, the bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in. It also goes without saying that the proximity to campus couldn't have been better. The price was a little steep, but the AAA discount helped to ease that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

A bit disappointed that we were not in the room that we had reserved. No explanation was given when we arrived. Also, the hot water and cold water faucets were reversed....it took a while to realize why there was no hot water! The curtains needed some work...they were pinned together. On Sunday morning of our stay, there was no hot water for showers. Lobby was nice and looked comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayakbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

i would totally recommend this Inn to anyone bringing their child to Houghton or if you are visiting - they are so hospitable and the prices are reasonable. I found it very relaxing after moving my daughter cross-country and they were so clean and quite flexible. However you should book early as they don't have too many rooms and can book up quickly particular for popular events like Home Coming Weekend and Commencement.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sistersofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I was pleasantly surprised as I opened the door to the lobby and was welcomed by the warm of the atmosphere. The large fireplace and comfy chair felt like I was stepping into a home, not a hotel. My room was very clean and inviting. I would highly recommend to anyone planning to stay a night or two in the area to make The Inn at Houghton Creek their home away from home!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
38.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
23.8 km away
Econo Lodge Cuba
Econo Lodge Cuba
#1 of 1 in Cuba
51 reviews
6.7 km away
Oramel Inn
Oramel Inn
#1 of 3 in Caneadea
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
The Hann Homestead Inn
The Hann Homestead Inn
#1 of 1 in Andover
51 reviews
29.4 km away
Chaffee Lodge
Chaffee Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chaffee
12 reviews
27.4 km away
Jellystone Park of Western New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Houghton Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Houghton Creek

Address: 9722 Genesee St, Houghton, NY 14744-8773
Region: United States > New York > Houghton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Houghton
Price Range: ₹ 7,493 - ₹ 7,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Houghton Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking distance to Houghton College. In-room coffee and tea. Warm, comfortable lobby with fireplace. use of the college pool and fitness facilities at no charge. Cable television. We are a smoke and alcohol free facility. Major Credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Houghton Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Houghton Creek Hotel Houghton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing