We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
52
10
3
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
10
3
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute boat trip chef roberto seafood mile reef water sports very special place fishing trip beautiful place every meal excellent food indian ocean jetty generator lodge sightings mangroves banque
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely Remote Place with Lovely staff and good Food. The a/c is unfortunately not Running 24h but you get used to warm Nights. Water activities are amazing but Extremely costy so that you rather share them. Also be aware of the mosquitoes.
Warm People and Beauty of Nature and Fauna are Most striking !!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anschwae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, client liason at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Good day Anschwae

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you had a legendary experience. Your wonderful comments regarding the food and staff have been passed onto the Dugong Team. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We spent a fantastic and very relaxing week at Dugong Beach Lodge. The location is stunning, the staff (Afonso, Henriques, João and colleagues) who work under the competent management of Ernesto are very friendly and helpful and the food prepared by the chef Roberto is simply delicious.
One week wasn't enough to do all the activities on offer, but we thoroughly enjoyed what we managed to fit in: snorkelling by the lodge and on Two Mile Reef, diving, kayaking in mangroves, birding and a fishing trip with sightings of several pods of humpback whales, dolphins and turtles.
We highly recommend Dugong Beach Lodge!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PieraFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, client liason at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Afternoon PieraFB

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you had a legendary experience and that you enjoyed the friendly staff, food, the remoteness and luxury of the lodge. Your wonderful comments regarding the staff, Ernesto and Roberto have been passed onto the team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience all that Dugong Beach Lodge has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at Dugong on a quick school holiday getaway from Cape Town. It’s idyllically remote, accessible only by boat from Vilancoulos. It’s not ultra posh but that makes it even better. Simple luxury. The rooms are huge and well equipped, the food is fabulous and the staff are so good you will be disappointed with anywhere else you go.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank Tim_WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, client liason at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Afternoon Tim WG W

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you had a legendary experience and that you enjoyed the friendly staff, food, the remoteness and luxury of the lodge. We do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience all that Dugong Beach Lodge has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The first thing about the Dugong Beach Lodge (DBL) that strikes you is the quietness. Going to sleep at night all one could hear is the soft rustle of palm fronds and the waves softly lapping the beach outside our villa. Secondly were the magnificent ocean views and spectacular sunsets.

DBL is reached by flying to Vilanculos and then a 30 minute speed boat ride to the lodge. We had a small hiccough in that there had been some miscommunication between travel agents and the Lodge was not expecting us. A few phone calls from helpful people in Vilanculos to the Lodge and the Ernesto the hotel manager greeted us and escorted us across to the Lodge.

When we arrived we were welcomed by staff singing on the pier and our villa was ready. Our villa, Room 1 King Mackerel was at the end and this suited us perfectly. It was very spacious with two outside decks, one with a small pool, overlooking the ocean. There was a separate plunge bathroom and shower. (Very large) The very comfortable bed was covered in a large mosquito net that was put over the end at night to protect you from the mosquitoes and bugs.

There were many areas beside your villa where you could relax including a poolside bar. The weather we encountered was cool and at times too windy – you are at the mercy of the weather. Therefore we didn’t use the pools, however the cooler weather kept the mosquitoes at bay. Unfortunately due to the winds our planned fishing trip didn’t eventuate.

There is no air-conditioning and the rooms are not screened. I could imagine that on very hot nights, without fans, and with closed doors/windows to keep the bugs out of your room, it could be stifling. Be prepared to live around the fact that the lodge is powered by generators which do not run 24 hours. It ran in the morning and then later in the evening. Wifi was only available in the lounge areas when the generator was running. This didn’t worry us too much. Solar power provided fans and some lighting during the day.

Roberto our chef prepared a simple fair – usually fresh fish / seafood and the portions were generous. There was no shortage of food. There was no menu per se as Roberto would visit you each day and ask what you would like! So the meals were built around the fresh seafood and your tastes. Superb!

Only 3 or 4 other couples were there and then for a few days we were the only guests. This didn’t worry us. I can see the DBL may not suit everyone however for us it was a perfect start to our African holiday.

The staff were always on hand, ever helpful and friendly. On our last night we were treated to a very special seafood feast around the camp fire after watching dolphins feed along the pier and seeing the magnificent sun set.

If you are looking for solitude and isolation – this is for you . We enjoyed the remoteness, without fanfare and fuss. The staff were amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Rose_Gum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Afternoon Jo_Rose_Gum

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you had a legendary experience and that you enjoyed the friendly staff, food, the remoteness and luxury of the lodge. Your wonderful comments regarding the staff, Ernesto and Roberto have been passed onto the team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience better weather and all that Dugong Beach Lodge has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

beautiful setting. outstanding staff. good food. brilliant walks.well organised activities. Mozambique is brilliant to visit. the management could not do enough to make our stay memorable. banque island great outing.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank dunstan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, client liason at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Good Day Dunstan2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. We are thrilled to read you had a legendary stay and enjoyed the friendly staff, food and activities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews