We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Cabana - a small gem in Mozambique”
Review of Casa Cabana Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cabana Beach
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have always been put off visiting Mozambique due to stories of high cost and long and dangerous roads, but the thought of another beach holiday in Kwazulu Natal forced us to finally take the plunge. We decide to fly instead of driving with others in our big group driving and bringing provisions. There are direct flights from OR Tambo to Vilanculos airport which was very convenient.

One has to be careful about accomodation as some places are quite rough, which one might not pick up from visiting web siites. Take some advice and check out sites like Trip Advisor to get a true perspective. Friends found Casa Cabana in Vilanculos which is a delightful four apartment small resort. The rooms are air-conditioned and the bigger family rooms have DSTV and their own kitchens for self catering, as food in Mozambique can be pricey for some so plan for home cooked meals and eating out treats.

The resort is literally about 100 meters from the beach and has a restaurant / bar in front of the apartments which became the center of our universe. It was great to relax on the beach during the morning and afternoon and then move to the pool when it got too hot. The heat was kept at bay with lot of Pino Calada's and Cappareinas from Casbah, the bar. The owners Rob and Janine who were staying at the complex were very friendly and generous and the waiters provided excellent service.

Vilanculos is a bay that faces four different islands which includes Bazaruto Island and they have an amazing tidal effect when the moon is in the right position, the sea recedes for almost a kilometer and one can walk up to boats that were previously in water. The water is amazingly warm and clear and no rocks or dangerous coral, just sand. Some of us did a day trip to Bazaruto Island to snorkel and was an amazing experience to climb the largest dune on the Island. If you more adventurous, Kite Surfing, diving and fishing are other options. Most of the group just relaxed with swimming, tanning, reading and sleeping ... My iPad and Kindle were just the gadgets for the lazy life.

I highly recommend the resort as a great beach experience, and anyone who is sick of the same old Ballito holiday to give Vilanculos and Casa Cabana a great try.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Casa Cabana is a small hotel that offers accommodation right on the beach in Vilanculos.
It has 4 bedrooms, two upstairs with a great view.
The staff is very friendly and attentive. The owner, Mr. Robert and Dale, his nephew, are very friendly and helpful. Always helpful to assist in our needs. I was
The restaurant has great food and is right on the beach.
I have been a little sick while I was there and Mr. Robert wanted to take me to the hospital because I had no car and the house is a litle far from the center, walking. I loved the concern and I felt supported.
Thank you and I highly recomend Casa Cabana!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianab114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Excellent resort - very clean and spacious. Delightful restaurant/bar area right on the beach. Extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful owner - they take great care of all your needs. A very enjoyable holiday destination

Room Tip: self catering cabanas are very roomy - sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieatkingscliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer im 1. Stock haben Meersicht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rahel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manjelito, Owner at Casa Cabana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Luiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.5 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
1.2 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
0.5 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
33.1 km away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
481 reviews
1.3 km away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cabana Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cabana Beach

Address: Beach Rd, Vilanculos 1304, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: ₹ 6,125 - ₹ 15,797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cabana Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right on the beach in the centre of Vilanculos bay and all rooms have a spectacular view of the sea. We offer our clients luxury self cater units which come with satellite TV and aircon + fully fitted kitchen/lounge which looks out over the Indian Ocean. Double room + a small back room with a double bunk bed makes these ideal for families with small children. We also have deluxe double rooms which are equally well fitted out with top of the range mattresses and cotton linen without the the self cater option.The well known Casbah restaurant is on site with 5 star catering serving the best fresh seafood and steaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cabana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing