We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife, three kids ( 6, 10 & 12) stayed at the Rocking Horse Ranch Resort at Highland, New York for three nights/four days (Sunday to Wednesday).
Our vacation will be a memorable one, my kids had the best time ever at the resort, we had an awesome vacation; the food, programs, service, the friendly staff and the outstanding landscaping made our stay a memorable one, everything was outstanding and the atmosphere was so relaxing and enjoyable which will encourage us to go back again. It's a great place for the whole family, I recommend it with 5 star rating.

Jacob Abu-Zeid & Family
Washingtonville, Ny 1099

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazeid05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,291 - 1,295 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

On July 27 my husband and 4 year old son visited the Rocking Horse Ranch. We were pleasently greeted at the front gate and that was the only person there who was nice to us.
We had a small mishap with our reservation and we were quoted a lower price over the phone, when we got to the front desk, they proceeded to tell us we were responsible for their telephone agents mistake and we would have to pay DOUBLE what we were originally quoted. After a lengthy discussion with the very snotty front desk girl we came to a small agreement and paid only slightly more than we were quoted (still not what should have been done) - not one manager came out to see what went wrong and not one apology was given to us for their mistake. Other than the extremely poor customer service we received - the ranch is beautiful and my 4 year old son had a blast on all of the water slides and in the pools. Food was pretty good. The rooms could use some updating and could have been a bit cleaner. The beds were horrible. Don't think I would pay that money again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YANKEES132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The RHR is exactly what it advertises and more. The resort was far beyond what we expected. The cleanliness of the rooms, the lobby, the pools, and the dining areas are amazing. I can't say enough on the landscaping--- Beautiful!. 2 adults and 3 kids (1 in which is special needs) had an amazing vacation! We met many, many families who have been attending from 10, 15, 18+ yrs. That in itself explains it - we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexingtonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at the ranch for 5 nights in July, over my son's 8th birthday. My husband (a Disney fanatic) was nervous about trying something new, but I convinced him to give it a try. I am so glad I did!

My kids (age 6 and 8) LOVED every second they were there. The rooms were clean and the bunk beds were a big hit. There were activities all the time that we all had fun with like a kid's "horse race", pool relay races, kayak races, cannonball contests, volleyball, etc. The BB Gun and Archery range was always staffed with a knowledgable person who took his time to teach the kids how to shoot. The wranglers were friendly and good with matching people to horses. The horses were clean and happy. There was even a baby horse, just a week old named Root Beer, who we got to meet during an evening barn tour!!

The ranch had nice tennis courts, bocce ball, wall ball, horseshoes, basketball, etc with really well cared for equipment. Kayaks were kid friendly. Fishing poles with release friendly hooks and bread to bait made for hours of fun for all of us. The banana boat rides were exciting, and my son even got some waterskiing lessons.

After 8 and before the evening show my family would hit the fun barn and play ping pong, climb the rock treadmill, and play in the air cannon area.

The evening shows were great for kids and adults. There was a bar for us, and the kids were called on stage numerous times during different shows to assist. Plenty of line dances for fun. Everyone was in bed by 10:30, completely exhausted.

One night we went out to see the singing cowboy by the bonfire. What a great guy! Really memorable.

The food was kid friendly and plentiful, with lots of choices. To tell the truth, it was better than most cruise lines serve. The wait staff was a little lacking, but slow coffee a few mornings doesn't both me much.

We'll be heading back this winter!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our planned vacation for over 25 family members (young children, teenagers & adults) had hit a major roadblock at another resort. After leaving the other resort, we contacted RHR. Stan the GM, work quickly & digently to help us. Within a half hour we were heading to the RHR for our vacation. Stan greeted us at the door, staff checked us all in, the dining hall manager created 2 large tables for us to eat together for the week. The rooms were spotless, updated with comfortable beds. There was so much for the kids to do no matter what the age was. Whether riding the slide into the outdoor pool, fishing, kayaking, shooting hoops, bungee jumping, rock climbing, shuffle board or playing in the indoor pool area at night and of course horse back riding and different family shows at night. Everyday there was plenty of activites planned for all the family members. Most of all you could just relax at your free will. This is truly a family vacation resort!
A special "thank you" goes to Stan (GM) and everyone of the RHR staff, you saved our vacation! We cannot say this enough. We will be back next year! The Rocking Horse Ranch & Resort brochures & website are NOT misleading like others!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
9.9 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
644 reviews
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
6.9 km away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
459 reviews
7.6 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range: ₹ 25,859 - ₹ 45,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four Season Family Resort in the Hudson Valley We’re more than just horses… We’re the most fun your family ever had! We offer 4 seasons of indoor and outdoor activities for all ages. Our sprawling 500-acre property and beautiful private lake provides a scenic backdrop for your family’s next big adventure. Enjoy three delicious all-you-can-eat meals daily, prepared by our culinary team, many of whom are graduates of the Culinary Institute of America—right here in the Hudson Valley! End the night with top-name entertainment, featuring magicians, comedians, jugglers, and circus acts from around the world. Get cozy in our updated rooms with luxurious Simmons® plush top mattresses and Bunk Beds for the kids. It’ll be the best family vacation you’ve ever had! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing