We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,657)
Filter reviews
1,657 results
Traveller rating
1,198
330
81
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,198
330
81
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingsnow tubingfun barnpaddle boatsfamily resortpony ridesthe main lodgegirl scout weekendping pongbungee jumpinggreat family vacationall inclusive resortnightly entertainmentsingle parentshows at nightindoor poolbanana boat
Filter
Updating list...
1,448 - 1,453 of 1,657 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My stepdad passed away in Aug and my mom didn't just want to sit around the table for our first Thanksgiving without him. She planned this trip and I looked on the website to see what there was to do for my kids. Two girls 11 and 7. They seemed to have quite a few things listed, but even so, I felt they might be a little bored. Was I happily wrong! From the moment we checked in, until checkout, they were busy doing something. The staff goes above and beyond. There are scheduled activities all through the day, and plenty to do on your own. The indoor pool was great. We played softball, tennis, mini golf, rode paddleboats. They have bungee jumping and a rock climbing wall. An indoor play area, outdoor playground, pony rides for little ones and horseback riding for over 7yrs. We did not use the daycamp, but seemed like it was really nice. If there wasn't a particular scheduled activity we were interested in, we played board games in the main lobby by the fire, or wii in the game room.The shows at night were great! You will never go hungry and twice they had free wine tasting with a very nice spread of cheeses, bread, dips, chips etc It is like a cruise on land.. There is no way I could do this place justice, I will just say GO! Rocking Horse Ranch helped a family in mourning to have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I would definately go back, and hope you will try it too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

An all inclusive family vacation that really helps you enjoy yourself. it has an indoor water park and amazing outdoor adventures including european bunjie, rock climbing, swimming and at night campfires with smores. I truly recommend this to...everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Rocking Horse Ranch is one of the best family all inclusive get away. All activities are included horse back riding (as much as you want), food, pony rides, rifle range, etc.. The staff is very accommodating if you do not see ask for it.
Alcohol is not included. It is a family establishment.
Todd in the dining room very helpful.
Had an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tams313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were greeted as soon as we arrived with very good directions. We had a very easy and friendly check in. We booked our dinner times and riding times next. We went to our room with two double beds, a bunk bed(my daughter loves this) and large bathroom. No hairdryer but this was our 2nd trip so we just brought one with us. The food is beyond wonderful. Full breakfast, Lunch and dinner with snacks in between. The best part for us was the riding. The wranglers were great, giving great instruction and very friendly but our safety was always first. My daughter's favorite horse was Santa Fe and mine was Remington but all of the horses were great. We got 12 hours of riding in in 1 weekend, plus the pool, bon fire dancing and game shows. A definite return visit

Room Tip: Ask for the Main Lodge near the pool. There are lots of kids but everyone was respectful after hours.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Visited for the first time last weekend with a group of friends. We were completly blown away by the manicured lawns, exotic plants, well laid our paths and the exceptional cleanliness of the place. Although there were many guests, at no time did we feel crowded. What a great place for families, the kids and parents were having a fun time enjoying the many activites, including ball fields, tractor rides and of course the indoor pool. There is even a beginner ski slope with snowmakers for winter fun.
Enjoyed watching those magnificient horses crossing the street to their evening pasture. It is a good feeling to see how well these beautiful animals are loved and cared for here.
We enjoyed a drink at the bar followed by a delicious meal in the large dining room and WOW the desserts! The staff, no matter where, were always friendly, courteous, eager to please and made us feel at home.
The haunted house was quite an experience. Although Washingon Irvings "Headless Horseman" roams the woods a number of miles and across the Hudson River from Rocking Horse Ranch it is conceivable that his relatives are haunting the fields of Highland NY.
Hoping to have our ski club enjoy a few days here come the spring

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 843ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews