We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time twice as nice!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is our second visit and my 9 yr old son and I had a blast!!!!! Horseback Riding, Bungee Jumping, Indoor pool, bingo, ping pong, toasting marshmallows, live animals exhibit, game show night, and on and on. The Fall harvest festival and wine tasting was tasty and plentiful.....

Only one negative, Steve the owner. Saw him several times throughout the weekend he never greeted anyone or asked how everything was going. Seemed to be preoccupied with being rude to his employees (who were attentive and excellent). Steve take notice, a friendly smile and hello can go a long way.

Room Tip: Main lodge on the first floor is close to everything but the rooms are smaller and it can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventurem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinghorseranch, Owner at Rocking Horse Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Hi Adventurem0m,

Thank you very much for returning to Rocking Horse.

I pride myself on being available and taking the time to meet with our guests. Please believe me, this is not typical for me.

Regarding the employee situation, I do apologize. I am a hands on owner who is involved in day to day operations. I take such pride in the Ranch and place high expectations on my management and staff that at times I may get caught up in the moment.

I sincerely hope you plan to visit us again. I promise to slow down, smile and meet with you personally.

Thank you for your comments, I take them very seriously.

Steve
Owner and President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,217 - 1,221 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

My stepdad passed away in Aug and my mom didn't just want to sit around the table for our first Thanksgiving without him. She planned this trip and I looked on the website to see what there was to do for my kids. Two girls 11 and 7. They seemed to have quite a few things listed, but even so, I felt they might be a little bored. Was I happily wrong! From the moment we checked in, until checkout, they were busy doing something. The staff goes above and beyond. There are scheduled activities all through the day, and plenty to do on your own. The indoor pool was great. We played softball, tennis, mini golf, rode paddleboats. They have bungee jumping and a rock climbing wall. An indoor play area, outdoor playground, pony rides for little ones and horseback riding for over 7yrs. We did not use the daycamp, but seemed like it was really nice. If there wasn't a particular scheduled activity we were interested in, we played board games in the main lobby by the fire, or wii in the game room.The shows at night were great! You will never go hungry and twice they had free wine tasting with a very nice spread of cheeses, bread, dips, chips etc It is like a cruise on land.. There is no way I could do this place justice, I will just say GO! Rocking Horse Ranch helped a family in mourning to have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I would definately go back, and hope you will try it too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

An all inclusive family vacation that really helps you enjoy yourself. it has an indoor water park and amazing outdoor adventures including european bunjie, rock climbing, swimming and at night campfires with smores. I truly recommend this to...everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Rocking Horse Ranch is one of the best family all inclusive get away. All activities are included horse back riding (as much as you want), food, pony rides, rifle range, etc.. The staff is very accommodating if you do not see ask for it.
Alcohol is not included. It is a family establishment.
Todd in the dining room very helpful.
Had an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tams313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We were greeted as soon as we arrived with very good directions. We had a very easy and friendly check in. We booked our dinner times and riding times next. We went to our room with two double beds, a bunk bed(my daughter loves this) and large bathroom. No hairdryer but this was our 2nd trip so we just brought one with us. The food is beyond wonderful. Full breakfast, Lunch and dinner with snacks in between. The best part for us was the riding. The wranglers were great, giving great instruction and very friendly but our safety was always first. My daughter's favorite horse was Santa Fe and mine was Remington but all of the horses were great. We got 12 hours of riding in in 1 weekend, plus the pool, bon fire dancing and game shows. A definite return visit

Room Tip: Ask for the Main Lodge near the pool. There are lots of kids but everyone was respectful after hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
9.9 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
644 reviews
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
6.9 km away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
459 reviews
7.6 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range: ₹ 25,859 - ₹ 45,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four Season Family Resort in the Hudson Valley We’re more than just horses… We’re the most fun your family ever had! We offer 4 seasons of indoor and outdoor activities for all ages. Our sprawling 500-acre property and beautiful private lake provides a scenic backdrop for your family’s next big adventure. Enjoy three delicious all-you-can-eat meals daily, prepared by our culinary team, many of whom are graduates of the Culinary Institute of America—right here in the Hudson Valley! End the night with top-name entertainment, featuring magicians, comedians, jugglers, and circus acts from around the world. Get cozy in our updated rooms with luxurious Simmons® plush top mattresses and Bunk Beds for the kids. It’ll be the best family vacation you’ve ever had! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing