We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want in a diner”
Review of Gateway Diner

Gateway Diner
Ranked #10 of 42 Restaurants in Highland
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Drove up from jfk, looking for a bed for the night and a place for a filling meal. Found both within a few yards if each other. This diner was the better half of the deal.

OK, so it wasn't haute cuisine, but we were hungry and they filled us up. That's what we expect at a diner and that's what we got. Cheerful service, extensive menu, heaps of food, unintrusive atmosphere. Loved it, perhaps it was everything our NYC dining experiences had not been. Good to be out of the city and meet real people serving real food.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Stephenbkk20156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

This used to be the Highland Diner when I grew up. It was an after-the-bar stop for and open-faced hot turkey sandwich with fries and gravy or a massive slab of strawberry shortcake. It's been remodeled, thankfully, and the menu has been changed. But the still have an excellent Reuben. Mine was MASSIVE! served open-faced on a platter with - what else? fries and gravy. Piping hot. Efficiently served. Only thing missing was Mary who used to wait on me ages ago. Julia was just fine (I think that was her name).

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Choosing to take Route 9W as scenic option to the New York Throughway with tolls, we found the Gateway Diner when quite hungry for late lunch. The choices range across many nationalities and we chose inexpensive lunch specials
The pulled pork burger combined the pulled pork, sautéed onions with an ample burger with sides of fries and coleslaw. The soup and sandwich special got a bowl of Matso Ball soup with a filled chicken salad wrap with luscious mayonnaise rich chicken salad. Both cost less than $20 before the ample NY state taxes.
WE chatted with the Greek owner of this diner previously called the Patrick Diner before getting back on the road to Lake George. WE had the chicken wrap left over after that large pulled pork-burger with fries on both to share .

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MaryEli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Watery orange juice. Terrible coffee. Place was hardly occupied but service was terrible. Really terrible. Hostess kept looking away every I motioned. Sat for almost 30 before simple breakfast arrived. However if you like to sit doing nothing but smell the bikers this is your place. The worst

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Harvard48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Definitely a diner atmosphere. Very clean and well maintained. Many items on the menu. I ordered lasagna. It was above average. I was passing through town or I would go back. A huge group of 18 people were close by. I saw all their meals. Pretty impressive.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnbW4752JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gateway Diner also viewed

 

Been to Gateway Diner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing