We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would only recommend to my sworn enemy...and maybe not even then.”
Review of Budget Inn Motel

Budget Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Inn Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel was clean, but let's face it, no one should recommend it unless it's to their sworn enemy. We booked it online and when we arrived were told they sold our queen room and charged us more to stay in a king, which was by no means cheap for the product offered!! We wanted to leave but there was so much confusion around the charge that we finally just stayed. When we got to our room it was a concrete box with a dated bathroom & giant window that looked out into the traffic. After watching TV (they got cable) for a few minutes we passed out from exhaustion from our trip, only to awaken every few hours when the train went by honking its horn loudly and waking us. Needless to say, we woke up early & tried the Denny's that was recommended on this site. To our surprise it was a bit "tired" at best, with water damage to the ceiling and dim quarters. The place has seen better days.
Positives of the trip include: good water pressure in shower, cable TV, no bed bugs (I checked it was clear). I won't be going back, but if you must stay here it's clean just not a pleasant nights sleep & a bit of a steep price for what you get. The place next door was much nicer, but when we tried to reserve a room was completely booked up. If you can, try to keep driving to Utica.
Also, parking was limited and watched by the smoking manager at night. If you parked in Denny's there were signs threatening to tow.

Room Tip: Drive to Utica & get a room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kgeorge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Budget Inn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We always stay here on the way to visit our son in college in Upstate NY and back- Have stayed 9 or 10 times at the Motel. The rooms are Good Clean Inexpensive Good Service- . Having the Denny's Restaurant next door is a plus! Friendly manager.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmptyNester01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

rooms are too small with a smaller bathroom to match and a bathtub just big enough for you to shower or take a bath in. they steal their "free internet" from denny's restaurant behind them, and the only place it works is right by the front door to enter the motel! they falsely advertise "free HBO" they get next to no channels on the cable. they have a one car per room policy, but there's not enough parking spaces for each room!!!! the manager will tell you to go park in denny's parking lot, but there are signs all along the back wall saying that it's for denny's customer's only and towing will be enforced. the manager is rude and snobby. and when you are on your last day there at 9am they will start harassing you to get your things packed and to get out ((check out isn't until 11AM!!!)) they say to have smoking/non-smoking rooms, but when you ask for a smoking room the manager throws a fit and says there are no smoking rooms and if you want a cigarette to stand outside and smoke. the heating/air conditioner didn't work and the hallways are freezing cold... you need to be just short of dressing for the arctic!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank firexcat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

In December of 2007 my husband and I came back to the area to visit family and friends living in a nearby town. I had always seen The Budget Inn as we exited the thruway and knew it had been operating for years. We felt this would fit our budget.

It was a nightmare. The first room they placed us in had no heat. They turned on the heat and we sat on the bed with our coats on for an hour with a fan blowing cold air before we asked for another room. The second room was much the same however after another hour we did get some heat. The furniture in the room was outdated and the curtains torn. There was no way we could use the shower. I'm not even sure there was hot water. The floor in the bathroom was cement and reminded me of a shower at a boat house.

My husband left to buy me a soda. There was absolutely no heat in the hallway. There was actually ice on the floor as the outside door was opened.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kwireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

I pulled into Motel Parking Lot that was empty except for homeless guy with his shopping cart.
Motel Sign light blinking as if burning out.
Broken bed frame tossed away at side of building.
Didn't even get out of car, went to Hotel next door.
when calling to cancel, was met with questions as to why, owner not very understanding.

Stayed: April 2008
4  Thank tlp330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
1.2 km away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
70 reviews
11.1 km away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
241 reviews
21.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
21.0 km away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
737 reviews
21.6 km away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Motel

Address: 715 Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350-2205
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range: ₹ 3,343 - ₹ 4,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Inn Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Herkimer
Budget Inn Herkimer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing