We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very rustic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottagette

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hector, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sewerman1...
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very rustic”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice little place to stay, close to many winerys and watkin glens. Enjoyed the quiet and peacefulness that the cottage had. Meet the owners as we checked in, very nice people. What you see is what you get no fancy pools or inflated price that you find in a large hotel. The cottage had just about everything one would need for a getaway, from dishes, pots and pans to a grill. I would go back again with out a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn G
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
“NASCAR Perfct!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the Cottagette on the NASCAR weekend, it was perfect. Cozy, comfortable, and clean. Hope to stay next year. Very quiet area.. and deer right out the window, restaurant very close, if u dont feel like cooking. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you very much Ellen and Jeremy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATS1999
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My Dream Come True”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

For two years I have looked for a secluded little cottage to run away to. The Cottagette was the answer to my dreams. It was a perfect get-away for my husband and I while we toured around the Finger Lakes region. The cottagette is very quaint and rustic, with a lot of little efficient touches. Proprietors, Ellen and Jeremy have thought of everything to make one's stay comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised to find loose black tea, a tea ball and a sweet little tea pot to complete my morning routine. Ellen an Jeremy were present in their home next door but very much invisible while we were there, unless they were needed for something specific. The property is beautiful and worthy of exploring on a short walk. The location is fantastic, right off rt. 414 buy so away from the highway that you forget that there is civilization just a short walk away. Now that I have found this little piece of heaven, I intend to return the same time next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The effeciency in such small quarters
Liked least: Showers were occassionally cold, extension cord used with light and clock.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mszymcik
Worcester. MA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

First of all, hosts Ellen & Jeremy are superb, they welcomed us, showed us around, explained things and then basically left us alone except to bring some lighter fluid for the grill. There was plenty, but they thought it might be "old".

Delightful accommodations--a bed big enough for 2, full kitchen , patio and grill. Everything provided including hair dryer, bathroom amenities, coffee beans, a selection of teas all kitchen cooking utensils, pots, pans--even spices and cooking oil!! Plenty of books, DVD, movie cassettes and games: also brochures for local touring.

Outside: a hammock, the patio with the grill has table, chair and lounge, other chairs & table are in the yard. Also a clothesline --great for airing out towels, etc.
Also--in season blackberry bushes--they were large, practically fell off the bush and delicious.

The grounds are delightful, paths to walk on through the field, woods and to the gorge on the stream.

Location is also great, close to many wineries, an incredible farm market, breweries, etc.
Watkins glen is maybe 5 miles away,

If you like privacy with the amenities, and don't mind doing cooking and doing dishes, this is THE PLACE.

We plan to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: Sometimes the shower water was not hot.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabe23
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and 4 month old son stayed in the cottagette for three nights in mid August. We found it to be very comfortable and the owners to be very accommodating. The kitchen was more than adequate, as we made dinner almost every evening. There were many wineries and a few breweries within a short distance. We were able to spend one day exploring Hammondsport and the Keuka Lake area, which was about a half hour drive. Ithaca and Cayuga Lake was also about a half hour and we spent another day exploring that area as well. I would recommend the cottagette to any couple who want a quiet getaway to a very nice area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing