We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderfully Modern B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
2 reviews
“A Wonderfully Modern B&B experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I are not normally "B&B" people- the stereotypical victorian lace decorations, nosey people, and small rooms that are supposedly "charming" have always been a turn-off. But the Black Sheep is the best of a boutique hotel and a B&B in one- wonderful large, tastefully designed rooms, privacy, fantastic bathrooms, and great organic breakfast by Debbie. Marc made us a fire in the fire pit and we were happy to share a glass of wine and great conversation with Debbie and Marc too. They are so casual and accommodating for our needs. We always LOVE visiting the Finger Lakes and can't wait to do so again at the Black Sheep Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    13
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Blacksheep Inn is located in Hammondsport, NY. (Just voted America's best small town!)
It is in the Fingerlake region of Western NY. Marc & Debbie have redone an 1851 octagonal house and turned it into the MOST comfortable B&B. Every room is wonderfully decorated and include their own private baths. The common areas are wonderful for reading or assembeling a puzzle.
Debbie makes gourmet, fresh organic breakfasts. Each day is somthing different. A wonderful way to start your day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Black Sheep Inn is a perfect place to stay in while in the Finger Lakes. It's quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious, and just beautiful. Deb and Marc serve up gourmet, healthy breakfasts that are a great start to a day of touring. Don't forget to make appoinments for a facial and a hot rock massage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Black Sheep Inn for two days after Christmas. Beautifully restored octagonal house (ask about it's history), everything very clean and inviting, wonderful soft and comfortable king bed with a bathroom with great shower area, and wonderful inn keepers - Marc and Debbie. We enjoyed long conversations in the mornings and appreciated their suggestions on where to visit and eat while we were there. They were both most accommodating and we appreciated the carefully prepared breakfasts that were original and tasty. We also had requested full massages for both of us - and Debbie arranged for us to have them at the same time with candlelight. We have often gotten massages and were very pleased with the services she arranged for us. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I had the great good fortune to stay at the Black Sheep Inn for four nights in late October and found it to be delightful from the personalized welcoming message at the entry to the good bye breakfast some days later.

Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities that one would expect in a good property and the common rooms were grand, especially the upstairs room which featured books, games, big sofas, and wonderful music.

The property is lovely but it is really the hosts, Debbie and Marc who make this B&B special. They were consistently helpful - herbal tea at bedtime, winery recommendations, and hiking trail advice come to mind immediately - knowledgeable about their community, and interested in their quests.

Debbie is a great cook and breakfast was innovative and always delish.

We will be back for sure.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammondsport
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
10.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
32.0 km away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
30.5 km away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,179 reviews
1.5 km away
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
18 Vine Inn & Carriage House
#10 of 12 in Hammondsport
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Property: The Black Sheep Inn
Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840-9549
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,013 - ₹ 17,765
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing