We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs renovation!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Continental Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenwood Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Continental Hotel
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs renovation!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I didn't like our stay at the New Continetal just because what i saw wasn't an old charming place- its was an outdated, dirty, moldy shack falling apart; from the water stained walls and ceilings to dirty windows, and old bedding - it needs a lot of work and renovations to be called a decent inn- what a shame because they have a really good location right on the lake- but you will not even enjoy the outdoor area - the inn is such an eye sore from the inside out;

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buggersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The New Continental Hotel provides you respite on Greenwood Lake. The lake location offers you fresh breezes, beautiful vistas and a place to just be in a lovely garden setting. But if water activities are on your schedule. you can do that as well. My husband and I traveled from the Chicago area to attend a sailing event in nearby Awosting, NJ. We spent seven nights at the hotel and found its location convenient for any excursions we wished to take. New York City, New Jersey Riverside Park, local historical Revolutionary War sights, West Point and the Appalachian Trail are all available to you and more. But if you just want to feel worlds away, having your morning coffee and muffin at lakeside is a special treat.

The proprietors were attentive, personable and courteous. We felt like we were in our own home. We highly recommend the New Continetal Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judiwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

This is the second time this year I have stayed here. The owner , is a very friendly person and wonderful chef. She loves to share the family's history and stories of this wonderful hotel sitting directly on Greenwood Lake.
This place has old time charm, a special dining area that is right out of Bavaria. If you are seeking a place that is reasonable with charm and coziness on the water this is it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northjersey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We found out that the hotel is pet friendly from our friends. We called to confirm and were assured that we can bring our dog. During check-in the personnel saw our pet and there was no problem. You can imagine our surprise when next morning we were accused of "snicking in" the dog (!!!!). The staff was very rude and our explanations, that everything was fine last night, were totally ignored. Also, we didn't expect too much from the hotel (we were just happy that they accept pets) but the hotel turned out to be very outdated (AC was sooo loud, uncomfortable beds) and hardly could meet even low expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwood Lake
17.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
19.2 km away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Antons on the Lake Country Inn & Marina
13.2 km away
Appalachian Motel
Appalachian Motel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
15.6 km away
Cider Mill Inn
Cider Mill Inn
#1 of 1 in Pine Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Property: New Continental Hotel
Address: 15 Leo Court, Greenwood Lake, NY 10925
Region: United States > New York > Greenwood Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwood Lake
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing