We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Free Kids Weekend and Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Free Kids Weekend and Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We go every Fall just for the weekend. We really enjoyed the helicopter rides. I really appreciated that everyone was accommodated even those on the waiting list! It truly was a great experience..thanks Sunny Hill :) My children were busy non-stop. In fact my daughter cried in hysterics upon our departure. She didn't do that at big time attractions on other trips. My children are ages 3.5 and 15 months, played in the Splash Pad, pool, playgrounds, fed the goats Cheerios, experience a row boat on Lake Loree, Just for Fun Rides, Dances both nights and of course ringing the bell for meals. My daughter would drop everything just to ring the bell...definitely a Sunny Hill thing that no other place has. At the dances at night, bring your own snacks and beverages..although there is a snack bar open as well for purchase. Sunny Hill has day trips as well. My husband enjoyed golfing. We stayed in the Austland. We have previously stayed in the Parkchester (too far of a walk for me with a young child) and Country Squire. Austland is definitely my favorite! As far as meals, we had no issues and enjoyed the home cooking. It's not fancy..no dressing up required which is great with kids! There were also two choices at lunch and dinner with one "kid option". This forced my children to eat what was provided. We also brought yogurt and snack for our kids. We had a refrigerator in the room. Sunny Hill is a place where returning guests come every year and in groups. However, if your not in a group, there are always kids running around and all guests are friendly. I also appreciate the gratuity guide for housekeeping and wait staff...It's helpful and not that expensive. Prior to leaving, we booked for next Sept. 2012!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbrinkmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My family and I just came back from an Adventure Weekend at Sunny Hill Resort. My children ages 8 & 5 flew around the Catskill Mountains in a helicopter, climbed a rock wall, and took rides in Army Vehicles. It was one of the best weekends that we have ever had. There is nothing better than having family time that creates memories that last a lifetime. You cannot beat the price and the service. This is a must do....

Room Tip: There are many different size rooms. Call Sunny Hill and let them help you find the right room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neeniebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Nicholsen family first opened their farmhouse to guests in 1920, and today this top notch family and golf resort hosts over 300 guests, with breathtaking views of the northern range of the Catskill Mountains. The wide array of guest services, day trips and other day and evening activities is beyond belief, including many for children. And if you're a golfer, this is the place for you, with a superb course. I first came here in the early 1950's, and it has just gotten better since. Now I frequently visit for the fine fishing in Lake Loree and their farm ponds. The Nicholsens make every guest feel like family. You can visit this wonderful resort at www.sunnyhill.com.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Puzzler4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Mike and I want to take the time to thank you from the bottom of our heart for the WONDERFUL time we had at your resort. It was everything you said it was, but oh so much more. Our whole group loved it too and can’t stop talking about it.

Where have we EVER vacationed where we felt so special and welcome? It honestly felt like we were the only guests you had, but what a surprise when we walked into the Sunny Hill dining room and joined 389 other guests! From talking to other golfers and vacationers who have been coming for years and years, we were the “newbies” on the block, but we fit right in!

The golf course was challenging and we loved it and the rooms and pool were great, too. Most importantly – you, Gary, Diane, Stephanie, Dave & Ray made us feel very special. Every one of them treated us like family (no, better than family LOL). It felt like we’ve known them for years. We had such a great dinner with Diane & Stephanie Saturday night and I know they’d worked so hard all day because they’d served us breakfast at 7:00 that morning!! (if only I had their energy). They were a lot of fun and seem to work so well together.

You are blessed, Kevin to have such a great staff and they are blessed to have you! It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience, which we hope to enjoy again and again in the future!! See you at the Golf Show – and tell everyone hi and thank you again so much.
Sandy & Mike

Room Tip: Thunderhart Lodge on the Thunderhart golf course was wonderful for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slr135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Sunny Hill is all about families, all the time. It's a great place to take the kids. A lot of activities, and there is a very friendly vibe, so kids make friends quickly. The value is tremendous, and the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate. The grounds are gorgeous, but many of the facilities are dated, especially the dining room, the kids playroom and the main building, Armae Hall. Hopefully they will get a facelift. Still, parents can relax knowing their children are enjoying every moment, and that's the main thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
38.0 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
33.2 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
19.6 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
22.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.2 km away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Property: Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-4521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,049 - ₹ 10,081
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Hill is a 600-acre, all-inclusive, family resort, set in the picturesque Great Northern Catskills. Many of our guests are friends and families who return year after year to commemorate a special tradition, celebrate an annual event or simply relax and unwind amid the splendor of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Greenville, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing