We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Adventure Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Hicksville, New York
2 reviews
“Adventure Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My family and I just came back from an Adventure Weekend at Sunny Hill Resort. My children ages 8 & 5 flew around the Catskill Mountains in a helicopter, climbed a rock wall, and took rides in Army Vehicles. It was one of the best weekends that we have ever had. There is nothing better than having family time that creates memories that last a lifetime. You cannot beat the price and the service. This is a must do....

Room Tip: There are many different size rooms. Call Sunny Hill and let them help you find the right room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neeniebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
168
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Nicholsen family first opened their farmhouse to guests in 1920, and today this top notch family and golf resort hosts over 300 guests, with breathtaking views of the northern range of the Catskill Mountains. The wide array of guest services, day trips and other day and evening activities is beyond belief, including many for children. And if you're a golfer, this is the place for you, with a superb course. I first came here in the early 1950's, and it has just gotten better since. Now I frequently visit for the fine fishing in Lake Loree and their farm ponds. The Nicholsens make every guest feel like family. You can visit this wonderful resort at www.sunnyhill.com.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Puzzler4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Mike and I want to take the time to thank you from the bottom of our heart for the WONDERFUL time we had at your resort. It was everything you said it was, but oh so much more. Our whole group loved it too and can’t stop talking about it.

Where have we EVER vacationed where we felt so special and welcome? It honestly felt like we were the only guests you had, but what a surprise when we walked into the Sunny Hill dining room and joined 389 other guests! From talking to other golfers and vacationers who have been coming for years and years, we were the “newbies” on the block, but we fit right in!

The golf course was challenging and we loved it and the rooms and pool were great, too. Most importantly – you, Gary, Diane, Stephanie, Dave & Ray made us feel very special. Every one of them treated us like family (no, better than family LOL). It felt like we’ve known them for years. We had such a great dinner with Diane & Stephanie Saturday night and I know they’d worked so hard all day because they’d served us breakfast at 7:00 that morning!! (if only I had their energy). They were a lot of fun and seem to work so well together.

You are blessed, Kevin to have such a great staff and they are blessed to have you! It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience, which we hope to enjoy again and again in the future!! See you at the Golf Show – and tell everyone hi and thank you again so much.
Sandy & Mike

Room Tip: Thunderhart Lodge on the Thunderhart golf course was wonderful for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slr135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Sunny Hill is all about families, all the time. It's a great place to take the kids. A lot of activities, and there is a very friendly vibe, so kids make friends quickly. The value is tremendous, and the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate. The grounds are gorgeous, but many of the facilities are dated, especially the dining room, the kids playroom and the main building, Armae Hall. Hopefully they will get a facelift. Still, parents can relax knowing their children are enjoying every moment, and that's the main thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had the most amazing mother/daughter weekend at Sunny Hill Resort and we will treasure it forever. There was non-stop entertainment for the girls and the moms and our girls were able to achieve so many of their badges during our weekend stay. Not only did the girls have an amazing time but the moms actually had a chance to relax, and laugh about how amazing it was that we didnt have to entertain the girls. The girls went fishing, Boating, Rock Climbing, Swimming, Monster Truck Riding, Scavenger Hunting, Played Flashlight Tag, Danced and the list goes on and on!
The Food was Great and I loved how we would hear someone ring the bell and all the kids would get so excited and know it was time for a meal. The rooms were spacious and very clean and close enough to all of the activities which seems to be everywhere you look. I would highly recommend Sunny Hill and it was an amazing place to make memories- in fact 10 of the Moms are returning this September with their entire Family!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
38.0 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
19.6 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
33.2 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 4 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
19.6 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
12.0 km away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course

Property: Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course
Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-4521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Greenville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,137 - ₹ 10,228
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Hill is a 600-acre, all-inclusive, family resort, set in the picturesque Great Northern Catskills. Many of our guests are friends and families who return year after year to commemorate a special tradition, celebrate an annual event or simply relax and unwind amid the splendor of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Greenville, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing