We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
96
41
7
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
41
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespeconic bayprivate beachshelter islandnorth forkretro feeltwenty yearstime warpslice of heavenstepping back in timeget awaymy husband and ii can't say enough about howwe loved our staylong islandnice poolsliding door
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Silver Sands is a step back from the chaos of modern living. The wonderful hosts, unparalleled beach and pool, and caring staff make a stay relaxing in all respects. We have been visitng the Silver Sands since the 1960's and feel it is part of our family. Our grown children learned to swim in the calm bay waters and the heated pool. It is near everything, yet offers visitors a chance to enjoy a more gentle environment.

Room Tip: The motel rooms adjacent to the water offer wonderful views as well as comfortable breezes that obviate the need for air conditioning.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

What a treat for the whole family! We have stayed at Silver Sands before, and we always are refreshed by the experience. From the gorgeous views of the bay from the motel and cottages, to the tranqulity of the nature preserve, the Silver Sands can't be beat for rest and relaxation. We have stayed here with infants and elderly, and have always been safe and comfortable. The owners and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to please their guests. My husband and I get a kick out of the retro decor, and from toddlers to college students, the kids have never complained. Every year, they ask if we can come back. Perhaps they realize that a family vacation is more about enjoyment than upscale furniture.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The owners and staff here are very friendly. They certainly try their best to make guests happy. The location is great. Beyond that however this place is like traveling back in time to 1960. Very dated and in dire need of a major renovation. Unfortunately it is basically a tired old motel with a number of cottages around the property. In my cottage, the exterior of the refrigerator was covered in rust, I found crickets, and spiders in the bathroom daily, and the mini blinds crashed to the floor when I tried to open them. Maybe their motel rooms are better maintained. If you get a good price and you don't mind roughing it a bit, then this place may be just fine for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Had a great off season stay here...was pleasantly suprised. Excellent service and friendly owners...

Room Tip: Because we went so late in the season we were able to get a HUGE guest house for the same rate as a hotel room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suz3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This will be our 9th season going; there have been at least 35 each year. We take up many rooms and cabins and have a wonderful time spending time together at the boat house, visiting in town, going to a movie as well as heading to either Foxwoods or Mohegan Sun by boat out of Orient Point.
We are going again in June 2012 - 37 of us at last count.
Jean & her son Terry are both warm and friendly and cannot do enough to make our 4 days memorable.
Yes, the place is retro but very clean. Besides breakfast each day in your room, snack pack on arrival and a bottle of wine, the grounds are great. Sit in the sun or under the trees, both on the bay or take a dip in the pool or bayl.
The Price Is Right which in this economy is a definite plus but consider Silver Sands when heading to the North Fork. We love it and hope you will too.
Fran, DSC (divorced, single or separated, widowed)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranSaysHello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews