We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vundu Camp
Nearby Hotels
Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps(Mana Pools National Park)
US$ 1,183
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp(Mana Pools National Park)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
69
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe safaripainted dogsanti poachingon footthe main lodgewild dogsthe rivermana poolsgame drivesfire pitoutstanding experienceexcellent foodguide henrylarge bull elephantamazing locationother guestswithin feet
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

What a wonderful place! The tents are fantastic, the outdoor showers fabulous, the location stunning and the hosts incredibly helpful and friendly. The wildlife viewing is outstanding and the guides are the best in the world. I've never seen animals this relaxed with people on foot - incredible. An unforgettable experience - the best camp in Mana Pools!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susannahandslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee B, Manager at Vundu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Vundu Camp. We are very happy to hear you found our accommodation comfortable and up to a great standard. We are pleased and proud to say that we have incredible Professional Guides that are able to take our guests on unforgettable experiences with the wild life in Mana Pools. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I have been on 18 African safaris and once I discovered Vundu, I incorporated it into every trip. Now, having just returned from my 11th stay at Vundu, I love it more each time I'm there. Nick and Desiree Murray have created the most authentic safari camp possible. In Mana Pools Zimbabwe, just at the edge of the Zambeze River, one has the opportunity to to experience the wild life in a vehicle, canoe or on foot with the most extraordinary Professional Guides. The abundant wildlife includes elephants, lion, wild dog, cape buffalo, leopard, crocodile, hippo, impala and the list just goes on. The opportunity to experience incredible closeness to these magnificent animals refuels my soul!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank june2914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee B, Manager at Vundu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy to welcome you to Vundu every time you visit, and definitely see you as part of our family! We look forward to seeing you again soon! We are proud that our Professional Guides are able to deliver to our guests, whether it is walking, canoeing or simply game driving. Zimbabwe and Mana Pools is so special and just incredible for safari!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

At Vundu you'll receive the best safari experience in Mana Pools. The guides are incredibly experienced and enthusiastic. The tents are fitted out to a very high standard and you'll be amazed at the quality of food conjured up in their kitchen. The management team here are incredibly dedicated and will ensure your stay is everything you could hope for.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee B, Manager at Vundu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review Jon! We appreciate the kind words! We always try our best and give our all so that our guests are happy when they come to our camps. The kitchen will be so happy with your compliment. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Though we’ve been on excellent safaris in South Africa and Botswana, nothing could prepare us for the incredible experience we just had at Little Vundu Camp in Zimbabwe. Our first two safaris to Africa were very much alike: eat, ride in a jeep to look at animals, eat, sit in camp for a couple of hours (too dangerous to go out of the boundaries), eat, ride in the jeep again, eat, and sleep. Though seeing the animals was always exciting and the food delicious, we knew that this time we needed a more authentic, interactive experience.

Little Vundu (four tents) and it’s larger “sister camp” Vundu (eight tents), are located in a remote region of Zimbabwe, sitting magnificently on the Zambezi River. We were beyond fortunate to have just spent 9 days there with the extraordinary owner Nick. Each perfect day somehow managed to outdo the one before. We canoed, fished, rode in the jeep viewing jaw-dropping wildlife, and when Nick saw interesting prints , we were able to get out of the vehicle and walk to the animals. It was the MOST astonishing, interactive experience we have ever had!

Little Vundu is exactly what we were hoping for. Small and intimate, rustic yet totally comfortable, and located in the most beautiful setting on earth. To our delight, we never knew which animal would stroll through camp at any given time. Most mornings we woke to an elephant grazing outside of our tent. In addition to the elephants, throughout the day we’d get visits from hippos, antelopes, waterbucks, mongoose, and a variety of other critters that never ceased to astound.

Each night we’d sit on our private deck and gaze at the sky so full of stars that it looked like fireworks. We’d listen to the gentle sounds of a hooting owl, a braying hippo, etc., and sleep like babies in our simple, romantic tent.

Nick Murray, the owner, is an exceptionally impressive guy in every way. He is not only as nice as they come, but truly has a sixth sense for finding animals, and getting up “close and personal” with them. He actually had us crawling on our bellies to within 20 feet of a pack of beautiful wild dogs, which we were able to observe for an hour. Truly unbelievable! We also were able to get close as can be to the elephants and other critters. Nick appears to be the “guru” of the guides in the area, and he is obviously highly respected by the other guides. Each time we ventured out in the jeep, the other guides would stop Nick and inquire where to find the various animals.

The fishing was to die for, and my husband and I each caught coveted tiger fish and giant vundu. Nick grilled the fish for us over an open fire, and it was a taste that would rival any chef’s finest creation.

Little Vundu and Vundu Camp provide the quintessential, perfect African Safari. If you, like us, have an adventurous spirit and want to be an active participant in your safari, look no further. The spectacular setting, the mind-boggling activities, the animal viewing, the staff, and wonderful Nick make this place pure magic, and truly the experience of a lifetime.

The ONLY negative, and I mean only: Having to leave this sheer slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Each tent at Vundu and Little Vundu is utterly perfect. You simply cannot go wrong!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee B, Manager at Vundu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Sallie! Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We absolutely loved having you and Tom stay with us! The stories of your tiger fish are still being told. We are very happy to hear how much you loved the active interaction you experienced while on safari with Nick! We do hope to see you return to us in the near future! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We had such a great stay at Vundu Camp. The staff do their utmost to make everyone in camp happy and cater to everyones needs. The food was fantastic - Elia is so passionate and makes sure you look forward to the next meal. The rooms are very comfortable and you have a choice of indoor and outdoor shower. It was very hot during our stay and a relief to have the fan in the room as well as be able to sit outside under the shady trees on the river bank. Game drives were awesome and we were so lucky to see the Painted Dogs on several occasions. Our guide Fisher was extremely knowledgable and a pleasure to spend time with. There is a hide overlooking a waterhole that is worth checking out before or after you leave on a drive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much Greig and Tanya for this kind review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at Vundu Camp. Elia appreciates the kind words - he is our hidden gem in Mana Pools.
It is such a special experience seeing the African wild dogs, that we are excited for all our guests when they get the opportunity to do so. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Fisher, and the rest of the Vundu Team.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews