We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
87
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anti poaching canoe safari painted dogs on foot the main lodge wild dogs the river fire pit mana pools game drives african adventure outstanding experience excellent food owner nick large bull elephant within feet spent days
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We had such a great stay at Vundu Camp. The staff do their utmost to make everyone in camp happy and cater to everyones needs. The food was fantastic - Elia is so passionate and makes sure you look forward to the next meal. The rooms are very comfortable and you have a choice of indoor and outdoor shower. It was very hot during our stay and a relief to have the fan in the room as well as be able to sit outside under the shady trees on the river bank. Game drives were awesome and we were so lucky to see the Painted Dogs on several occasions. Our guide Fisher was extremely knowledgable and a pleasure to spend time with. There is a hide overlooking a waterhole that is worth checking out before or after you leave on a drive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much Greig and Tanya for this kind review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at Vundu Camp. Elia appreciates the kind words - he is our hidden gem in Mana Pools.
It is such a special experience seeing the African wild dogs, that we are excited for all our guests when they get the opportunity to do so. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Fisher, and the rest of the Vundu Team.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My boyfriend and I visited Vundu in August and loved every second of our stay. The staff are phenomenal and by time we left, we felt like family. Our guide Alex was the best of all guides we had in Zim and Botswana. He worked extremely hard and was always engaged and providing safe and unforgettable experiences. Our last night, they had a pizza party and Alex and his wife Marie made homemade pizzas from their pizza oven. We walked with confidence as we approached elephants and other game as Alex was a true professional. We can not recommend Alex, Marie and the entire Vundu staff.

Vundu is a must stay! Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your review Danielle! It is one of the best compliments to us to hear when our guests feel like family! We are so happy and grateful for that. Alex is a wonderful guide and his family is precious - we will be sure to pass on the kind words to him.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Every night we were there my husband and I told each other, "Tomorrow couldn't possibly be as good as today!" Not only all the animals we were in close proximity to, but the food, atmosphere at the camp, Henry, the guide...... It was hands down our favorite trip so far and we've rafted and camped in the Grand Canyon and snorlked on The Great Barrier Reef.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kpeebles1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your stay! We are delighted to hear of the wonderful time you had and to be compared to such amazing adventures.
Henry is a great guide and always goes above and beyond to deliver, and we are happy that you got to experience this. Our team is grateful for such kind words. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I returned to Vundu 4 years after my first visit, this time with my wife after recently remarrying. I have stayed at many excellent safari camps, some more luxurious, but none can match the adventure activities at Vundu. I love game drives, but it is very special and exciting to get out of the vehicle. In our 3 day there we canoed down the Zambezi past all the hippos, walked to a wild dog den and tracked a lion on foot....didn't find it. We also took a wonderful walk where we saw hippos on land and in a pond, numerous types of antelopes and best of all, an elephant stand on two legs and reaching high in the air with its trunk to get to a branch in a tree that had the particular nutrients the elephant was seeking. Our guide, Henry was excellent and the owner, Nick (my guide on my previous trip), is extremely knowledgeable and active in the anti-poaching movement (he made a presentation to all guests). The location on the Zambezi river is unique, the camp atmosphere is friendly and food/drink is plentiful and excellent. I particularly enjoyed the communal dining (not in place in many camps) and the opportunity to mix with other guests and learn from the camp personnel. If you seek adventure beyond the game drives, this is the place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bushlife Safaris. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed all the activities. Canoeing down the Zambezi River is one of the most exciting ways to do game viewing! We appreciate that you enjoy the family style dining that we offer, it is important to us that we get to know our guests and provide the opportunity for guests to mingle with each other. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Outstanding experience and memories that will stay with us forever! Had its fare share of adventure dodging hippos, clos up encounters with elephants, game walks, lovely bush camps and really attentive staff. Henry was a superb, fun and really knowledgeable guide. Food was superb too and the sounds and sunsets as well as camp fires made it a trip to remember. Would wholeheartedly recommend this trip.

Room Tip: Could not have had better accommodation at Little Vundu and the other mobile bush locations.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DerekW1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your 3 day Ruwesi Canoe Trail. Canoeing down the Zambezi River is a very thrilling experience and we are so happy that you got to experience this with us at Bushlife Safaris. Thank you for the kind words and compliments, we will be sure to pass them on to Henry and to the entire team. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews