We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Elegant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chapman House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chapman House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Elegant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Chapman House was exactly what I expect when I stay at a B&B. The room was gorgeous, it was quiet, and I felt very comfortable. I loved the bathroom, very elegant as well. It was slightly a country feeling along with a classy Victorian feeling at the same time. The location is amazing and convenient for the town of Geneva and the lakeside wineries. I attended a wedding while staying at the B&B and I found it to be perfect convenience with ample parking within feet from the house. The hosts were very generous and helpful and the breakfast was a delicious selection of baked goods.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krysta104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

The cozy atmosphere made us feel completely at home and the innkeepers were very accommodating and helpful. The bed and breakfast was charming and quaint. We were impressed by the large, private bathroom. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79490226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The Bed and Breakfast is beautiful and well-maintained by the friendly owners. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The location and off-street parking are also very convenient. I will definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast to others!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelovecrazygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Chapman House -- we loved our room, very spacious and clean.... The innkeepers were friendly and welcoming, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

What a find! I almost missed this lovely bargain. This was a great location to begin our tour of the Finger Lakes.

Our room (#2) didn’t have a view, but it was lovely and quiet. It had a four poster bed, fireplace, and AC. The private bathroom was down a short hall, just as in a real home. It didn’t have a tub, but it had a spotless modern shower. The TV was tiny, and I didn’t see a phone, but they weren’t missed. There was a tempting stack of books (including great art books) on the table outside the room.

The house is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and well presented. The owners are relaxed and flexible, which we appreciated since we wanted to sleep in. (Some B&B owners follow a strict schedule for breakfast and check-out times).

If you’re interested in historical old homes (and how to refurbish them), be sure to ask the owner for a tour of the house before you leave.

This is a great place for a romantic weekend. It would also be nice for a solo traveler who wanted a quiet and affordable place to get away from it all. If you’re visiting during the cold months, or midweek, you might be able to get an even better rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
2.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.5 km away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapman House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapman House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chapman House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 562 S Main St, Geneva, NY 14456-3124
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,181 - ₹ 9,817
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1800 and located in the center of Geneva's National Register designated Historic District, the Chapman House features spacious rooms, private baths, and a large porch surrounded by beautiful gardens. Guests can enjoy our generous complimentary breakfast in the formal dining room, the porch, or delivered to their room. This landmark is being carefully restored by the owners, guided by extensive scale drawings of the interior and exterior recorded as part of the Federal Government's Historic American Buildings Survey, a project of the WPA in the 1930's. The Chapman house, originally built for the community's first clergy, the Rev. Jedediah Chapman, borders the beautiful campus of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, and is a .5 mile walk from downtown, and over 20 restaurants, taverns and cafes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chapman House Hotel Geneva
The Chapman House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing